You are not logged in.

#26 2010-03-26 06:21:46

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

thisllub wrote:

Nice project.
I have a project that requires about 20 Arch machines.
Halfway through I found this.
I am almost there.
I have a PXE boot setup and mount the packages by scp ' ing the files to /src/core-x86_64/pkg.
The install is fine until after package selection when I get a "Failed to prepare transaction" error which disappears too quickly to give me any more information.
I assume it is a Pacman error as I couldn't grep the error in the setup script and there is some mention of the message in the forums.
Seems to be when one or more packages is out of date.

For now I will have to finish the project with CDs and usb sticks but I will be watching this one.
Thanks.

Are you using ftp or cd mode for package installing?
FTP can go wrong anytime if something is messed up in the repos. CD mode should always work.

Offline

#27 2010-03-26 06:23:45

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Kenni wrote:
Kenni wrote:

4. In mkinitcpio.conf, virtio_blk is added twice:
MODULES="virtio_blk virtio_blk ata_piix uhci-hcd ext2 ext3"

I didn't have the time to give further feedback the other day, but I actually had to give up on installing onto a virtio block device hmm I tried to do a clean install twice onto a virtio block device, but the first boot always fails by dropping me to the prompt, telling me that the root device doesn't exist (or something similar). I could confirm from the prompt that /dev/vd* didn't exist. Shutting the system down and changing the virtual HD to a IDE-interface, makes the system boot.

I don't know if this should be considered an "upstream Arch Linux mkinitcpio bug" or a 2010.03-1 archboot bug.

My knowlegde to virtio is rather limited, since i never used it. But seems initcpio autodetect neither detects the virtio modules correct.
Anyone with virtio knowledge reading this thread and knows which modules do we need to get this working correct?

Offline

#28 2010-03-26 06:25:57

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Chrysalis wrote:

With the previous and with this version, my dvdrom keeps constantly speeding up and down after archboot gets loaded, possibly trying to tell me to remove the CD since its cached to ram?

Sounds like a kernel bug.
You can remove dvd from drive after initrd has been loaded into RAM.
You can only use FTP mode then to install.

Offline

#29 2010-03-26 08:56:35

Kenni
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2007-01-25
Posts: 64

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

tpowa wrote:
Kenni wrote:
Kenni wrote:

4. In mkinitcpio.conf, virtio_blk is added twice:
MODULES="virtio_blk virtio_blk ata_piix uhci-hcd ext2 ext3"

I didn't have the time to give further feedback the other day, but I actually had to give up on installing onto a virtio block device hmm I tried to do a clean install twice onto a virtio block device, but the first boot always fails by dropping me to the prompt, telling me that the root device doesn't exist (or something similar). I could confirm from the prompt that /dev/vd* didn't exist. Shutting the system down and changing the virtual HD to a IDE-interface, makes the system boot.

I don't know if this should be considered an "upstream Arch Linux mkinitcpio bug" or a 2010.03-1 archboot bug.

My knowlegde to virtio is rather limited, since i never used it. But seems initcpio autodetect neither detects the virtio modules correct.
Anyone with virtio knowledge reading this thread and knows which modules do we need to get this working correct?

In that case the issue is a missing "virtio" module, which virtio-blk depends on.

This module is missing while in ramfs:

[ramfs /]# modprobe virtio
FATAL: Module virtio not found

Booting the system with an IDE interface and adding "virtio" to the MODULES line in mkinitcpio.conf results in a "ERROR: 'virtio' module not found" when running "mkinitcpio -p kernel26", perhaps because virtio is compiled into the kernel on the installed system:

# zcat /proc/config.gz | grep "CONFIG_VIRTIO="
CONFIG_VIRTIO=y

Last edited by Kenni (2010-03-26 09:10:13)

Offline

#30 2010-03-30 03:40:57

thisllub
Member
From: Northern NSW Australia
Registered: 2007-12-28
Posts: 231

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

tpowa wrote:
thisllub wrote:

Nice project.
I have a project that requires about 20 Arch machines.
Halfway through I found this.
I am almost there.
I have a PXE boot setup and mount the packages by scp ' ing the files to /src/core-x86_64/pkg.
The install is fine until after package selection when I get a "Failed to prepare transaction" error which disappears too quickly to give me any more information.
I assume it is a Pacman error as I couldn't grep the error in the setup script and there is some mention of the message in the forums.
Seems to be when one or more packages is out of date.

For now I will have to finish the project with CDs and usb sticks but I will be watching this one.
Thanks.

Are you using ftp or cd mode for package installing?
FTP can go wrong anytime if something is messed up in the repos. CD mode should always work.

I worked it out.

I had to copy /src/core-any as well

Makes my life much easier.
Thanks again.

Offline

#31 2010-03-30 22:37:41

OrangeRoot1000
Member
From: TN -- USA
Registered: 2008-08-07
Posts: 106
Website

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

I just want to post some feedback on this box that I just did a full fresh install:

System:    Host rebecca Kernel 2.6.32-ARCH x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Arch Linux
CPU:       Quad core AMD Phenom 9650 (SMP) cache 2048 KB flags (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4a svm) bmips 18485.1
           Clock Speeds: (1) 2309.894 MHz (2) 2309.894 MHz (3) 2309.894 MHz (4) 2309.894 MHz
Graphics:  Card ATI RS880 [Radeon HD 4200] tty res: 180x47 Gfx Data: N/A for root user
Audio:     Card-1 ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) driver oss_hdaudio BusID: 00:14.2
           Card-2 ATI RS880 Audio Device [Radeon HD 4200] BusID: 01:05.1
Network:   Card-1 Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller driver r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI at port e800 BusID: 02:00.0
           Card-2 RaLink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI driver rt61pci v: 2.3.0 BusID: 03:06.0
Disks:     HDD Total Size: 781.0GB (9.3% used) 1: /dev/sdb ST3750528AS 750.2GB
           2: /dev/sda Patriot_PS 30.9GB
Partition: ID:/ size: 14G used: 6.0G (46%) fs: jfs ID:/boot size: 1.2G used: 13M (2%) fs: ext2
           ID:/tmp size: 7.8G used: 104M (2%) fs: ext2 ID:/home size: 466G used: 62G (14%) fs: jfs
           ID:swap-1 size: 7.19GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
Info:      Processes 148 Uptime 8:18 Memory 590.9/7741.9MB Runlevel 3 Client Shell inxi 1.4.8

I tried to use the hybrid iso on a dvd. The checksums came out okay. So I don't think it was the media. As you can see this box has an SSD for a main drive and platters for a secondary drive. For some reason in the partitioning area whether using the automatic function, manual partitioning, c/fdisk first then setting mountpoints this point of the installer would fail with a wrong block error $1. I actually had to go back to 2008.02 64 bit to install because there seems to be a problem with the Ralink wifi drivers too in 64bit on the 2008.08 iso. With that disk the install went flawless in the whole partitioning area, and setting of mountpoints. There was also mention in the errors that showed up about GPT.

I like the idea of a hybrid iso/img for both archetectures. There have been so many drastic changes since the 08 release we need a new one out with all the changes to save on bandwidth that is IMHO wasted when a new dvd/cd would help cut down on bandwidth.

VampirePenguin

Last edited by OrangeRoot1000 (2010-03-31 03:24:37)

Offline

#32 2010-04-11 17:09:02

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

I don't know about ssd disks, because i don't have one, but it should work as it works with other disks. It would be interesting if you can cfdisk the ssd disk in an other console. GPT errors should not show up, you will be asked if you want to use GPT layout, but this is disabled by default.

Offline

#33 2010-04-16 06:31:01

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Kenni wrote:
tpowa wrote:
Kenni wrote:

I didn't have the time to give further feedback the other day, but I actually had to give up on installing onto a virtio block device hmm I tried to do a clean install twice onto a virtio block device, but the first boot always fails by dropping me to the prompt, telling me that the root device doesn't exist (or something similar). I could confirm from the prompt that /dev/vd* didn't exist. Shutting the system down and changing the virtual HD to a IDE-interface, makes the system boot.

I don't know if this should be considered an "upstream Arch Linux mkinitcpio bug" or a 2010.03-1 archboot bug.

My knowlegde to virtio is rather limited, since i never used it. But seems initcpio autodetect neither detects the virtio modules correct.
Anyone with virtio knowledge reading this thread and knows which modules do we need to get this working correct?

In that case the issue is a missing "virtio" module, which virtio-blk depends on.

This module is missing while in ramfs:

[ramfs /]# modprobe virtio
FATAL: Module virtio not found

Booting the system with an IDE interface and adding "virtio" to the MODULES line in mkinitcpio.conf results in a "ERROR: 'virtio' module not found" when running "mkinitcpio -p kernel26", perhaps because virtio is compiled into the kernel on the installed system:

# zcat /proc/config.gz | grep "CONFIG_VIRTIO="
CONFIG_VIRTIO=y

I found the reason, you are using 32bit kernel which has virtio included in kernel, 64bit kernel hast it as module.
But i don't understand why it doesn't work when it's included into the kernel.

greetings
tpowa

Offline

#34 2010-04-16 09:32:30

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

Ok found the fix, you need virtio-pci module too, then it works fine.

Offline

#35 2010-04-18 16:47:12

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

New image files released please continue discussion here:
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=95503

Offline

#36 2010-04-18 18:34:40

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Re: 2010.03-1 archboot "2k10-R2" ISO hybrid image released

tpowa wrote:

New image files released please continue discussion here:
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=95503

Indeed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB