You are not logged in.

#1 2010-04-02 07:38:46

aeosynth
Member
From: California
Registered: 2010-02-06
Posts: 115
Website

[virtualbox] 64 bit Arch host/guest

When I try to install an Arch Linux guest in virtualbox using the core-x86-64 iso, I get the error:

This kernel requires an x86-64 CPU, but only detected an i686 CPU.
Unable to boot - please use a kernel appropriate for your CPU.

$ uname -a
Linux gar 2.6.32-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Mar 15 20:44:03 CET 2010 x86_64 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3500+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

Using VirtualBox 3.1.6 from the aur - http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=9753

The VT-x/AMD-V button is disabled.


Is it possible for me to install a 64 bit guest?

Offline

#2 2010-04-02 09:28:13

Moargazm
Member
From: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Registered: 2010-04-02
Posts: 9
Website

Re: [virtualbox] 64 bit Arch host/guest

Virtualbox is running with a 32bit CPU, either emulated, or you don't actually have one.

You need to actually have a 64-bit CPU on your computer, and make sure virtualbox is emulating a 64-bit CPU, not a 32-bit CPU.


It would also be wise to turn on processor virtualization in your BIOS.

Offline

#3 2010-04-02 21:50:28

aeosynth
Member
From: California
Registered: 2010-02-06
Posts: 115
Website

Re: [virtualbox] 64 bit Arch host/guest

I do have a 64 bit cpu; check the uname output. How do I make sure virtualbox is emulating a 64 bit cpu, and how do I turn on processor virtualization?

Offline

#4 2010-04-02 22:10:43

Floft
Member
Registered: 2009-11-15
Posts: 36
Website

Re: [virtualbox] 64 bit Arch host/guest

Well, I had this same problem a while ago... if I remember correctly, you have to enable it in your bios.

Garrett

Offline

#5 2010-04-02 22:32:43

jowilkin
Member
Registered: 2009-05-07
Posts: 243

Re: [virtualbox] 64 bit Arch host/guest

You must be using vt-x or other hardware virt to use 64-bit guests.

Offline

#6 2010-04-05 02:01:12

raj7095
Member
Registered: 2010-02-14
Posts: 91

Re: [virtualbox] 64 bit Arch host/guest

aeosynth wrote:

When I try to install an Arch Linux guest in virtualbox using the core-x86-64 iso, I get the error:

This kernel requires an x86-64 CPU, but only detected an i686 CPU.
Unable to boot - please use a kernel appropriate for your CPU.

$ uname -a
Linux gar 2.6.32-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Mar 15 20:44:03 CET 2010 x86_64 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3500+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

Using VirtualBox 3.1.6 from the aur - http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=9753

The VT-x/AMD-V button is disabled.


Is it possible for me to install a 64 bit guest?

get it from the main repositories, not aur. it works for me just fine.

Last edited by raj7095 (2010-04-05 02:02:00)

Offline

#7 2010-04-05 03:57:26

aeosynth
Member
From: California
Registered: 2010-02-06
Posts: 115
Website

Re: [virtualbox] 64 bit Arch host/guest

raj7095 wrote:

get it from the main repositories, not aur. it works for me just fine.

community doesn't have 64 bit virtualbox packages, so your host (and most likely your guest) is 32 bit.

I downloaded the core-i686.iso, I'll probably just use that.

Offline

#8 2010-04-05 04:06:42

kazuo
Member
From: São Paulo/Brazil
Registered: 2008-03-18
Posts: 413
Website

Re: [virtualbox] 64 bit Arch host/guest

Having a 64 bits host is not sufficient for running a 64 bits guest. You processor need a special instruction to run a 64 bits guest. For example I have a 64 bits host but cannot run a 64 bits guest.

Now I dont remember the instruction name that is needed, I'm searching in the google now.. give me some minutes...

EDIT: Found it, the instruction set is called svm or vmx, check with you proc (/proc/cpuinfo) have this flags

Uhh, and I dont know much about virtualization, but I read that use virtualization in a cpu without virtualization extensions using xen, but I dont get all the concepts... =[

EDIT2: More info http://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=8669 look at general questions

But, if you dont have the instrucionts they can be disabled in the bios (they are by default on some cpus)
http://www.redhat.com/docs/en-US/Red_Ha … _BIOS.html

Last edited by kazuo (2010-04-05 04:20:35)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB