You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-02 15:53:26

blabla
Member
Registered: 2004-06-22
Posts: 39

quickcam module won't load [solved]

Hi,

i just configured my quickcam webcam with the WIKI pages.
When i try to load the module i get the following message:


[root@famjong allemaal]# modprobe quickcam
FATAL: Module quickcam not found.

I saw that the module was placed here

/lib/modules/2.6.9-ARCH/kernel/drivers/usb/misc/

as i use 2.6.10-ARCH i copied the file (quickcam.ko) to

/lib/modules/2.6.10-ARCH/kernel/drivers/usb/misc/

but this makes no difference.......
anyone got an idea?

gr

Offline

#2 2005-03-02 22:05:27

Pajaro
Member
Registered: 2004-04-21
Posts: 875

Re: quickcam module won't load [solved]

maybe running "depmod -a".

you can also load a module refering to the file with insmod

insmod /path/to/file.ko

Offline

#3 2005-03-03 19:59:13

blabla
Member
Registered: 2004-06-22
Posts: 39

Re: quickcam module won't load [solved]

Pajaro,

i did

depmod -a

and then again

modprobe quickcam

I now get the following error :cry:

FATAL: Error inserting quickcam (/lib/modules/2.6.10-ARCH/kernel/drivers/usb/misc/quickcam.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)

dmesg output:

Linux video capture interface: v1.00
quickcam: Unknown symbol remap_page_range

gr

Offline

#4 2005-03-03 21:07:10

Pajaro
Member
Registered: 2004-04-21
Posts: 875

Re: quickcam module won't load [solved]

I have find this kind of errors (not finding something) when the drivers are for another version of the kernel. Check if there's a driver update.

Offline

#5 2005-03-07 18:29:34

blabla
Member
Registered: 2004-06-22
Posts: 39

Re: quickcam module won't load [solved]

I downloaded the driver from this place:

http://xentac.net/tur/tags/staging/qc-usb26/

It works now, but............................ only as root.
I can't get the permissions right for a normal user.

I added this line to /etc/devfsd.conf:

# Give normal users access to webcam
REGISTER        video0       PERMISSIONS     root.users 0660

But that doesn't work  :?

gr

Offline

#6 2005-03-07 18:45:18

blabla
Member
Registered: 2004-06-22
Posts: 39

Re: quickcam module won't load [solved]

added myself to the group "video"

now it works!!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB