You are not logged in.

#1 2010-01-26 12:19:50

willxtreme
Member
Registered: 2010-01-07
Posts: 150
Website

ArchBang 2.00 RC1

ArchBang big_smile = Arch Linux w/ OpenBox (inspired from #!) so ArchBang!!!

ArchBang 2.00 RC1 32 bit
md5sum: d00be4c07ae844adbe26b8701a856d7e
-mirrors-
http://files.akurei.org/pub/iso/archban … 1-i686.iso
http://mango.org.ua/archbang/archbang-2.00-RC1-i686.iso
-torrent-
http://files.akurei.org/pub/iso/archban … 86.torrent

ArchBang 2.00 RC1 64 bit
md5sum: be1e261b94a3e3b28e0a285708b7a423
-mirrors-
http://files.akurei.org/pub/iso/archban … x86_64.iso
http://mango.org.ua/archbang/archbang-2 … x86_64.iso
-torrent-
http://files.akurei.org/pub/iso/archban … 64.torrent

95001608520100227165530815x615scrot.png

To install AB
-Launch terminal and type sudo ab-install
Then Set Clock>Prepare HD(auto-prepare if you'll use everything)>Install Packages>Configure System (set root password & create a user)>Install Bootloader and DONE big_smile

-Changelog-
-More online items were added (a link to our official thread, a link to arch wiki)
-New look
-Removed tilda, vattery & acpi
-Installer added
-More options at initial boot
================Official Version=======================
ArchBang LIVE CD v1.05 32 bit
md5sum: dbc0c3252d54efee79a048d97bffded6
ArchBang LIVE CD v1.05 64 bit
md5sum: 0fa6982525a2f3c32c9ebca8ef37138b
13281707882010020712655528411280x800scrot.jpg
-It will autologin as user live (no password)
-root without password set if you want to set one:
Ctrl+Alt+(F1 to F6)
login as root
type passwd root
type your desired password twice
exit
Ctrl+Alt+F7 to go back in the opened session

To put the iso on pen drive. Open Terminal as root and type:
dd if=archbang-1.05-i686.iso of=/dev/sdx bs=8M
replace the x with the letter corresponding to your pendrive. Type fdisk -l to list all the drives on your sys
Running ArchBang live system on pendrive is a breathtaking experience!

-the packages included are:
abiword
alsa-firmware
alsa-oss
alsa-utils
arch-firefox-search
aufs2
aufs2-util
base
bash
centerim
conky
coreutils
cpio
dbus
dhcpcd
dmenu
dnsutils
file
file-roller
firefox
flashplugin
fuse
gamin
gmrun
gparted
gpicview
grub
gstreamer0.10-bad
gstreamer0.10-bad-plugins
gstreamer0.10-base
gstreamer0.10-base-plugins
gstreamer0.10-ffmpeg
gstreamer0.10-good
gstreamer0.10-good-plugins
gstreamer0.10-ugly
gstreamer0.10-ugly-plugins
hal
htop
kernel26
leafpad
lxappearance
lxterminal
nano
netcfg
nitrogen
notification-daemon
numlockx
obconf
obkey-dev
obmenu
openbox
packer
parcellite
rtorrent
scrot
searchmonkey
squashfs-tools
sudo
syslinux
thunar
thunar-archive-plugin
thunar-media-tags-plugin
thunar-thumbnailers
thunar-volman
tint2
ttf-arbat
ttf-bitstream-vera
ttf-dejavu
ttf-ms-fonts
vlc
volwheel
weechat
wicd
wireless_tools
wvdial
xcompmgr
xf86-input-evdev
xf86-input-synaptics
xfce4-power-manager
xorg
xorg-video-drivers
xpdf
zenity

ENJOY!!!!!!!!!!
There's an installer now, but you can always follow this mini-guide to install Arch-Linux w/ OpenBox fast if you want to do it manually big_smile

Archbang Wiki Page
sHy's blog

Last edited by willxtreme (2010-03-01 20:37:52)

Offline

#2 2010-01-26 15:57:12

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Does ArchBang have a plan for persistent USB?


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#3 2010-01-26 16:01:26

sHyLoCk
Member
From: /dev/null
Registered: 2009-06-19
Posts: 1,197

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Wow that was fast! Someone requested an openbox based Arch spinoff yesterday.
Downloading now...


~ Regards,
sHy
ArchBang: Yet another Distro for Allan to break.
Blog | GIT | Forum (。◕‿◕。)

Offline

#4 2010-01-26 16:11:34

willxtreme
Member
Registered: 2010-01-07
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

lilsirecho wrote:

Does ArchBang have a plan for persistent USB?

This tutorial is for Ubuntu Live but can be adapted to other live CD Linux distros big_smile

Last edited by willxtreme (2010-01-26 16:11:47)

Offline

#5 2010-01-26 16:26:51

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Awesome work willxtreme smile

Offline

#6 2010-01-26 16:27:21

toad
Member
From: if only I knew
Registered: 2008-12-22
Posts: 1,775
Website

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Someone requested an openbox based Arch spinoff yesterday.

Yep, that was me here http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … 32#p695232 smile Thanks a ton for this big_smile

Am downloading still. Not only do I have ancient and decrepit hardware but also an internet connection of 40kb/s when the sun is shining (and it is snowing at the mo...).

Anyway, I can't wait to try it! Hang on, I am missing the installer...

Last edited by toad (2010-01-26 16:28:35)


never trust a toad...
::Grateful ArchDonor::
::Grateful Wikipedia Donor::

Offline

#7 2010-01-26 16:53:02

willxtreme
Member
Registered: 2010-01-07
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Thank you big_smile I must say anonymous helped me a lot in getting Arch Linux up w/ OpenBox for the first time while I was still using CrunchBang! big_smile

Last edited by willxtreme (2010-01-26 17:22:57)

Offline

#8 2010-01-26 18:16:09

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Does Archbang come with an installer ?

Can you set up a wiki page then point to it via this thread you may get more help testing that way...

I am away from home the moment so will no have chance to try it out yet

Sounds Awesome!!!!!


Mr Green

Offline

#9 2010-01-26 18:56:36

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

System up and running altho have some setup probs.

Need a way to set "nomodeset" in the boot.... System has too high a resolution with kernel mode set.

Assume "wicd" is only wired access to internet so need a guide for setup.  Or can it be deleted?  My system uses staticIP and dns servers.

During install sequence, "fail:/sbin/mount-aufs"

Is this normal?

EDIT:  Is this i686 only or will it work in x86-64 system?

Last edited by lilsirecho (2010-01-26 19:21:18)


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#10 2010-01-26 19:33:06

willxtreme
Member
Registered: 2010-01-07
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

.:Mr Green:. wrote:

Does Archbang come with an installer ?

At this time no. I actually have to learn how to make an installer since this is my first live CD. Help is welcome big_smile

.:Mr Green:. wrote:

Can you set up a wiki page then point to it via this thread you may get more help testing that way...

I will smile

lilsirecho wrote:

During install sequence, "fail:/sbin/mount-aufs"

According to the wiki,

The overlay will, as the name implies, be layered on top the base system at boot time using AUFS

My current fstab is like in the wiki too 
aufs                   /             aufs      noauto              0      0
none                   /dev/pts      devpts    defaults            0      0
none                   /dev/shm      tmpfs     defaults            0      0
/dev/cdrom             /bootcd       iso9660   ro,user,noauto      0      0

And when I run the Live CD, it did layered the stuff I've put in overlay folder smile but I still get that msg lol.

lilsirecho wrote:

Is this i686 only or will it work in x86-64 system?

Yup i686 only at this time

Last edited by willxtreme (2010-01-26 19:34:14)

Offline

#11 2010-01-27 11:16:42

willxtreme
Member
Registered: 2010-01-07
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Allright:
changes with version 1.01:
-no more fail:/sbin/mount-aufs" during boot
-since we're using vesa driver, added nomodeset
-deluge works right away
-it will now autologin on desktop
-swap
-removed crond
still gotta work on:
-making an installer
-maybe replacing wicd with NetworkManager
-a 64 bit version eventually
EDIT: no auto-mounting of local drives tongue

Last edited by willxtreme (2010-01-27 11:54:21)

Offline

#12 2010-01-27 11:48:47

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,838

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Please make auto-mounting local drives optional. I hate it when live cds do that without asking me. smile

Offline

#13 2010-01-27 11:52:59

willxtreme
Member
Registered: 2010-01-07
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Gotcha big_smile

Offline

#14 2010-01-27 12:26:42

toad
Member
From: if only I knew
Registered: 2008-12-22
Posts: 1,775
Website

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Finally downloaded it (version 1.0) and am about to nick ~/.configure/openbox and .conky - anything else I need to set up my box the same?

What I am missing: batterymon and some kind of volume management

Apart from that: very pretty, exactly like crunchbang smile

Other "problem": shiretoko wants to be made the default browser

Nice one, willxtreme


never trust a toad...
::Grateful ArchDonor::
::Grateful Wikipedia Donor::

Offline

#15 2010-01-27 12:30:50

sHyLoCk
Member
From: /dev/null
Registered: 2009-06-19
Posts: 1,197

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

For volume management maybe you could add volwheel in the next build?


~ Regards,
sHy
ArchBang: Yet another Distro for Allan to break.
Blog | GIT | Forum (。◕‿◕。)

Offline

#16 2010-01-27 12:54:45

willxtreme
Member
Registered: 2010-01-07
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

There is volume management with Super + V (which opens aumix)
but I'll ditch aumix for volwheel as suggested :-)

Offline

#17 2010-01-27 13:14:10

Veljac
Member
Registered: 2010-01-25
Posts: 54
Website

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

@ willxtreme 

i`m thinking to download and try your Arch live cd.
tell me , if i like it , can i install it on my disk or you did not put the Larchin installer.

Offline

#18 2010-01-27 14:19:56

sHyLoCk
Member
From: /dev/null
Registered: 2009-06-19
Posts: 1,197

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Veljac

Read post #11

still gotta work on:
-making an installer


~ Regards,
sHy
ArchBang: Yet another Distro for Allan to break.
Blog | GIT | Forum (。◕‿◕。)

Offline

#19 2010-01-27 14:23:24

willxtreme
Member
Registered: 2010-01-07
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Veljac wrote:

or you did not put the Larchin installer.

yikes first time I hear about Larchin installer (I started using Arch Linux this month so I'm still a newbie lol)

I'll have to check it out since I planned on eventually having an installer

Offline

#20 2010-01-27 14:37:48

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

It may help to have build scripts [ala Archie] to save you uploading 700mb every release... would speed up testing

Yeah no auto-mounting local drives.... very very very dangerous

if you need any help please feel free....

/me watching this thread

MrG


Mr Green

Offline

#21 2010-01-27 16:38:51

toad
Member
From: if only I knew
Registered: 2008-12-22
Posts: 1,775
Website

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

I've already mentioned batterymon - great little app, but on a more profound note: why jre and not openjdk6? Any good reason? If not, I'd suggest you go for the open alternative smile


never trust a toad...
::Grateful ArchDonor::
::Grateful Wikipedia Donor::

Offline

#22 2010-01-27 16:48:22

willxtreme
Member
Registered: 2010-01-07
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

Noted smile

Offline

#23 2010-01-27 16:51:44

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

@willxtreme - Why do you have both vlc and mplayer?

Offline

#24 2010-01-27 17:18:58

toad
Member
From: if only I knew
Registered: 2008-12-22
Posts: 1,775
Website

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

And another one, willextreme - I was installing all the packages you listed and bless pulled in mono and gtk-sharp-2. I consider those (well, mono, really) part of the evil empire, the dark side, from the company which must not be named... You get the gist. For more info you may want to have a look at http://www.fsf.org/news/dont-depend-on-mono

Thing is, do you really want the massive mono and gtk-sharp-2 (53+ MB) just for a hex editor? Thought I'd mention it.

EDIT:

Removing bless frees 142.39MB big_smile

Last edited by toad (2010-01-27 17:19:45)


never trust a toad...
::Grateful ArchDonor::
::Grateful Wikipedia Donor::

Offline

#25 2010-01-27 17:20:43

willxtreme
Member
Registered: 2010-01-07
Posts: 150
Website

Re: ArchBang 2.00 RC1

With mkv files, I've noticed that sometimes one would do better. For the live CD, it's a good idea to keep one though but I'm not sure which one would be the best choice.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB