You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-07 11:46:37

Disc-Devil
Member
Registered: 2005-03-07
Posts: 33

Problems with installing arch-0.7. (solved)

*GOSH* Me is so dumb sometimes... My testing computer, is not PII. It is only pentium. No wonder it aint working. My mistake, sorry. wink

Hello all !

I have a problem with installing arch-0.7.

When i am booting from CD, it starts to load kernel and so on, but it always restarts.

I have tryed starting it up with arch -noscsi, but it doesnt change anything. It restarts anyway. I get no error messages what so ever, it just restarts.

If there is anyone, who could help me out, give me a hint or something, i would really appreciate it. I am new to linux, and while browsing different distros, i found this one. And, it seems really good, so i decided to try it out, to see if it "does my work".

Thanks in advance.

Disc-Devil

Offline

#2 2005-03-07 16:04:48

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: Problems with installing arch-0.7. (solved)

BTW, there is a i586 version of Arch Linux but it only contains the current repo.  Search the forums for more info.

Offline

#3 2005-03-07 17:30:29

Disc-Devil
Member
Registered: 2005-03-07
Posts: 33

Re: Problems with installing arch-0.7. (solved)

Tnx !

I've found the pre.07-i586.iso... So, now i could try this out. big_smile

http://archlinux.veloxis.de/i586/iso/ar … e-i586.iso

If i understood, things right, i can still use sources? Even though, not every app is in the repository, i am able to use sources right?

Anyway, Tnx alot again, for giving me the gr8 tips. big_smile

Offline

#4 2005-03-07 18:55:37

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: Problems with installing arch-0.7. (solved)

Yes, you can use the PKGBUILD to make packages for the apps which are not in the current repo.

Offline

#5 2005-03-10 12:41:25

Cotton
Member
From: Cornwall, UK
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 547

Re: Problems with installing arch-0.7. (solved)

So srcpac can be used for this, right?

Offline

#6 2005-03-10 17:38:18

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: Problems with installing arch-0.7. (solved)

I've done a forum search to get more info on srcpac.  Indeed, it seems that srcpac is the right tool to do that.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB