You are not logged in.

#1 2010-01-07 12:12:46

willxtreme
Member
Registered: 2010-01-07
Posts: 150
Website

Installation question

Here's basically what I did in virtualbox
1) Boot cd & login as root & type /arch/setup
2) Select Source>CD
3) Set clock UTC
4) Prepare HD>Auto Prepare for now
***5) Select ALL Packages lol & install them***
6) Configure w/ Nano
    -rc.conf>check timezone
            >MODULES=(!net-pf-10 !snd_pcsp !pcspkr loop) #to disable ipv6 & beep
            >change myhost to your desired cpu name (sasoria)
    -/etc/hosts>be sure to see your hostname
    -/etc/locale.gen>uncomment your locale
    -/etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist>uncomment for your country (Canada)
    -Set your root passwd & click Done
7) Bootloader>Grub (check menu.lst & see if all cool)>select your main HD>Reboot
8) Login as root & ping www.google.com to check your network
9) pacman -Syu & reboot if there was a kernel upgrade
10) useradd -m -G users,audio,video,wheel,storage,optical,power -s /bin/bash will
11) passwd will
12) pacman -S powerpill (powerpill -Syu from now on when you do big installs)
13) pacman -S alsa-utils also-oss>alsaconf (detect snd card)
           >run alsamixer as normal user to adjust vol(m to unmute) ex:su - will
14) save settings by going back root & run alsactl store
15) #nano /etc/rc.conf to add alsa & hal: DAEMONS=(syslog-ng network crond alsa hal)
16) in the following order:pacman -S libgl>pacman -S xorg>pacman -S mesa
17) # pacman -S xf86-video-vmware
18) # Xorg -configure > cp /root/xorg.conf.new /etc/X11/xorg.conf
19) enable hotplugging # pacman -S hal dbus xf86-input-evdev xf86-input-synaptics
20) pacman -S openbox obconf obmenu
21) Once openbox is installed you will get a message to move menu.xml & rc.xml to ~/.config/openbox/ in your home directory:
# su - yourusername
$ mkdir -p ~/.config/openbox/
$ cp /etc/xdg/openbox/rc.xml ~/.config/openbox/
$ cp /etc/xdg/openbox/menu.xml ~/.config/openbox/
22)
edit your ~/.xinitrc (as non-root user) and add the following:
exec openbox-session
NOTE: If you plan on running dbus (which is required by hal) then make
sure your ~/.xinitrc reads:
exec dbus-launch --exit-with-session openbox-session

then I started X (startx) and was on the desktop for the first time it was SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO NICE
pacman -S firefox right away and ran Firefox smile as my first application on an empty desktop lol

I'm coming from #! and want to make my own system as good if not faster but with rolling-release big_smile:D

I've followed arch's Beginners' Guide on the wiki. The only thing that I'm unsure of is step 5. In the guide it says to select base & base-devel which contains extra tools that we'll probably need later. The thing is once you've selected base-devel, it brings you to a new menu in which you can specifically select the packages you want. ALL the base are selected and SOME of the base-devel are selected. I want my system to be fully working but don't want anything that isn't necessary. Since I'm new, I didn't take a chance and selected EVERYTHING lol Was that necessary/or  a good idea? Shouldn't have I left what was selected by default only? Thank you in advance for replying

Last edited by willxtreme (2010-01-07 12:24:51)

Offline

#2 2010-01-07 12:30:58

bharani
Member
From: Karaikudi, India
Registered: 2009-07-12
Posts: 202

Re: Installation question

It is good to install everything from base. Install base-devel only if you want to compile programs from source.

So install packages  (base + base-devel) which are selected by default.
You can always install/uninstall packages later.

On point 22, if you have specified hal as a daemon then it will start d-bus  automatically. So just exec openbox-session is enough.


Tamil is my mother tongue.

Offline

#3 2010-01-07 12:39:28

willxtreme
Member
Registered: 2010-01-07
Posts: 150
Website

Re: Installation question

Wow thank you for the fast reply. I'll correct that :-)
When you say compile programs from source it's the good old ./configure make make install right?
#! is ubuntu based so I'm used to sudo apt-get install the application I need. I've just installed firefox with pacman -S firefox that installed everything perfectly for me. The only thing is how do I install minefield for example (the 3.7 alpha release)

I know in #! I had to edit /etc/apt/sources.list and add from launchpad.net the rep for daily build, then sudo apt update && sudo apt install firefox-3.7

Now in Arch Linux, I tried pacman -S firefox-3.7 which didn't work. Would I need to compile the program from source in this case or what is Arch's way of getting minefield?

Offline

#4 2010-01-07 12:43:06

sHyLoCk
Member
From: /dev/null
Registered: 2009-06-19
Posts: 1,197

Re: Installation question

When you say compile programs from source it's the good old ./configure make make install right?

Not really, we hardly need to compile anything like that everything is their in AUR, if not writing a PKGBUILD is easy!

I tried pacman -S firefox-3.7

Arch means simplicity, no weird version tagging. it's always firefox, when it gets updated to firefox4 it will still remain firefox! So do:

pacman -S firefox

Remember this will fetch you unbranded firefox, shiretoko. If you want you can get firefox-branded from AUR.


~ Regards,
sHy
ArchBang: Yet another Distro for Allan to break.
Blog | GIT | Forum (。◕‿◕。)

Offline

#5 2010-01-07 12:59:48

Gen2ly
Member
From: Sevierville, TN
Registered: 2009-03-06
Posts: 1,529
Website

Re: Installation question

For Firefox minefield I'd recommend Ranguvar's firefox-pgo-minefield... very well done:

http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=32030

You can learn more about the Arch User Repository on the wiki.

Btw, great notes.


Setting Up a Scripting Environment | Proud donor to wikipedia - link

Offline

#6 2010-01-07 23:56:25

willxtreme
Member
Registered: 2010-01-07
Posts: 150
Website

Re: Installation question

Allright I'm done installing it on my real laptop!

The issue I have now is with Exaile that I've installed doing pacman -S exaile.
I can run the application as root only

Here's what I get when I try to launch it normally (as will):

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/exaile/exaile.py", line 56, in <module>
    main()
  File "/usr/lib/exaile/exaile.py", line 53, in main
    exaile = main.Exaile()
  File "/usr/lib/exaile/xl/main.py", line 77, in __init__
    self.setup_logging()
  File "/usr/lib/exaile/xl/main.py", line 266, in setup_logging
    mode='a', backupCount=5)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/logging/handlers.py", line 107, in __init__
    BaseRotatingHandler.__init__(self, filename, mode, encoding, delay)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/logging/handlers.py", line 59, in __init__
    logging.FileHandler.__init__(self, filename, mode, encoding, delay)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/logging/__init__.py", line 819, in __init__
    StreamHandler.__init__(self, self._open())
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/logging/__init__.py", line 838, in _open
    stream = open(self.baseFilename, self.mode)
IOError: [Errno 13] Permission denied: '/home/will/.config/exaile/exaile.log'
[will@sasoria ~]$

Edit: fixed I had to remove exaile<s config files in home that were created for the first time as root:o

Last edited by willxtreme (2010-01-08 01:37:03)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB