You are not logged in.

#1 2003-09-26 07:27:48

jskier
Member
From: Minnesota, USA
Registered: 2003-07-30
Posts: 357
Website

DVI and green/blue random pixels???

This problem occurs in only in DVI mode not RGB-
I get random green/blue (or screen noise) pixels scattering at random places on the screen. It mostly occurs on dark parts of the screen but it almost always occurs on the title of the archlinux.org website banner with the blue background.

The problem is less present in Windows XP.

What I have done without success:
-Replaced the video card
-Replaced the monitor
-Tried video card in another (AMD) system
-Reinstalled drivers and OS completely

My hardware:
INTEL 2.56 533 FSB, 1024 RAM, Asus P4B533 motherboard, Geforce FX5200 128 MB, ViewSonic '19 VX900 flatpanel display

Latest drivers from NVIDA.com for both Arch and Windows (9/26).
Latest version of XFree via pacman.

Any ideas? Some sort of interference maybe? Drivers? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you,

JSkier


--
JSkier

Offline

#2 2003-09-26 15:19:09

DanEE
Member
From: Fribourg, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-07-10
Posts: 43

Re: DVI and green/blue random pixels???

When you changed the monitor, did you also change the dvi-cable?
Maybe it is broken somehow.

Maybe you have also some wrong monitor settings in your XF86config-File.
You could try to boot up with knoppix and see if the problem is still there!

These are my only ideas
I hope it helps

Offline

#3 2003-09-26 15:39:03

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: DVI and green/blue random pixels???

I was going to suggest the DVI cable.  It sounds like you've tried replacing everything else!  (Unless the stuff you replaced it with was broken as well...)


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#4 2003-09-26 19:03:46

jskier
Member
From: Minnesota, USA
Registered: 2003-07-30
Posts: 357
Website

Re: DVI and green/blue random pixels???

When I replaced the monitor under warranty I got an entire new unit, including the cable. Knoppix didn't help much.

I'm thinking about going ATI for a video card on this... At least that way if I still have a problem I can return the video card.

I have never had such a strange problem with computers before  sad

Thanks for the quick respones,
JSkier


--
JSkier

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB