You are not logged in.

#26 2010-01-12 05:13:01

zowki
Member
From: Trapped in The Matrix
Registered: 2008-11-27
Posts: 582
Website

Re: Archey

melik wrote:
Ramses de Norre wrote:
melik wrote:

Yeah thats the problem with xmonad hmm

The actual name of the process varies so it throws me off, i'm still thinking of a way to fix it hmm

pgrep xmonad.

Note the period as a wildcard in the end.

Regex slows the script down a lot, i'd rather stay away from it.

Its not as if the script is mission critical when it comes to speed. The speed difference would probably be a fraction of a second and barely noticeable by a human


How's my programming? Call 1-800-DEV-NULL

Offline

#27 2010-01-12 14:02:12

Ramses de Norre
Member
From: Leuven - Belgium
Registered: 2007-03-27
Posts: 1,289

Re: Archey

melik wrote:
Ramses de Norre wrote:
melik wrote:

Yeah thats the problem with xmonad hmm

The actual name of the process varies so it throws me off, i'm still thinking of a way to fix it hmm

pgrep xmonad.

Note the period as a wildcard in the end.

Regex slows the script down a lot, i'd rather stay away from it.

Since you want to match a string which isn't always the same, you'll either need to use a regex (or something which is at least as computationally complex as a regex) or you'll need to hardcode every possible value of the string. In view of portability, readability and extendibility of your script, I suggest the first option smile

Offline

#28 2010-01-12 21:16:08

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

0.1.6 released (can be found in AUR)

xmonad bug fixed
cleanup in CPU function

If you still run into problems with xmonad, please post the error here. Although, I'm pretty confident that it is fixed.

Last edited by melik (2010-01-12 21:17:12)

Offline

#29 2010-01-15 11:34:09

skeleton
Member
Registered: 2010-01-15
Posts: 16

Re: Archey

pekwm support doesn't work. It just shows WM: None found.
Any idea where the problem could be??

Offline

#30 2010-01-15 21:36:18

Blue Peppers
Member
From: Newbury, UK
Registered: 2009-02-01
Posts: 178

Re: Archey

I wrote a patch to check for the shell used

26a27
>     'sh', # Display SH
80a82,87
> sh_dict = {'zsh': 'Z-Shell',
>        'bash': 'Bash',
>        'ksh': 'Korn Shell',
>        'jsh': 'Job control shell',
>        'tcsh': 'The C Shell'}
> 
165a173,180
> # Shell Function
>
> def sh_display():
>     sh = 'None found'
>     for key in processes: # Iter'd processes so last executed shell would be used
>         if key in sh_dict.keys(): sh = sh_dict[key]
>     output ('Shell', sh)
>

Consistency is not a virtue.

Offline

#31 2010-01-15 21:43:38

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

skeleton wrote:

pekwm support doesn't work. It just shows WM: None found.
Any idea where the problem could be??

Can you tell me the actual process name of PekWM?

run; ps -A | grep pekwm

Offline

#32 2010-01-15 21:44:25

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

Blue Peppers wrote:

I wrote a patch to check for the shell used

26a27
>     'sh', # Display SH
80a82,87
> sh_dict = {'zsh': 'Z-Shell',
>        'bash': 'Bash',
>        'ksh': 'Korn Shell',
>        'jsh': 'Job control shell',
>        'tcsh': 'The C Shell'}
> 
165a173,180
> # Shell Function
>
> def sh_display():
>     sh = 'None found'
>     for key in processes: # Iter'd processes so last executed shell would be used
>         if key in sh_dict.keys(): sh = sh_dict[key]
>     output ('Shell', sh)
>

Thanks a lot! I'll incorporate it into Archey 1.7.

Offline

#33 2010-01-16 01:19:35

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

I just tested for PekWM, it seems to work fine hmm

tMzlqbw

Edit: Archey 1.7 uploaded to AUR

- Support for reporting shell

Last edited by melik (2010-01-16 02:43:00)

Offline

#34 2010-01-16 02:46:51

cwjiof
Member
From: Taichung, TW
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 131

Re: Archey

Really good work, and I like it.

By the way:
Would you please change your avatar? The small image made me feel uncomfortable.

Last edited by cwjiof (2010-01-16 02:47:47)

Offline

#35 2010-01-16 05:16:19

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

cwjiof wrote:

Really good work, and I like it.

By the way:
Would you please change your avatar? The small image made me feel uncomfortable.

Whats wrong with communism?

Offline

#36 2010-01-16 05:19:28

bruenig
Member
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 175

Re: Archey

cwjiof wrote:

Really good work, and I like it.

By the way:
Would you please change your avatar? The small image made me feel uncomfortable.

Would you please change your avatar to mine?

Offline

#37 2010-01-16 05:21:13

wizzomafizzo
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2005-12-05
Posts: 53
Website

Re: Archey

Better dead than red I say.

Offline

#38 2010-01-16 11:27:42

jac
Member
From: /home/jac
Registered: 2009-05-19
Posts: 431
Website

Re: Archey

This is  a nice package, great work! I'll be using it my screenshots. I tried to find one of the scripts in the thread you mentioned a while ago, but that thread is really hard to do anything with, so thanks again!

Please don't get into political discussions/arguments on the forums, that's part of the guidelines

Offline

#39 2010-01-17 09:25:13

skeleton
Member
Registered: 2010-01-15
Posts: 16

Re: Archey

$ ps -A | grep pekwm
14894 tty1      00:00:07 pekwm

It still doesn't work. With the archinfo skript that can also be found in the aur it works fine.

Offline

#40 2010-01-18 22:29:44

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

skeleton wrote:
$ ps -A | grep pekwm
14894 tty1      00:00:07 pekwm

It still doesn't work. With the archinfo skript that can also be found in the aur it works fine.

I have pulled in some code from 'bluepeppers'.

Archey uses ps -u instead of ps -A now, try giving the latest release a shot.

Also archey 0.1.9 depends on imagemagick for screenshoting instead of scrot.

Offline

#41 2010-01-18 23:31:02

losl
Member
Registered: 2009-10-25
Posts: 25

Re: Archey

Great little tool. Could you add the screenshot utility as a dependency in AUR maybe?  The error is sort of cryptic when you don't have scrot installed.

I modified it a little bit to put out a plain text version of the information, so you can make pretty sshd motd banners with the Archey logo, the changes are here: http://pastebin.com/m6814fb02

Offline

#42 2010-01-18 23:59:18

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

losl wrote:

Great little tool. Could you add the screenshot utility as a dependency in AUR maybe?  The error is sort of cryptic when you don't have scrot installed.

I modified it a little bit to put out a plain text version of the information, so you can make pretty sshd motd banners with the Archey logo, the changes are here: http://pastebin.com/m6814fb02

Just add a cronjob:

0 * * * archey > /etc/motd

The output of archey will be outputted to /etc/motd every hour.

Archey doesn't use scrot anymore, it has been moved to imagemagick. I'd rather have imagmagick as an optional dependency. I don't want to force people to install too many dependencies.

Last edited by melik (2010-01-19 00:13:54)

Offline

#43 2010-01-19 00:15:12

losl
Member
Registered: 2009-10-25
Posts: 25

Re: Archey

I have that smile The problem is that the sshd banner doesn't parse (?) escape characters. What I posted is a modification that displays archey with no escape characters.

Offline

#44 2010-01-19 00:17:12

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

losl wrote:

I have that smile The problem is that the sshd banner doesn't parse (?) escape characters. What I posted is a modification that displays archey with no escape characters.

Oh, true haha tongue

Offline

#45 2010-01-23 19:20:58

Daphron
Member
Registered: 2010-01-06
Posts: 27

Re: Archey

When trying to makepkg it I get this:


==> Connecting to GIT server....
Initialized empty Git repository in /home/xeno/abs/archey/src/archey/.git/
fatal: Unable to look up github.com (port 9418) (Temporary failure in name resolution)
==> GIT checkout done or server timeout
==> Starting make...
/home/xeno/abs/archey/PKGBUILD: line 35: cd: /home/xeno/abs/archey/src/archey: No such file or directory
install: cannot stat `archey': No such file or directory
==> ERROR: Build Failed.
    Aborting...



I am new to using the AUR but I am reading multiple pages of the wiki and I am pretty sure I've done everything they said. Anyone know how to fix this?

Offline

#46 2010-01-23 20:29:22

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

Daphron wrote:

When trying to makepkg it I get this:


==> Connecting to GIT server....
Initialized empty Git repository in /home/xeno/abs/archey/src/archey/.git/
fatal: Unable to look up github.com (port 9418) (Temporary failure in name resolution)
==> GIT checkout done or server timeout
==> Starting make...
/home/xeno/abs/archey/PKGBUILD: line 35: cd: /home/xeno/abs/archey/src/archey: No such file or directory
install: cannot stat `archey': No such file or directory
==> ERROR: Build Failed.
    Aborting...



I am new to using the AUR but I am reading multiple pages of the wiki and I am pretty sure I've done everything they said. Anyone know how to fix this?

Hey Daphron,

Abs is for arch official packages.
For AUR, you can use any of these scripts: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/AUR_Helpers

Although I suggest Xyne's bauerbill found on the forums.

Alternatively, you can also do:

mkdir archey
cd archey
wget http://aur.archlinux.org/packages/archey/archey/PKGBUILD
makepkg -i

Last edited by melik (2010-01-23 21:09:43)

Offline

#47 2010-01-24 02:41:20

Daphron
Member
Registered: 2010-01-06
Posts: 27

Re: Archey

Thanks for pointing me to bauerbill, but it still near the same error. ( I tried out a couple of other things from the aur using bauerbill and they work fine, so I doubt it is me installing it incorrectly)

Exact error message when I use bauerbill:

==> Connecting to GIT server....
Initialized empty Git repository in /tmp/bauerbill/build/AUR/archey/src/archey/.git/
fatal: Unable to look up github.com (port 9418) (Temporary failure in name resolution)
==> GIT checkout done or server timeout
==> Starting make...
/tmp/bauerbill/build/AUR/archey/PKGBUILD: line 35: cd: /tmp/bauerbill/build/AUR/archey/src/archey: No such file or directory
install: cannot stat `archey': No such file or directory
==> ERROR: Build Failed.
    Aborting...
error: makepkg exited with an error (512)
error: could not find built package: /tmp/bauerbill/build/AUR/archey/archey-20100123-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.gz

Offline

#48 2010-01-24 04:43:10

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

Daphron wrote:

Thanks for pointing me to bauerbill, but it still near the same error. ( I tried out a couple of other things from the aur using bauerbill and they work fine, so I doubt it is me installing it incorrectly)

Exact error message when I use bauerbill:

==> Connecting to GIT server....
Initialized empty Git repository in /tmp/bauerbill/build/AUR/archey/src/archey/.git/
fatal: Unable to look up github.com (port 9418) (Temporary failure in name resolution)
==> GIT checkout done or server timeout
==> Starting make...
/tmp/bauerbill/build/AUR/archey/PKGBUILD: line 35: cd: /tmp/bauerbill/build/AUR/archey/src/archey: No such file or directory
install: cannot stat `archey': No such file or directory
==> ERROR: Build Failed.
    Aborting...
error: makepkg exited with an error (512)
error: could not find built package: /tmp/bauerbill/build/AUR/archey/archey-20100123-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.gz
sudo bauerbill -Sy AUR/archey --aur

Offline

#49 2010-01-24 16:06:25

Daphron
Member
Registered: 2010-01-06
Posts: 27

Re: Archey

Copy/Pasted your code and got the same error.

Offline

#50 2010-01-24 20:01:49

melik
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Archey

Daphron wrote:

Copy/Pasted your code and got the same error.

└─(%) sudo bauerbill -Sy AUR/archey --aur                                                                                                                              ─┘
Password: 
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 testing is up to date
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community-testing is up to date
 xyne-any                   5.4K   72.1K/s 00:00:00 [###############################################################################################################] 100%
 community is up to date
warning: AUR/archey does not match any package or group in sync db
--> Searching for packages in AUR...
--> Loading AUR taurball data...
No unprivileged user specified with the "BuildAs" option
Please specify an unprivileged user for this operation: melik
warning: about to source /tmp/bauerbill/build/AUR/archey/PKGBUILD
view [v]  backup [b]  edit [e]  continue [ok]  abort [x]  ok
--> Determining sizes of source files...
--> Building archey...
==> Determining latest git revision...
  -> Version found: 20100124
==> Making package: archey 20100124-1 i686 (Sun Jan 24 12:00:58 PST 2010)
==> Checking Runtime Dependencies...
==> Checking Buildtime Dependencies...
==> Retrieving Sources...
==> Extracting Sources...
==> Entering fakeroot environment...
==> Starting build()...
==> Connecting to GIT server....
Initialized empty Git repository in /tmp/bauerbill/build/AUR/archey/src/archey/.git/
remote: Counting objects: 135, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (121/121), done.
remote: Total 135 (delta 38), reused 0 (delta 0)
Receiving objects: 100% (135/135), 23.08 KiB, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (38/38), done.
==> GIT checkout done or server timeout
==> Starting make...
==> Tidying install...
  -> Purging other files...
  -> Compressing man and info pages...
  -> Stripping debugging symbols from binaries and libraries...
==> Creating package...
  -> Generating .PKGINFO file...
  -> Compressing package...
==> Leaving fakeroot environment.
==> Finished making: archey 20100124-1 i686 (Sun Jan 24 12:01:01 PST 2010)
--> Installing /tmp/bauerbill/build/AUR/archey/archey-20100124-1-i686.pkg.tar.gz...
--> Running pacman: /usr/bin/pacman --cachedir "/var/cache/pacman/pkg" -U  /tmp/bauerbill/build/AUR/archey/archey-20100124-1-i686.pkg.tar.gz 
loading package data...
checking dependencies...
(1/1) checking for file conflicts                   [###############################################################################################################] 100%
(1/1) upgrading archey                              [###############################################################################################################] 100%
--> Done

Quite odd to be honest.

Just do the manual way i suppose.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB