You are not logged in.

#1 2010-03-18 15:01:24

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Hi Arch community,

Arch Linux (archboot creation tool) 2010.03-1, "2k10-R2" has been released.
To avoid confusion, this is not an official arch linux iso release!

Now Homepage available:
ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/iso/archboot/index.html

Check Readme.txt file for more information on archboot.
ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/iso/archboot/Readme.txt

Summary:
Bugfix release for 2010.02 files, with many new setup features.

Hybrid image file and torrent is provided, which include
i686 and x86_64 core repository. Please check md5sum before using it.

Hybrid image file is a standard CD-burnable image and also a raw disk image.
    - Can be burned to CD(RW) media using most CD-burning utilities.
    - Can be raw-written to a drive using 'dd' or similar utilities.
      This method is intended for use with USB thumb drives.

Please get it from your favorite arch linux mirror:
http://www.archlinux.de/?page=GetFileFr … ot/2010.03
<yourmirror>/iso/archboot/2010.03/

Changelog:

GENERAL:
- kernel 2.6.32.10 / LTS kernel 2.6.27.45
- pacman 3.3.3 usage
- RAM recommendations: 288 MB

Kernel changes:

Removed features:

Environment changes:
- nilfs2 filesystem tools added
- btrfs filesystem tools added
- gdisk added

hwdetect changes:

setup changes:
- a lot  internal function cleanup
- better menu switching
- better dialogs
- support virtio block devices
- added GUID (gpt support)
- added raid4 and raid6 support
- new bootloader section added,
- including GRUB2 support and many more sanity checks
- possibility to run bootloader instance standalone

quickinst changes:
- adopted changes to quickinst script

KNOWN ISSUES:
- FTP installation mode:
  None wink
- CD installation mode:
  None wink
 
Further documentation can be found on-disk and on the wiki.
Have fun!

greetings
tpowa

Offline

#2 2010-03-18 17:02:01

Runiq
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-10-29
Posts: 1,053

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Thanks for this. The archboot images are the only ones that allow me to install from USB, so that's a heads up from me! smile (I think that's due to me having a SATA USB controller or something, I don't know jack about that stuff tongue )

Edit3: rtorrent says this when starting the download:

Tracker: [Failure reason "Requested download is not authorized for use with this tracker."]

Last edited by Runiq (2010-03-18 17:30:55)

Offline

#3 2010-03-18 20:31:58

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

I found some quirks in image file, will fix them now and resend them to mirrors.
Tomorrow everything should be up and fine.

Offline

#4 2010-03-19 10:56:33

Kenni
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2007-01-25
Posts: 64

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Thanks for your hard work smile

I'm installing on a 5GB virtual qemu-kvm machine and I noticed a few things during install:

1. Booting arch64 stalls at "Unpacking initramfs..." - booting regular arch works fine (host is Arch Linux 2.6.32.5 with qemu-kvm 0.12.2-1)

2. Using the "Auto prepare" function suggests me to use a 7500MB root partition, even though I only have a harddisk of 5000GB.

3. After accepting to use hwdetect, I get the following MODULES entry in /etc/rc.conf (why both blacklist and afterwards load the modules?):
MODULES=(!virtio_net !pcspkr virtio_net pcspkr)

4. In mkinitcpio.conf, virtio_blk is added twice:
MODULES="virtio_blk virtio_blk ata_piix uhci-hcd ext2 ext3"

Last edited by Kenni (2010-03-19 10:56:48)

Offline

#5 2010-03-19 11:43:54

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

1. you gave enough ram to the system? give it more ram then it should work.
2. normal defaults are 7500 it doesn't check for free space, this could be changed in the future.
3. Was explained in last iso thread, it has to do with achieving module loading without udev loading of the modules.
4. hrm hwdetect seems to detect it twice, this could be probably changed easily in hwdetect code

thanks for the feedback smile

Offline

#6 2010-03-19 12:07:43

Kenni
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2007-01-25
Posts: 64

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

tpowa wrote:

1. you gave enough ram to the system? give it more ram then it should work.

Confirmed - missing memory was causing the issue smile

Offline

#7 2010-03-19 12:48:26

Kenni
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2007-01-25
Posts: 64

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

I have some usability feedback as well:

Under the "Configure System" step, there's both a entry called "Pacman-Mirror" and one called "/etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist".

When I click on "Pacman-Mirror", I get asked if I would would like to use the same mirror as i used for the FTP install. As the mirror I wanted to use wasn't in the mirrorlist earlier, I select no to this question. Instead of getting back to the Configuration menu, I am now asked to select a mirror from the list. I manually go through from top to bottom and select the best mirror, even though that's not the mirror I would like to use. I'm now back at the Configuration menu, and see that the next entry is called "/etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist". I click on it, removes the first three lines (from the setup entry), search for my country and uncomment the mirror I want.

I suggest to change the above behaviour, by merging "Pacman-Mirror" and "/etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist" into one entry (probably just called "/etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist" to make it fit nicely in the list). When clicking on that entry, you'll get the question if you want to use the mirror from the install. If you click yes, the lines are added to the mirrorlist and the file gets opened with the editor. If you click no, the mirrorlist is opened with the editor immediately.

This would make it much more intuitive IMHO smile

Offline

#8 2010-03-19 15:12:55

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

thx again, will think about it.
Anything else, which is not intuitive?

Offline

#9 2010-03-19 18:17:56

BlackIkeEagle
Trusted User (TU)
From: Belgium
Registered: 2008-09-24
Posts: 78

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Someone a solution for i/o error fd0 while installing grub2 ?

it doesnt come out of it so the system is installed but no bootloader


- Arch64 / Arch32 -- Desktops & Mediacenters & Laptops & home Servers
- MyAUR
- MyArchWiki
- pgp key: 0x796CA067

Offline

#10 2010-03-19 21:10:51

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

probably --nofloppy option ins etup would be enough,
you can chroot into install environment and run install-grub by hand.
Or disable floppy in bios.

Last edited by tpowa (2010-03-19 21:11:28)

Offline

#11 2010-03-19 22:44:03

BlackIkeEagle
Trusted User (TU)
From: Belgium
Registered: 2008-09-24
Posts: 78

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Euhm, Floppy is disabled in bios, but it seems like linux is still able to see it

but no problem after all, i went to a dinerparty and now the errormsg is gone and i can continue with the setup


- Arch64 / Arch32 -- Desktops & Mediacenters & Laptops & home Servers
- MyAUR
- MyArchWiki
- pgp key: 0x796CA067

Offline

#12 2010-03-20 12:08:08

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

BleckEagle, install went fine afterwards?

Offline

#13 2010-03-20 13:11:08

meijin
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2009-03-05
Posts: 92

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

same problem on VBox as earlyer version, stuck at "satrting rpcbind"
in tty12 console:
"atkbd.c spurious NAK on isa0060/serio0. some program might be trying access hardware directly"

after a while, its giving some output on tty12, which i cant copy

Assaf

Offline

#14 2010-03-20 13:21:19

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

i strongly guess vbox is broken there with some kernel issue in .32 series.

Offline

#15 2010-03-20 13:45:13

meijin
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2009-03-05
Posts: 92

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

ok, maybe...
anyway, i think that if you installing with grub2, the install whould run "grub-mkconfig" when done, and not use the default grub.cfg, or letting the user know that he should do so

Assaf

Offline

#16 2010-03-20 16:54:08

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

why running grub-mkconfig?
you can change config file in front of installing.

Offline

#17 2010-03-20 19:18:11

BlackIkeEagle
Trusted User (TU)
From: Belgium
Registered: 2008-09-24
Posts: 78

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

tpowa wrote:

BleckEagle, install went fine afterwards?

Yes, thx for asking

it took a very long time to install grub2 but after that, all is fine

Now i can install with this disk at work so i finaly can get rid of windoze there too smile

Last edited by BlackIkeEagle (2010-03-20 19:21:35)


- Arch64 / Arch32 -- Desktops & Mediacenters & Laptops & home Servers
- MyAUR
- MyArchWiki
- pgp key: 0x796CA067

Offline

#18 2010-03-21 08:25:00

muunleit
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-02-23
Posts: 234

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

There is still the torrent / rtorrent - problem.

Tracker: [Failure reason "Requested download is not authorized for use with this tracker."]

"The mind can make a heaven out of hell or a hell out of heaven" -- John Milton

Offline

#19 2010-03-21 08:55:15

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Hrm i cannot authorize them, i posted a mail 2 days ago on the dev mailinglist.
In the meantime only http/ftp is working.

Offline

#20 2010-03-21 09:59:05

kevku
Member
From: Estonia
Registered: 2009-11-21
Posts: 57

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

also the webseeds are wrong in the torrent

Offline

#21 2010-03-21 10:13:01

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

please be more precise, i just used the script pierre provided, what is wrong?

Offline

#22 2010-03-21 10:19:08

kevku
Member
From: Estonia
Registered: 2009-11-21
Posts: 57

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

they point to the folder not to the iso file
for example <mirror>archlinux/iso/archboot/2010.03
should it be like archlinux/iso/archboot/2010.03/archlinux-2010.03-1-archboot.iso?

also some paths there are archboot/2010.03-1/ should be archboot/2010.03/

Last edited by kevku (2010-03-21 10:32:32)

Offline

#23 2010-03-25 21:21:51

thisllub
Member
From: Northern NSW Australia
Registered: 2007-12-28
Posts: 231

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Nice project.
I have a project that requires about 20 Arch machines.
Halfway through I found this.
I am almost there.
I have a PXE boot setup and mount the packages by scp ' ing the files to /src/core-x86_64/pkg.
The install is fine until after package selection when I get a "Failed to prepare transaction" error which disappears too quickly to give me any more information.
I assume it is a Pacman error as I couldn't grep the error in the setup script and there is some mention of the message in the forums.
Seems to be when one or more packages is out of date.

For now I will have to finish the project with CDs and usb sticks but I will be watching this one.
Thanks.

Offline

#24 2010-03-25 23:51:42

Kenni
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2007-01-25
Posts: 64

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Kenni wrote:

4. In mkinitcpio.conf, virtio_blk is added twice:
MODULES="virtio_blk virtio_blk ata_piix uhci-hcd ext2 ext3"

I didn't have the time to give further feedback the other day, but I actually had to give up on installing onto a virtio block device hmm I tried to do a clean install twice onto a virtio block device, but the first boot always fails by dropping me to the prompt, telling me that the root device doesn't exist (or something similar). I could confirm from the prompt that /dev/vd* didn't exist. Shutting the system down and changing the virtual HD to a IDE-interface, makes the system boot.

I don't know if this should be considered an "upstream Arch Linux mkinitcpio bug" or a 2010.03-1 archboot bug.

Offline

#25 2010-03-26 03:40:42

Chrysalis
Member
Registered: 2008-07-07
Posts: 155

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

With the previous and with this version, my dvdrom keeps constantly speeding up and down after archboot gets loaded, possibly trying to tell me to remove the CD since its cached to ram?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB