You are not logged in.

#201 2009-04-15 17:32:47

ilpianista
Fellow developer
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 568
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

exmethix wrote:

Would be amazing if someone would continue this project!

please report bugs/feature request here. I'll try to fix they as soon as can

Offline

#202 2009-04-16 03:58:08

methuselah
Member
Registered: 2007-10-02
Posts: 570

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

kras1001 wrote:

I having the same problem. I uncommented line 583 in /usr/bin/pacbuilder, but nothing happen? Look what I see in console:
[xxxx@XXXXXXXX ~]#pacbuilder --core
...........................................
==> xinetd
==> zlib
Do you want to continue? (Y/n): y
==> Building acl [package 1 of 134] ... installed!
==> Building attr [package 2 of 134] ... PKGBUILD not found!
==> Building autoconf [package 3 of 134] ... installed!
==> Building automake [package 4 of 134] ... PKGBUILD not found!
==> Building bash [package 5 of 134] ... installed!
==> Building bin86 [package 6 of 134] ... PKGBUILD not found!
==> Building binutils [package 7 of 134] ... installed!
==> Building bison [package 8 of 134] ... PKGBUILD not found!
==> Building bzip2 [package 9 of 134] ... installed!
==> Building ca-certificates [package 10 of 134] ... PKGBUILD not found!

I thing there is a repetition: one good, one not good, one good, one not good...

I had the exact same problem for the last 6+ months..... but I finally fixed it by doing those 2 things above:


1.) I upgraded to the latest version of pacbuilder-svn-133-1 from the AUR. I also made sure that rsync and abs were up to date (none of this was really necessary but I figured it was a good way to start)


2.) I followed proc's advice here and change my line #590 (using x86_64 instead):

Be sure to have rsync installed and not to have a custom CARCH. If you need a custom CARCH you will have to modify line 584
$SYNCCMD $SYNCARGS ${SYNCSERVER}::abs/${CARCH}/${REPO}/${1} ${BUILD_DIR}
into
$SYNCCMD $SYNCARGS ${SYNCSERVER}::abs/i686/${REPO}/${1} ${BUILD_DIR}

otherwise pacbuilder won't be able to download PKGBUILD files.

so I actually made that line this:

$SYNCCMD $SYNCARGS ${SYNCSERVER}::abs/x86_64/${REPO}/${1} ${BUILD_DIR}

3.) I also followed twizller's "KaoDome" tip above and I uncommented line #589 which was this:

#abs; cp -rf /var/abs/${REPO}/${1} ${BUILD_DIR}

this was the tip from KaoDome (actually line #589 now):

KaoDome wrote:

    Though at the time of writing the revision 132 is not fully working. The line 583 of the script must be uncommented in order to get the PKGBUILDs from ABS. The file is /usr/bin/pacbuilder (once installed).[/i]

so far this is working.... and if any code experts see anything harmful in any of these changes then please let me and anyone else know. Thanks.

Last edited by methuselah (2009-04-16 05:50:47)

Offline

#203 2009-04-19 14:06:43

ilpianista
Fellow developer
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 568
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

nous wrote:

So, this is more like a feature request: please, add support for groups!

DONE!
release 135

Offline

#204 2009-05-17 00:02:51

KCE
Member
From: SoCal
Registered: 2007-06-26
Posts: 41

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

Can yaourt do all of this with "yaourt -Sb"? Or is this a more indepth tool for recompiling purposes.

Offline

#205 2009-05-21 20:41:30

SpeedVin
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-04-29
Posts: 955

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

Hey i have two questions:
1. A have router and pacbuilder-svn package maneged by BaSh is using git repository , that i have problems with downloading sources and what should i do becouse I syed comment in the AUR.
2.When I compile something from source and it's newer than version in repository and in the ABS base can I compile from my pkgbuild if Pacbuilder didin't see it?


Shell Scripter | C/C++/Python/Java Coder | ZSH

Offline

#206 2009-05-21 20:52:29

ilpianista
Fellow developer
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 568
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

SpeedVin wrote:

1. A have router and pacbuilder-svn package maneged by BaSh is using git repository , that i have problems with downloading sources and what should i do becouse I syed comment in the AUR.

pacbuilder isn't using git repository, but svn which default port is 3690. I also have a router and I have no problems to get the source.

SpeedVin wrote:

2.When I compile something from source and it's newer than version in repository and in the ABS base can I compile from my pkgbuild if Pacbuilder didin't see it?

no, you should edit the pkgbuild like as your modified version.

Offline

#207 2009-05-22 11:39:27

SpeedVin
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-04-29
Posts: 955

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

Great i build and install Pacbuilder but it's tells me (when i run him) I have to install Pacman , but he is arleady installed.


Shell Scripter | C/C++/Python/Java Coder | ZSH

Offline

#208 2009-05-22 11:57:32

ilpianista
Fellow developer
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 568
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

SpeedVin wrote:

Great i build and install Pacbuilder but it's tells me (when i run him) I have to install Pacman , but he is arleady installed.

what do you get if you type "which pacman" in terminal?

Offline

#209 2009-05-22 12:14:35

SpeedVin
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-04-29
Posts: 955

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

What do you mean I don't understand sad


Shell Scripter | C/C++/Python/Java Coder | ZSH

Offline

#210 2009-05-22 13:15:19

ilpianista
Fellow developer
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 568
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

SpeedVin wrote:

What do you mean I don't understand sad

open a shell and type "which pacman", post here the output

Offline

#211 2009-05-22 15:04:15

SpeedVin
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-04-29
Posts: 955

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

Output is /usr/bin/pacman smile


Shell Scripter | C/C++/Python/Java Coder | ZSH

Offline

#212 2009-05-23 17:26:51

SpeedVin
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-04-29
Posts: 955

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

I compiled and install Pacman and now Pacbuilder works fine smile


Shell Scripter | C/C++/Python/Java Coder | ZSH

Offline

#213 2009-06-10 00:59:57

methuselah
Member
Registered: 2007-10-02
Posts: 570

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

I've recently started to use Allan's 'makepkg-git' that uses LDFLAGS:

http://dev.archlinux.org/~allan/makepkg-git.html
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=65902

I changed all parts of the /usr/bin/pacbuilder file that uses the 'makepkg' command and the path to '/etc/makepkg.conf' to use:

'makepkg-git' and '/etc/makepkg-git.conf'

I also add this line to show the LDFLAGS:

  printf "${LCYA}Ldflags:${DEFA} ${LDFLAGS}\n"

It worked good for a --world build. I did have to "#" the LDFLAGS line in the /etc/makepkg-git.conf file for a few of the leftover packages that wouldn't build with my LDFLAGS.

Screenshot-21-6.png
1440x900 view: http://i480.photobucket.com/albums/rr16 … t-21-5.png

Last edited by methuselah (2009-06-10 01:00:59)

Offline

#214 2009-06-10 02:26:56

Allan
Pacman
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 11,365
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

BTW, --Wl,hash-style=both is default for our gcc.  You probably want hash-style=gnu if you are ricing...

Offline

#215 2009-06-10 05:39:48

methuselah
Member
Registered: 2007-10-02
Posts: 570

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

Allan wrote:

BTW, --Wl,hash-style=both is default for our gcc.  You probably want hash-style=gnu if you are ricing...

I had been adding this to most of my PKGBUILDS before I tried your makepkg-git:   

  export LDFLAGS="-Wl,--hash-style=gnu -Wl,--as-needed"

Then I read that post where you said that  "--Wl,hash-style=both" was default for our gcc. I decided to try it (maybe that was a mistake?). I kept "--as-needed" even though I wasn't too sure about it after reading mixed opinions in a Gentoo thread, then I added "--sort-common" since it seemed safe when reading about it in those Gentoo forum threads, I also added "-Wl,O1" since it was recommended on those Gentoo pages.


I'm still new to this so any info will be appreciated. Would using "hash-style=gnu" instead of "hash-style=both" make a big difference? Feel free to give me any other major details about any of the flags I mentioned or missed..... thanks.

What I really would like to accomplish is apps that open very quickly in a stable and solid way. (and run with the best performance of course)

Also..... would adding prelink be bad with these flags?

Last edited by methuselah (2009-06-10 05:44:36)

Offline

#216 2009-06-10 06:13:05

Allan
Pacman
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 11,365
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

As it is the default, adding -Wl,--hash-style=both to your LDFLAGS will do nothing.  It will be "faster" with hash-style=gnu, but I doubt you will notice it.  Adding --as-needed and --sort-common sounds fine to me.  Might want to also consider -Wl,-Bsymbolic-functions but that probably breaks stuff.   Overall, probably not worth the compile time...

Offline

#217 2009-06-10 08:26:54

methuselah
Member
Registered: 2007-10-02
Posts: 570

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

Allan wrote:

probably not worth the compile time...

Yeah, probably not..... but it's something that I can do when I'm bored. Thanks for the info.

Offline

#218 2009-07-21 20:17:30

Yaro
Member
Registered: 2009-04-03
Posts: 154

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

So how d o I use this to rebuild everything I have installed. I can't quite figure out if tis doing what I think it should...

Is the command simply pacbuilder --world?

Offline

#219 2009-07-21 20:28:24

Fackamato
Member
Registered: 2006-03-31
Posts: 579

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

Yaro wrote:

So how d o I use this to rebuild everything I have installed. I can't quite figure out if tis doing what I think it should...

Is the command simply pacbuilder --world?

Don't run commands you don't understand.

Offline

#220 2009-07-31 04:57:47

methuselah
Member
Registered: 2007-10-02
Posts: 570

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

To get pacbuilder version 135 to be able to build community packages after the recent ABS switch from CVS -> SVN, you need to edit this line out of /usr/bin/pacbuilder:

[ "$REPO" == "community" ] && REPO=${REPO}/`get_community_category ${1}`

Thanks goto Allan: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … 43#p593943

Last edited by methuselah (2009-08-02 03:37:06)

Offline

#221 2009-08-23 18:57:39

ApotheoZ
Member
Registered: 2009-08-10
Posts: 40

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

Realy nice work !

Offline

#222 2009-09-29 17:20:48

virus_found
Member
From: Moscow
Registered: 2009-05-22
Posts: 51
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

Will this tool be updated in the future?

Offline

#223 2009-10-11 16:49:25

TigTex
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2008-06-19
Posts: 301

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

Hi all.

Great tool here smile

I made a "sudo pacbuilder --world" update. But from the 430 packages that I have, almost 40 gave me the "makepgk failed!" error. I'm running x86_64 arch, probably the cause of it....

==> ERROR: I was unable to install these packages: alsa-utils bluez dmraid ftgl grub hal hdparm jack-audio-connection-kit kernel26 lame libgpod libgsf libice libsm libx11 libxfont licenses lm_sensors lxde-settings-daemon mesa mplayer pacbuilder-svn policykit python python-numpy smbclient smpeg sqlite3 taglib udev wavpack xine-lib xorg-server xorg-server-utils xvidcore

After this am I still able to do a normal upgrade with pacman -Syu and receive new (non optimized) packages from the repos? And after that, pacbuilder will detect them and rebuild with my cflags? (core2)
thanks

ps: pacbuilder only works with sudo here, so sudo is a dependency of it.

Last edited by TigTex (2009-10-11 17:05:16)


.::. TigTex @ Portugal .::.

Offline

#224 2010-01-08 05:03:03

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,963
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

*shameless self promotion*

I don't know if this project is still actively developed so I'll mention here that Bauerbil can also build and install packages from source with dependency resolution and makedeps removal. It supports building packages from any repo which includes a $repo.abs.tar.gz archive, i.e. it's not limited to the official ABS servers.

There isn't much "optimization" at the moment, but it does support diffing and patching PKGBUILDs at the PKGBUILD inspection prompt. I'll eventually add options to automatically apply patches in the PatchDir.

Last edited by Xyne (2010-01-08 05:14:52)


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#225 2010-04-16 08:52:32

MindTooth
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2008-11-11
Posts: 331

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

Any news to share about the project?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB