You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-16 01:22:17

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

No other way to put it, guys: Arch Linux has just gone completely batshit on me.

I just upgraded to the 2.6.11 kernel, which is now in the Current repo.

However, something seems to have been missed during the update... Because when I boot, my system tells me that finding the module dependencies has failed, hotplug screws up and says that it can't find something (isapnp.map IIRC, or something like that - zoomed by too damn fast and it was too late during boot for dmesg to retrieve), and my modules do not load.

And boy do I mean it when I say I've got no modules... nothing, not even the realtime clock module.

I can't modprobe stuff either. When I do, I get a message saying that the modules dir for kernel 2.6.10 cannot be found.

In other words, it seems that some config file somewhere still says that I'm using kernel 2.6.10, and that's screwing me over completely. So could someone please point me to the config file that gives the kernel modules dir?

As of right now, I'm using a live CD to post here. I'll have to use this until I can get Arch Linux unfucked.

(I ought to post a bug on this... Not registered yet on bugs.archlinux.org though, I'll have to get that done.)

P.S. Don't worry, I'm not angry at the package maintainers... Shit happens, after all.

Offline

#2 2005-03-16 01:28:14

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

Gullible Jones wrote:

No other way to put it, guys: Arch Linux has just gone completely batshit on me.

Guano is a well known, and powerful fertilizer. Watch your garder grow!

I just upgraded to the 2.6.11 kernel, which is now in the Current repo.

However, something seems to have been missed during the update... Because when I boot, my system tells me that finding the module dependencies has failed, hotplug screws up and says that it can't find something (isapnp.map IIRC, or something like that - zoomed by too damn fast and it was too late during boot for dmesg to retrieve), and my modules do not load.

And boy do I mean it when I say I've got no modules... nothing, not even the realtime clock module.

I can't modprobe stuff either. When I do, I get a message saying that the modules dir for kernel 2.6.10 cannot be found.

In other words, it seems that some config file somewhere still says that I'm using kernel 2.6.10, and that's screwing me over completely. So could someone please point me to the config file that gives the kernel modules dir?

As of right now, I'm using a live CD to post here. I'll have to use this until I can get Arch Linux unfucked.

(I ought to post a bug on this... Not registered yet on bugs.archlinux.org though, I'll have to get that done.)

P.S. Don't worry, I'm not angry at the package maintainers... Shit happens, after all.

Did your grub/lilo get updated? Check to see what kernel you are actually running..
uname -a


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#3 2005-03-16 01:39:50

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

when you do a kernel upgrade, you need to reboot, as it will wipe out the modules for the current kernel... reboot under the new kernel (run lilo if you use it) and the modules should be there

Offline

#4 2005-03-16 02:18:00

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

I rebooted under it, guys. That's how I know that Hotplug and the modules dependency check is screwing up. That's also why I mentioned dmesg...

And no, of course I don't use LILO, I use GRUB. I even set up GRUB again...

Offline

#5 2005-03-16 03:37:06

josephmc
Member
From: Texas,USA
Registered: 2005-03-16
Posts: 51
Website

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

I have LOVED arch up to now. I had the exact same thing and it has only been a few hrs since this update. I can only assume this has happened to everybody that has done this update. It looks to me like there could be a solutions but if ppl only have 1 computer they can't do anything as far as looking for help. If it is a fast fix I'll be sticking w/ arch but right now i'm looking for somethin else cuz this is stupid. PLEASE prove me wrong and make it my fault cuz I don't want this to happen to arch and it's users.

Offline

#6 2005-03-16 03:53:42

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

(eliott@kif ~)$ uname -r
2.6.11.3-ARCH
(eliott@kif ~)$ find /lib/modules/2.6.11.3-ARCH/ | wc -l
1182

I appear to have all my modules. No problems so far.

which repo mirror did you guys get your package from?

EDIT: Did the same thing with the old kernel...

(eliott@hermes ~)$ uname -r
2.6.10-ARCH
(eliott@hermes ~)$ find /lib/modules/2.6.10-ARCH/ | wc -l
1144

Numbers seem consistent..


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#7 2005-03-16 04:08:14

josephmc
Member
From: Texas,USA
Registered: 2005-03-16
Posts: 51
Website

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

I haven't changed the current repo list. I could try to redownload it but i can't. The only module it boots is nvidia and won't modprobe any others. This shows that it is only included kernel modules and that modules can be inserted. I can't think why it would work for you and not for us. Are you using lilo or grub?

My uname -r prints "2.6.10-ARCH" roll

Offline

#8 2005-03-16 04:25:28

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

grub, and maybe the problem is you are not booted into the right kernel.
check your /var/log/pacman file. Maybe the kernel file did not overwrite like it should have..


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#9 2005-03-16 04:29:49

josephmc
Member
From: Texas,USA
Registered: 2005-03-16
Posts: 51
Website

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

I'm such an idiot. I forgot i used lilo on my desktop. I just needed to run "lilo". Sorry and I couldn't be happier that it's my fualt. Thanks for the super fast responses.

Offline

#10 2005-03-16 04:52:39

Shofs
Member
From: Central Illinois
Registered: 2004-12-15
Posts: 184

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

Gullible Jones wrote:

I rebooted under it, guys. That's how I know that Hotplug and the modules dependency check is screwing up. That's also why I mentioned dmesg...

And no, of course I don't use LILO, I use GRUB. I even set up GRUB again...

I understand that you are frustrated but with a tone like that you may be hard-pressed to find someone willing to help you. That is my two cents.

Look at josephmc's THIRD post:

I'm such an idiot. I forgot i used lilo on my desktop. I just needed to run "lilo". Sorry and I couldn't be happier that it's my fualt. Thanks for the super fast responses.

People make mistakes, would it be so impossible for you to have done so? I just mean that you shouldn't disregaurd Arch after one hiccup.

I praise you josephmc for being able to admit you made a mistake. That is how you learn.

Offline

#11 2005-03-16 05:33:06

k-dub
Member
Registered: 2004-11-12
Posts: 49

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

I updated this evening, rebooted, and my keyboard and mouse wouldn't respond. I booted into single-user mode and the keyboard worked. A few reboots later and a few tweaks to my xorg.conf file, and I finally realized that my mouse no longer worked on my PS/2 port. I plugged it into a USB port and it worked.

The good news is that it's up and running. The better news is that ndiswrapper now works (was causing instant lockups when loading the module). I guess the worst thing that happened to me was something is wrong with PS/2 mouse interface.

Offline

#12 2005-03-16 11:36:13

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

PS/2 works for me on it... But no modules load.

I'll reboot into it and do uname -R.

Offline

#13 2005-03-16 11:42:47

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,436
Website

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

gullible - i used/tested 2.6.11 while it was in testing - i had no problems.  however, i have tried to compile my own kernels an i am having serious problems with modules

it looks like it may not be an arch specific issue.  personally i think the maintaince of the kernel is becoming very shoddy - look at my cdrecord issues - not in 2.6.9, there in 2.6.10, gone in 2.6.11

Offline

#14 2005-03-16 16:28:52

@leX
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2003-11-06
Posts: 76

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

I have no module boot after tomorrow massive update include kernel.
I use Grun. No lilo.

Offline

#15 2005-03-16 17:00:14

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

man, I'm going to do a wiki write up for this some day, I swear...

ok, everyone having this issue, when you boot and have no modules, run a "uname -r" and make sure you are booted into the kernel you just upgraded to....

Offline

#16 2005-03-16 17:47:38

@leX
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2003-11-06
Posts: 76

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

I read yor post.
But can run uname -r only now.
And I get 2.6.10-ARCH
This my pacman.log

[03/16/05 00:12] upgraded kernel26 (2.6.10-3 -> 2.6.11.3-1)
...
[03/16/05 19:09] upgraded kernel26 (2.6.11.3-1 -> 2.6.11.3-1)
[03/16/05 19:13] warning: /boot/kconfig26 saved as /boot/kconfig26.pacsave
[03/16/05 19:13] removed kernel26 (2.6.11.3-1)
[03/16/05 19:15] installed kernel26 (2.6.11.3-1)

As you can see.
I have  kernel26 2.6.10-3 installed. And I try to update end after that remove end clean install kernel 2.6.11.3.
But after each install and reboot I continue to get no modules.
And uname -r still to return 2.6.10-ARCH.
????????

Offline

#17 2005-03-16 18:08:37

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

are you using lilo? if so you need to run "lilo"  as root after the kernel upgrade

Offline

#18 2005-03-16 18:25:16

@leX
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2003-11-06
Posts: 76

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

phrakture wrote:

are you using lilo? if so you need to run "lilo"  as root after the kernel upgrade

No. I use grub. I am shure.
It's my grub menu.lst file

# Config file for GRUB - The GNU GRand Unified Bootloader
# /boot/grub/menu.lst
.........
# (0) Arch Linux
title  Arch Linux  [/boot/vmlinuz26]
root   (hd0,2)
kernel (hd0,0)/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/discs/disc1/part3 ro devfs=nomount vga=791

I not use lilo. i not have pkg lilo.

Offline

#19 2005-03-16 18:33:04

@leX
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2003-11-06
Posts: 76

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

I think that I begin ununderstand what is my problem.
My /boot/vmlinuz26 file have date 18/01/05
May be I have my boot partition in read only mode?
It's my fstab

#
# /etc/fstab: static file system information
#
# <file system>        <dir>         <type>    <options>          <dump> <pass>
none                   /dev/pts      devpts    defaults            0      0
none                   /dev/shm      tmpfs     defaults            0      0
tmpfs                  /tmp          tmpfs     defaults            0      0
usbfs                  /proc/bus/usb usbfs  defaults            0      0

/dev/cdroms/cdrom0     /mnt/cd   iso9660   ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
# /dev/cdroms/cdrom0     /mnt/dvd  udf       ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
/dev/floppy/0          /mnt/fl   vfat      user,noauto,umask=022        0      0
/dev/sda1        /mnt/usb    vfat    user,noauto,umask=022    0    0
/dev/hdd1        /mnt/d        vfat    user,noauto,noatime    0    0
/dev/hda1         /mnt/win    ntfs    ro,user,noauto,noatime     0    0

/dev/discs/disc1/part2 swap swap defaults,noatime 0 0
/dev/discs/disc1/part3 / reiserfs defaults,noatime,notail,nodiratime 0 0
/dev/discs/disc1/part1 /boot ext2 defaults,noauto,noatime 1 1

Where mistake?
Why pacman can't write new kernel to /boot?
Why pacman not return any error or warning?

Offline

#20 2005-03-16 19:14:09

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

@leX wrote:

/dev/discs/disc1/part1 /boot ext2 defaults,noauto,noatime 1 1

aha!
your boot partition is not mounted when you machine boots (it adds safety, but causes issues...) I suggest removing the "noauto" part and just switch it to "ro"

anyway, on your system, do the following as root:
mount /boot
pacman -S kernel26 (say yes)
lilo
umount /boot
reboot[/code]

Offline

#21 2005-03-16 20:00:52

@leX
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2003-11-06
Posts: 76

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

I'm in my arch box now.
Thanks to phrakture

Offline

#22 2005-03-16 20:05:02

@leX
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2003-11-06
Posts: 76

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

But, why pacman not warn me wile unsuccessful kernel update?
It's pacman bug?

Offline

#23 2005-03-16 20:05:49

k-dub
Member
Registered: 2004-11-12
Posts: 49

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

If your boot partition wasn't mounted when you upgraded the kernel, I suspect you'll find the new files in the /boot folder when the HD partition is not mounted. Remember, there is a folder there whether it's mounted to a different partition or not. Perhaps move all the files in that folder to some temp folder, mount /boot, then move them back.

Offline

#24 2005-03-16 22:17:45

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

@leX wrote:

But, why pacman not warn me wile unsuccessful kernel update?
It's pacman bug?

it's not a bug... like k-dub said, you have a /boot folder even if nothing is mounted... for instance... I'm assuming you have like a /mnt/cd or something like that... go ahead and "cp /etc/* /mnt/cd" without a CD mounted and it will work like a charm... now mount a cd and it's all missing... and /mnt/cd now has the contents of the cd

that's the same thing that happened with /boot

grub and lilo don't boot by path, they boot by partition, so it's able to determine where the unmounted /boot partition is

as far is pacman is concerned, it installed the files to /boot just fine... the rest is up to you

Offline

#25 2005-03-17 12:46:18

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,444

Re: Kernel upgrade -> no module loading

I had the same problems, new kernel26-scsi, reboot, and a bunch of error messages starting hotplug daemon (line bla error in modules bla file):
[snipp] ...
Mar 16 19:42:10 lemone modprobe: WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.11.3-ARCH/modules.alias line 1: ignoring bad line starting with '$Mar 16 19:42:10 lemone modprobe: WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.11.3-ARCH/modules.alias line 2: ignoring bad line starting with '$Mar 16 19:42:10 lemone modprobe: WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.11.3-ARCH/modules.alias line 3: ignoring bad line starting with '$Mar 16 19:42:10 lemone modprobe: WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.11.3-ARCH/modules.alias line 4: ignoring bad line starting with '$Mar 16 19:42:10 lemone modprobe: WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.11.3-ARCH/modules.alias line 5: ignoring bad line starting with '$Mar 16 19:42:10 lemone modprobe: WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.11.3-ARCH/modules.alias line 6: ignoring bad line starting with '$Mar 16 19:42:10 lemone modprobe: WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.11.3-ARCH/modules.alias line 7: ignoring bad line starting with '$Mar 16 19:42:10 lemone modprobe: WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.11.3-ARCH/modules.alias line 8: ignoring bad line starting with '$Mar 16 19:42:10 lemone modprobe: WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.11.3-ARCH/modules.alias line 9: ignoring bad line starting with '$Mar 16 19:42:10 lemone modprobe: WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.11.3-ARCH/modules.alias line 10: ignoring bad line starting with $Mar 16 19:42:10 lemone modprobe: WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.11.3-ARCH/modules.alias line 11: ignoring bad line starting with $Mar 16 19:42:10
...
[/snapp]
No modules where found, only the ones I had in my modules section of rc.conf. Errm. So I loaded my nic module by hand, started network deamon, and did pacman -Sf kernel26-scsi hotplug. Minutes later, I rebooted, and all things where fine - until I fired up gnome, and found out, I could not start it anymore. But gnome 2.1o is another story.


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB