You are not logged in.

#1 2005-02-22 07:21:31

ganja_guru
Member
Registered: 2005-02-14
Posts: 464

hal-device-manager

id like to install ivman and read that i need dbus and hal-device-manager)or do i need just 'hal' ?)

anyway these ar ethe dependencies for hal-device-manager

         pygtk-2.4.1-2 docbook-xml-4.1.2-2 scrollkeeper-0.3.14-2
         desktop-file-utils-0.10-1 gnome-common-2.8.0-8 orbit2-2.12.1-1
         pyorbit-2.0.1-2 libgnomecanvas-2.8.0-1 gail-1.8.2-3 eel-2.8.2-1
         gnome-desktop-2.8.1-1 nautilus-2.8.2-1 libgtkhtml-2.6.3-1
         libgnomeprint-2.8.2-1 hicolor-icon-theme-0.5-1
         gnome-icon-theme-2.9.91-1 libgnomeprintui-2.8.2-1 libsoup-2.2.2-1
         gconf-2.8.1-1 libbonobo-2.8.1-1 howl-0.9.10-1 shared-mime-info-0.15-1
         gnome-mime-data-2.4.2-1 gnome-vfs-2.8.3-4 libgnome-2.8.0-1
         evolution-data-server-1.0.3-2 libwnck-2.8.1-1 gnome-panel-2.8.2-2
         gnome-python-2.6.2-3


i run a lean kde system ....do i need all that stuff? what can i leave out? why the heck do i need icon themes?

Offline

#2 2005-02-22 09:59:43

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: hal-device-manager

obviously someone's put it's depends on GNOME and not the correct package.

You can try forcing an install without checking deps -- its in the man page somewhere

Offline

#3 2005-02-22 13:48:12

ganja_guru
Member
Registered: 2005-02-14
Posts: 464

Re: hal-device-manager

yeah i did try a force install..but python kept giving me a  modules required error...first it was pygtk, and then it was gnomeui or something...could someone please tell me among those packages which ones are an absolute must to get hal-device-manager (and finally ivman) working?

thanks.

Offline

#4 2005-02-22 14:21:32

Pajaro
Member
Registered: 2004-04-21
Posts: 876

Re: hal-device-manager

you don't need hal-device-manager. this is a gnome app. you need hal

Offline

#5 2005-02-23 12:50:44

ganja_guru
Member
Registered: 2005-02-14
Posts: 464

Re: hal-device-manager

thanks for the replies...

when i run

$ hald

shouldnt

$ ps -A | grep hald

report that 'hald' is running ? cause it doesnt ...

is dbus-launch the exectuable i need to launch dbus?

also could anyone please  post an easy ivman config to just get my dvdrom working (/dev/cdroms/cdrom0) ..i tried reading the man pages/wiki and it just went above my head, probably cause i dont understand xml..thanks very much!

Offline

#6 2005-02-23 12:55:47

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,018

Re: hal-device-manager

To start dbus and hal, just type:

/etc/rc.d/dbus start
/etc/rc.d/hal start

as root or/and add them to rc.conf MODULES section to start 'em on boot.

Offline

#7 2005-02-23 13:39:04

ganja_guru
Member
Registered: 2005-02-14
Posts: 464

Re: hal-device-manager

hal still doesnt start properly

ps -A | grep hal

doesnt turn up anything...

/etc/rc.d/ivman start gives this:

/etc/rc.d/ivman start
:: Starting ivman Device Manager                                                                             [BUSY] libhal.c 644 : Error connecting to system bus: No reply within specified time

** (process:18052): WARNING **: manager.c/656: Failed to initialize HAL!
                                                                                                  [DONE]

is this right? what ami missing here..?

Offline

#8 2005-02-23 15:08:25

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,018

Re: hal-device-manager

You must run dbus first in order to start hal. Did you do that? If yes, is your system up-to-date? Don't you get any errors while starting dbus/hal?

Offline

#9 2005-02-24 07:51:38

ganja_guru
Member
Registered: 2005-02-14
Posts: 464

Re: hal-device-manager

yeah it is pretty up to date...arch 0.7...i do a pacman -Su every week or so

no errors for dbus/hal...only while starting ivman,,

Offline

#10 2005-02-24 11:57:51

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: hal-device-manager

as long as dbus then hal are started before ivman, those errors are normal. I assume you've already renamed your config files without the .default in /etc/ivman. Edit your config files in your home/user_name/.ivman folder. You probably want to change the value inside configbase to 'true' and uncomment the three blocks in actions. If its any help I added hal, dbus, and ivman to DAEMONS( ) in rc.conf . To run as normal user I created a command (ivman) to be executed during start-up in my /home/user_name/.kde/Autostart folder.

Offline

#11 2005-03-03 20:34:21

ganja_guru
Member
Registered: 2005-02-14
Posts: 464

Re: hal-device-manager

i had to reinstall cause i messed up some permissions, and things seem to be working fine now...a blessing in disguise...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB