You are not logged in.

#1 2010-03-19 14:17:51

phlex
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-03-19
Posts: 6

[SOLVED] Asus 1005PE ethernet | Atheros AR8132 | dhcpcd eth0:timed out

Hello, this was solved through the following process BUT:



    pacman -Syu updated my system and kernel. After that update I needed
    to reverse the line that I changed before in rc.conf. I change it back to
    MODULes=() [removed !atl1c atl1e] which leads to atl1c being loaded
    autmoatically. Seems they fixed the problem in a update.


___________________________________________________
These threads helped me:
(   I )http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=78891
(  II )http://www.ubuntugeek.com/howto-setup-n … aunty.html

Current driver for AR8132:
( III )AR81Family-linux-v1.0.1.6.tar.gz http://partner.atheros.com/Drivers.aspx

Hardware:
  Asus eeePC 1005PE with Atheros AR8132 ethernet device.

uname -r:
  2.6.30-ARCH

Problems:
  eth0 not showing up at ifconfig
  ethernet device not showing up at lspci
  at boot error ar "Start Network"
  dhcpcd: timed out
  ridiculous count of errors Tx, Rx ..

Removing battery and power cord for a while and then booting without lan cable helped
recognizing the ethernet device at lspci (and eth0 at ifconfig if I remeber right). Plugging
the lan cable produced a high count of errors at Tx, Rx.
(II)



_________________________________________________________________

Get the driver (III) and get it ready(II):
tar -xzvf AR81Family-linux-v1.0.1.6.tar.gz
cd src
make
make install

(the note about "#define IRQ_HANDLED 1" (II) wasn't necessary for me. My guess is they updated the driver and it is no longer necessary.)

edit the /etc/rc.conf, prevent atl1c from loading, add atl1e:
MODULES=(!atl1c atl1e)                                         [should look similar to this]

reboot
__________________________________________________________________

After reboot the error "dhcpcd: timed out" or "eth0: interface not found or invalid" was fixed,
"ping -c 3 www.google.com" was successful.
lsmod shows atl1e and ifconfig shows eth0.

I hope this is useful to someone, it took me a while to figure it out.



===================================================
                                                O L D
===================================================

Hello,
I installed Arch yesterday on my Asus 1005PE and am trying to get online since.
Wired should be easier but there is a problem.
I am connecting through a router with DHCP. While booting it fails after
'Starting Network':   'dhcpcd: eth0: interface not found or invalid'
Same error when I enter '/etc/rc.d/network restart'.

ifconfig -a

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:25:D3:D8:CF:CA  
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-25-D3-D8-CF-CA-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00  
          [NO FLAGS]  MTU:0  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

lspci

( . . . nothing with Ethernet, just Intel, VGA, .. )
02:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)

I think I saw the lan device recognised once, but rebooting doesn't help.

I read WPA encryption makes WLAN more complicated so I hope you can help me out with my wired connection.

- Felix

Last edited by phlex (2010-03-20 15:48:04)

Offline

#2 2010-03-19 15:10:34

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: [SOLVED] Asus 1005PE ethernet | Atheros AR8132 | dhcpcd eth0:timed out

A "wired" connection requires "eth0" data in rc.conf.

Check out the wiki.


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#3 2010-03-19 16:15:59

phlex
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-03-19
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] Asus 1005PE ethernet | Atheros AR8132 | dhcpcd eth0:timed out

This is already in my rc.conf:

MOD_AUTOLOAD="yes"
MODULES=()
USELVM="no"
HOSTNAME="newton"
eth0="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(eth0)
gateway="default gw 192.168.0.1"
ROUTES=(!gateway)
DAEMONS=(syslog-ng network netfs crond)

I don't see lines missing there.


Unplugging the power cord and removing the battery for some minutes helped somehow (found that odd tip through google). I booted without the lan cable connected and the Atheros AR8132 / L1c was recognized.

Got a new problem then. /etc/rc.d/network restart leads to:

:: Stopping Network   [DONE]
:: Starting Network   [BUSY]
dhcpcd: timed out
                      [FAIL]

dhcpcd eth0 leads to:

dhcpcd: version 5.0.6 starting
dhcpcd: eth0: waiting for carrier
dhcpcd: timed out

Suprisingly the 1005HA has the same ethernet device and should be working out of the box..

Offline

#4 2010-03-20 12:16:45

elric
Member
Registered: 2010-01-14
Posts: 22

Re: [SOLVED] Asus 1005PE ethernet | Atheros AR8132 | dhcpcd eth0:timed out

the dhcpcd messages indicate that the network interface is not configured. Try with the regular iwconfig commands, or netcfg.
I had to increase timeout as well for dhcpcd. The wiki of Arch is full of great examples and guided steps to get an internet connection.

Offline

#5 2010-04-01 09:23:05

Daemonjax
Member
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 42

Re: [SOLVED] Asus 1005PE ethernet | Atheros AR8132 | dhcpcd eth0:timed out

try:

iwconfig wlan0 essid any

then

dhcpcd wlan0


... try it on an open network to eliminate any problems with encryption... if that doesn't work, try using ndiswrapper.

Last edited by Daemonjax (2010-04-01 09:25:06)

Offline

#6 2010-05-22 12:54:18

arthur57
Member
Registered: 2008-05-22
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] Asus 1005PE ethernet | Atheros AR8132 | dhcpcd eth0:timed out

I have the same problem using adsl on my 1005pe,and i know how to figure it out now.Thanks a lot.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB