You are not logged in.

#1 2010-02-27 10:25:54

whoops
Member
Registered: 2009-03-19
Posts: 822

what broke pm-hibernate (resume)?

Hi!

I guess I might have missed something that requires making manual changes or something? Didn't change anything, pm-hibernate stopped working yesterday. It hibernates "fine", but no resume (normal boot, no messages).

Thanks!

Offline

#2 2010-02-27 10:50:38

ArchArael
Member
From: Switzerland
Registered: 2005-06-14
Posts: 485

Re: what broke pm-hibernate (resume)?

I had the same problem. I resolved it by adding in the /etc/mkinitcpio.conf the resume hook.

These are my hooks:

HOOKS="base udev autodetect pata scsi sata resume filesystems"

Then remember to rebuild the initrd:

mkinitcpio -p kernel26

Reboot and try to hibernate your machine and the resume should work again.

Last edited by ArchArael (2010-02-27 10:53:34)

Offline

#3 2010-02-27 11:12:47

whoops
Member
Registered: 2009-03-19
Posts: 822

Re: what broke pm-hibernate (resume)?

Thanks, that did it!

(Although I could swear, some months ago I had to remove that hook to get it working roll)

Offline

#4 2010-02-28 16:10:52

naguz
Member
Registered: 2008-11-05
Posts: 95

Re: what broke pm-hibernate (resume)?

Thank you ArchArael and Arch Forum. Took three resumes before I relized something must have gone wrong somewhere. tongue
Now, if only resume would be a bit faster, so it could beet w7s time.

Offline

#5 2010-02-28 17:17:04

Ramses de Norre
Member
From: Leuven - Belgium
Registered: 2007-03-27
Posts: 1,289

Re: what broke pm-hibernate (resume)?

naguz wrote:

Now, if only resume would be a bit faster, so it could beet w7s time.

Take a look at uwsusp which can compress the ram image. It resumes _way_ faster on my machine.

Offline

#6 2010-03-01 16:12:22

ArchArael
Member
From: Switzerland
Registered: 2005-06-14
Posts: 485

Re: what broke pm-hibernate (resume)?

You are welcome guys. wink

Offline

#7 2010-03-02 07:08:53

bhobbit
Member
From: Brooklyn, NY, US
Registered: 2009-11-25
Posts: 18

Re: what broke pm-hibernate (resume)?

Thanks whoops for bringing this up and ArchArael for posting a solution smile Resume also b0rked on my machine after the last update, but I was too lazy to look into it.

Offline

#8 2010-03-07 20:07:38

Painless
Member
Registered: 2006-02-06
Posts: 177

Re: what broke pm-hibernate (resume)?

Thanks for the solution, works for me, although I've never required the resume hook before in the two years I've run Arch on this laptop.  Something to do with mkinitcpio 0.6 perhaps?

Offline

#9 2010-03-25 15:23:27

dgreid
Member
Registered: 2010-03-25
Posts: 2

Re: what broke pm-hibernate (resume)?

I had the same issue.  I fixed it by recompiling the kernel with all the hard drive modules built in(SATA, PIIX, ...).  Did the default config change for newer releases?  I didn't have to do this before, I updated last month.

Offline

#10 2010-11-02 15:39:47

whoops
Member
Registered: 2009-03-19
Posts: 822

Re: what broke pm-hibernate (resume)?

I think "it" happened again... what is it this time?

Now it doesn't hibernate probably: it starts to shut down / hibernate, just freezes before it's done, after turning the machine off & on there's no resume and not even log file...

I think I had exactly this problem before, and now it's back. The time before the last time... no the time before that...  I had to change something, which I later had to change back because of another problem... is it the resume hook again? Did anyone have to remove it? I think it was something else, but I can't remember what...

Last edited by whoops (2010-11-02 15:42:26)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB