You are not logged in.

#1 2005-02-08 09:14:33

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

grub kernel panic with apprently sane menu.lst

i have just started using grub and today i added an entry to my menu.lst for one of my kernels.  i have booted an successully used the kernel before but now i am, getting a kernel panic and it tells me i it can find the root dev - which is the same as teh rott devs for all teh other entries  :!:

# Config file for GRUB - The GNU GRand Unified Bootloader
# /boot/grub/menu.lst

# general configuration:
timeout   5
default   0
splashimage /grub/splash.xpm.gz
color blue/black cyan/blue

# (0) Windows
title=Windows XP Pro
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1

# (1) Arch Linux Stock
title=Arch-2610-arch
root   (hd0,5)
kernel (hd0,5)/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/discs/disc0/part10 devfs=nomount ro

# (2) Arch Linux ck3
title=Arch-269-ck3-fbs
root   (hd0,5)
kernel (hd0,5)/vmlinuz26-ck3-fbs root=/dev/discs/disc0/part10 splash=verbose,theme:basqsplash devfs=nomount vga=791 ro
initrd (hd0,5)/fbsplash-basqsplash-1024x768

# (3) Arch Linux ck5
title=Arch-2610-ck5
root   (hd0,5)
kernel (hd0,5)/vmlinuz2610-ck5 root=/dev/discs/disc0/part10 splash=verbose,theme:basqsplash devfs=nomount video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr,1024x768-32@70 ro
initrd (hd0,5)/fbsplash-basqsplash-1024x768

it's the bottom one that is screwed

Offline

#2 2005-02-08 10:55:51

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,018

Re: grub kernel panic with apprently sane menu.lst

You want to say that all of those entries work, except the last one?
Do you use boot partition, dibble, or not?

Offline

#3 2005-02-08 20:19:22

skoal
Member
From: Frequent Flyer Underworld
Registered: 2004-03-23
Posts: 612
Website

Re: grub kernel panic with apprently sane menu.lst

dibblethewrecker wrote:

[...]

# (3) Arch Linux ck5
title=Arch-2610-ck5
root   (hd0,5)
kernel (hd0,5)/vmlinuz2610-ck5 root=/dev/discs/disc0/part10 splash=verbose,theme:basqsplash devfs=nomount video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr,1024x768-32@70 ro
initrd (hd0,5)/fbsplash-basqsplash-1024x768[/code]

it's the bottom one that is screwed

I would think all 3 of them are screwed.  Your "root(hd0,5)" and "root=/dev/discs/disc0/part10" don't match.  That's partitions 6 and 10, respectively.

It would appear that you have Windows partitions on 1-5.  Partition 6 (hd0,5) is probably your "/boot" partition I assume.  I didn't think grub cared about what flavour of partition you were using, whether it's ext2, vfat, or whatever.  Therefore, it looks like your defining partitions relative to where your Linux partitions begin, thus you using (hd0,5) referrring to your 10th partition.  I do not believe grub looks at it this way.  I may be mistaken, but I believe that is the "root" of your problem (pun intentional).

Make this change and see what happens:

# (3) Arch Linux ck5
title=Arch-2610-ck5
root (hd0,9)
kernel (hd0,5)/vmlinuz2610-ck5 root=/dev/discs/disc0/part10 splash=verbose,theme:basqsplash devfs=nomount video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr,1024x768-32@70 ro
initrd (hd0,5)/fbsplash-basqsplash-1024x768

That's based on the assumption I deduced all of your partitions correctly.  That's probably why you are getting the kernel panic.  It's looking for your system startup files in your "/boot" partition, or (hd0,5) as grub likes to call it.

Offline

#4 2005-02-08 20:26:05

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,018

Re: grub kernel panic with apprently sane menu.lst

That's exactly what I wanted to propose :-)

Offline

#5 2005-02-09 09:29:23

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: grub kernel panic with apprently sane menu.lst

so the root is the system root?  not the root partition of where your boot part is?

eh?

yes, in old money i have /dev/hda6 as my boot part and my root part is /dev/hda10

why the hell do the other two boot ok then?

Offline

#6 2005-02-09 09:37:42

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: grub kernel panic with apprently sane menu.lst

the root (hd0,1) is used to specify the location of the /boot partition.
my example above being the second partition on the first drive (0 based index)

the second root, in the kernel line, specifies the location of /
example: kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/discs/disc0/part5 ro

my server's grub menu.lst is the following:

# (0) Arch Linux
title  Arch Linux  [/boot/vmlinuz26]
root   (hd0,1)
kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/discs/disc0/part5 ro

as for what is messed up with the following:

# (3) Arch Linux ck5
title=Arch-2610-ck5
root (hd0,5)
kernel (hd0,5)/vmlinuz2610-ck5 root=/dev/discs/disc0/part10 splash=verbose,theme:basqsplash devfs=nomount video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr,1024x768-32@70 ro
initrd (hd0,5)/fbsplash-basqsplash-1024x768

[/code]

Try this:
[code]
title=Arch-2610-ck5
root (hd0,5)
kernel /vmlinuz2610-ck5 root=/dev/discs/disc0/part10 splash=verbose,theme:basqsplash devfs=nomount video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr,1024x768-32@70 ro
initrd /fbsplash-basqsplash-1024x768
[/code]

The initrd and kernel lines always assume /boot as the current working directory. Hence you only specify /vmlinuz.. instead of the full /boot/vmlinuz..
So, don't add thos extra (hd0,5)'s in there...

As for the rest of the stuff, ie the splash, video, I haven't used those so I don't know their proper syntax. Also, are you sure your initrd is correct? Back in the redhat days, I improperly created an initrd a time or two, and had no end of problems...[/code]


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#7 2005-02-09 09:41:37

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: grub kernel panic with apprently sane menu.lst

cactus - thanks man - that's exactly what i thought!

any ideas why entry number three doesn't work?

Offline

#8 2005-02-09 09:43:41

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: grub kernel panic with apprently sane menu.lst

3?
the kernel line?
*counts on fingers*

EDIT: doh. the third in the list.. Likely a problem with the initrd. I had errors like that on redhat when I messed up the initrd a time or two. Are you loading the needed kernel modules in your initrd? Like..rieserfs?

EDIT2: Also, looks like you are trying to share the same initrd with different kernels. Different patchsets? That could also be the problem. Try creating a seperate initrd for the other kernel, using the modules/libs that came out of that kernel compile..


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#9 2005-02-09 09:49:43

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: grub kernel panic with apprently sane menu.lst

the initrd is just a splash screen for fbsplash - i'll take that out and try without that smile

Offline

#10 2005-02-09 22:51:11

skoal
Member
From: Frequent Flyer Underworld
Registered: 2004-03-23
Posts: 612
Website

Re: grub kernel panic with apprently sane menu.lst

Yeah, on re-reading the grub documentation, Cactus is correct.  It's been awhile so I apologize for the erroneous information I gave above.

I think what he says about minimizing the additional "initrd" and other options might be the answer.  Post back and let us know what you found.

Offline

#11 2005-02-10 08:59:23

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: grub kernel panic with apprently sane menu.lst

i didn't check this out yet - thanks or your suggestions cactus - the thing about is the intrd ok?  Well, as you can, i can use it ok with previous kernel in the list smile  i'll try your suggestions tho

Offline

#12 2005-02-11 04:29:35

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: grub kernel panic with apprently sane menu.lst

i'll try that.  i tried your suggestion cactus - i removed all the initrd stuff.

The error comes up with VFS: can't open root file system on discs/disc0/part10

unknown device (0,0) or something...

Offline

#13 2005-02-14 10:01:38

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: grub kernel panic with apprently sane menu.lst

that was it - i had to use the udev naming scheme with the kernels built without devfs!

# (3) Arch Linux ck5 
title=Arch-2610-ck5 
root (hd0,5) 
kernel (hd0,5)/vmlinuz2610-ck5 root=/dev/hda10 splash=verbose,theme:basqsplash devfs=nomount video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr,1024x768-32@70 ro 
initrd (hd0,5)/fbsplash-basqsplash-1024x768

Offline

#14 2005-02-16 16:54:14

skoal
Member
From: Frequent Flyer Underworld
Registered: 2004-03-23
Posts: 612
Website

Re: grub kernel panic with apprently sane menu.lst

dibblethewrecker wrote:

that was it - i had to use the udev with the kernels built without devfs!

I was recently getting the same kernel panic.  If I recall, my problem was that I forgot to enable "pts".  I do use "devfs".

Offline

#15 2005-02-27 02:28:32

Cotton
Member
From: Cornwall, UK
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 547

Re: grub kernel panic with apprently sane menu.lst

Just for the record, it looks like kernel26mm 2.6.11.rc4.mm1-1 requires the disc naming scheme in menu.1st to be /dev/discs/disc1/... rather than /dev/hdb...

(I'm using devfs rather than udev)

Offline

#16 2005-02-27 10:58:22

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: grub kernel panic with apprently sane menu.lst

dp - must have built it with devfs still in it then...so...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB