You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-06 16:47:36

cmp
Member
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 350

ivman or dbus configuraion error

Hi, I just installed ivman and just wanted it to automount my cdrom drive.
In my IvmConfigActions.xml I have the following rule:

<ivm:Match name="storage.removable" value="true">
        <ivm:Option name="unlock" value="true" />
</ivm:Match>

In my Mappings file I have a:

<ivm:Map device="/dev/cdroms/cdrom0"    maps="/dev/ide/host1/bus0/target0/lun0/cd"/>

my fstab is setup in a way that, if I say mount /dev/cdroms/cdrom0 or mount /mnt/cdrom, I can access my drive.

As I searched on the gentoo forums, I read in a thread that you should use dbus-monitor --system and watch for any message, when removing/inserting a cdrom, but I got none.
Then I tried to remove and plug in my usb mouse and got:

signal interface=org.freedesktop.Hal.Manager; member=DeviceRemoved; sender=:1.0
string:/org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/usb_usb_device_46d_c00e_1110_-1_noserial_0
signal interface=org.freedesktop.Hal.Manager; member=DeviceRemoved; sender=:1.0
string:/org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/usb_device_46d_c00e_1110_-1_noserial
signal interface=org.freedesktop.Hal.Manager; member=DeviceAdded; sender=:1.0
string:/org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/usb_device_46d_c00e_1110_-1_noserial
signal interface=org.freedesktop.Hal.Manager; member=DeviceAdded; sender=:1.0
string:/org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/usb_usb_device_46d_c00e_1110_-1_noserial_0

So I think there is something wrong with my dbus configuration.

Offline

#2 2005-03-06 20:25:57

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: ivman or dbus configuraion error

Im a little confused, are you having problems getting it to mount?  Because

<ivm:Match name="storage.removable" value="true"> 
 <ivm:Option name="unlock" value="true" /> 
 </ivm:Match>

is to unlock the tray.

    <ivm:Match name="ivm.mountable" value="true">
        <ivm:Option name="mount" value="true" />
    </ivm:Match>

should be added (or uncommented) below it to automount the drive. Theres alot of steps to setting up ivman,  a little more info would be more helpful. smile

Offline

#3 2005-03-07 04:51:34

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: ivman or dbus configuraion error

The default arch setup sets up the auto mount anyway doesn't it?  worked for me out of the box!

Offline

#4 2005-03-07 12:45:46

cmp
Member
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 350

Re: ivman or dbus configuraion error

no it didn't. so I don't have any idea.
and for information do you need, anything specific? Currently I don't know where to start.

Offline

#5 2005-03-07 13:24:27

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: ivman or dbus configuraion error

Well first of all ivman will only work for root straight out of the box. After you remove the .default extension you need to add to your rc.conf in DAEMONS: dbus hal ivman in that order, hal requires dbus to be started ahead. Reboot. log onto to your normal user and at the konsole type: ivman &. Dont worry about the warnings. Now you should see a hidden folder under your home directory (/home/username/.ivman). In there you will find similar config files that will need to be uncommented( "<!--" and "-->" ) -read through carefully. To get this to happen every time you need to go into your /home/user/.kde/Autostart folder and right click->create new file->link to application->. In the application tab enter ivman for the command. In advanced options I would deselect launch feedback. Click ok to finish then go back and right click and select properties and check the executeable box now that its been created.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB