You are not logged in.

#1 2010-03-22 19:02:39

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

[SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

:: Mounting tmpfs, size=75%...done.
:: Waiting for boot device...
ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...
       Falling back to interactive prompt
       You can try to fix the problem manually, log out when you are finished
ramfs$ _

I'm trying to install Arch from a USB stick using GRUB4DOS. The first partition on the USB stick is formatted as FAT.
Sure I could use the .img file an "dd" it, but from my understanding the results would be similar (since it's a known bug in 2009.08).

archlinux-2009.08-netinstall-i686
GRUB4DOS 0.4.5a (2010-02-09)

menu.lst wrote:

title Start Arch Linux 2009.08-netinstall-i686\nA lightweight and flexible Linux distribution that tries to Keep It Simple.
map --unmap=0:0xff
map --unhook
root (hd0,0)
map /boot/archlinux-2009.08-netinstall-i686.iso (0xff) || map --mem /boot/archlinux-2009.08-netinstall-i686.iso (0xff)
map --hook
root (0xff)
configfile /grub4dos.lst || chainloader (0xff)
map --unmap=0:0xff

For the 2010.03.02 & 2010.03.04 builds the changelog mentions they dropped GRUB support and are using Isolinux instead.
Should I use archlinux-2010.03.02-netinstall-i686.iso ? How do I pass it to Isolinux ? By replacing "configfile /grub4dos.lst..." ?


PS: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=92966

Neither "solutions" helped:

#1:
cd /dev
ln -s sr0 archiso
exit

#2:
ln -s /dev/sdb1 /dev/archiso
exit


Perhaps it's a GRUB issue. Maybe I shoud try placing archlinux-2009.08-netinstall-i686.iso in the root of the USB stick (instead of the /boot folder).
If that doesn't work... I doubt it would from an "Images" folder either.

Please advise.

Should I just format the USB stick and just run it through UNetbootin ?



Edit: NOTHING WORKS. hmm Sad panda...



Edit #75: Just found another resource - http://hi.baidu.com/%D3%CE%C7尲/blog/ite … 8203e.html

Right now I'm attempting "solution" #3:
udevadm trigger
exit

#4:
ln -s /dev/sr0 /dev/archiso

#5:
Renaming it to something shorter like archlinux.iso

#6:
Copy the damn thing to (hd0,1) where it will be sitting on a nice an cozy EXT3 filesystem. neutral

Last edited by DSpider (2010-04-17 14:05:22)


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#2 2010-03-25 08:32:49

Ber
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 80
Website

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

I'm not sure I understood everything, so sorry if you already did it, but have you tried to simply dd the image to your USB stick, as described in : http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ins … lash_drive?

It *should* work flawlessly.


V=RI sweet V=RI

Offline

#3 2010-04-05 05:43:36

mencargo
Member
Registered: 2009-05-05
Posts: 53

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

I have the exact same problem, but downloaded the .img version, and booted differently (I have a different problem now), maybe it works for you.

Offline

#4 2010-04-05 14:43:28

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

Should the USB stick be formatted as FAT/FAT32 or ext2/3/4 ? I saw a thread mentioning only ext3 worked...


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#5 2010-04-05 15:38:25

corvolino
Member
From: Bahia - Brasil
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 13
Website

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

I am having the same problem. my arch mysteriously crashed yesterday and downloaded the version in the core and put pen driver with UNetbootin via windows. I have used the syntax usbrelay = 15 and nothing, already formatted in FAT/FAT32 and still the error.

any suggestions?


archlinux i686

Offline

#6 2010-04-05 16:12:43

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

Have you tried ext3 ? ...


Edit: Is your setup SATA only ?

Last edited by DSpider (2010-04-05 16:13:33)


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#7 2010-04-05 16:14:48

davidgurvich
Member
Registered: 2010-02-11
Posts: 118

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

What device does your grub point to?  Edit the grub entry on boot to see if it's correct.

Offline

#8 2010-04-05 16:52:03

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

It boots just fine. I can see the Arch install menu with the blue background, the Arch logo and everything. It runs for a bit then it drops to $ramfs and there's nothing I can do about it. It's a (known) bug.

Last edited by DSpider (2010-04-05 16:52:44)


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#9 2010-04-05 21:14:41

corvolino
Member
From: Bahia - Brasil
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 13
Website

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

DSpider wrote:

It boots just fine. I can see the Arch install menu with the blue background, the Arch logo and everything. It runs for a bit then it drops to $ramfs and there's nothing I can do about it. It's a (known) bug.

The same thing happens to me. I have arch installed on the netbook, arrives in gdm when it crashes - do not know why - I want to boot in order to try to recover your system or install, but I'm not getting. The bug is already being discussed.


archlinux i686

Offline

#10 2010-04-16 22:02:40

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

Nothing works. And I've tried dozens of methods. Even the newer builds don't work. For instance archlinux-2010.04.05-netinstall-i686.iso.
THEY ALL DROP TO RAMFS. ALL OF THEM. Whoever tested the builds must have an all out IDE configuration and they probably tested it from CD only.


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#11 2010-04-16 22:54:18

hokasch
Member
Registered: 2007-09-23
Posts: 1,461

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

Confusing. Can't really follow, it seems to me there are different problems here... Where is the bug report?

- unetbootin doesn't work with the official arch isos since a while, nor any grub-solutions. try it with archboot
-  if gdm crahshes, start in single user mode

Last edited by hokasch (2010-04-16 22:56:17)

Offline

#12 2010-04-17 10:53:39

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

This is the bug report: http://bugs.archlinux.org/task/17231?project=6
It was already included in my original post. Trying archlinux-2010.03-1-archboot.iso right now...

By the way, isn't there a "netinstall-i686" version of this ?


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#13 2010-04-17 11:25:44

hokasch
Member
Registered: 2007-09-23
Posts: 1,461

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

Is this behaviour:

It boots just fine. I can see the Arch install menu with the blue background, the Arch logo and everything. It runs for a bit then it drops to $ramfs and there's nothing I can do about it. It's a (known) bug.

not something else as in the first post and the linked bug (Can't boot LiveCDs 2009.08)?

DSpider wrote:

Sure I could use the .img file an "dd" it, but from my understanding the results would be similar (since it's a known bug in 2009.08).

I would definitely try this, not sure if the problem is the same with USB-images.

Offline

#14 2010-04-17 11:52:22

hokasch
Member
Registered: 2007-09-23
Posts: 1,461

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

bumping: the archboot image can be writen directly to usb, did you catch this? no need for grub4dos..

- Can be raw-written to a drive using 'dd' or similar utilities. This method is intended for use with USB thumb drives.

'dd if=<imagefile> of=/dev/<yourdevice> bs=1M'


edit: archboot with grub still works, just use initrd.img and vmlinuz from /isolinux and make an entry in menu.lst, eg

title  Install
root   (hdx,y)
kernel /path/to/vmlinuz
initrd /path/to/initrd.img rootdelay=10

.. and do a net-install. that's how I made my first arch install... shame on me for never following up on my first thread.

Last edited by hokasch (2010-04-17 12:24:56)

Offline

#15 2010-04-17 14:01:42

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

FINALLY ! "archlinux-2010.03-1-archboot.iso" worked ! I've been trying ON and OFF for about a month now to install Arch !!! I've been stuck on Windows XP. neutral


For future reference here's what I did:

Got grub4dos-0.4.5a-2010-03-29 and grubinst 1.0.1
Put "grubinst.exe" in the "grub4dos-0.4.5a" directory.
To install grub4dos I had to create a "tralalala.bat" next to "grubinst.exe" and run it:

tralalala.bat wrote:

@echo off
grubinst.exe (hd3)

I found out the USB stick was hd3 by selecting Properties on one of the drives in My Computer, Hardware and simply counting the drives:

untitled_2.png

GRUB starts counting from hd0 so the USB stick is hd3.


menu.lst wrote:

timeout 10

title Arch Linux 2010.03-1-archboot (x86_64/i686)\nA lightweight and flexible Linux distribution that tries to Keep It Simple.
map --unmap=0:0xff
map --unhook
root (hd0,0)
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 /boot/archlinux-2010.03-1-archboot.iso (0xff) || map --mem /boot/archlinux-2010.03-1-archboot.iso (0xff)
map --hook
root (0xff)
chainloader (0xff)
map --unmap=0:0xff

Now I just wish I had a newer "netinstall-i686" version of it.

Is there any way to "rip" it and still keep it bootable at the same time ?

Last edited by DSpider (2010-04-17 14:04:04)


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#16 2010-04-17 14:18:00

hokasch
Member
Registered: 2007-09-23
Posts: 1,461

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

Not sure what you mean - you can always do a netinstall?
If you want to keep it small, just use the example in my previous post.

edit: my example was using grub (legacy or 2) and kernel/initrd from inside the archboot iso - some 40 MB I think

Last edited by hokasch (2010-04-17 14:22:51)

Offline

#17 2010-04-17 14:36:13

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

Really ? So all I need is the vmlinuz and initrd.img files ? No boot.msg, boot.cat, etc ? Doh... Now you tell me.

Edit: Can the path contain spaces ? For instance:

title Install
root (hd0,0)
kernel /Arch Linux/vmlinuz
initrd /Arch Linux/initrd.img rootdelay=10

Last edited by DSpider (2010-04-17 14:38:59)


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#18 2010-04-17 14:40:27

hokasch
Member
Registered: 2007-09-23
Posts: 1,461

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

wink
used to work with the official images as well, but they changed the scripts/boot process (no clue about it, squashfs I guess). Obviously, you will not have the core-packages, but you can do net-install.

edit: spaces, I don't think so.

Last edited by hokasch (2010-04-17 14:41:50)

Offline

#19 2010-04-17 14:59:30

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

No, definitely no spaces. However, your method doesn't work... Not from a ArchLinux folder, "archlinux" or "boot".

Error 1: Filename must be either an absolute pathname or blocklist

Press any key to continue...


Shouldn't I specify a root or something ? Add "boot" at the end ?

title Install
root (hd0,0)
kernel /archlinux/vmlinuz root=/dev/sdd
initrd /archlinux/initrd.img rootdelay=10
boot

Last edited by DSpider (2010-04-17 15:04:27)


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#20 2010-04-17 15:10:22

hokasch
Member
Registered: 2007-09-23
Posts: 1,461

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

It works here with the example posted above. I guess you just have to get the syntax right,  e.g. hd(0,0) is probably the first partition of the hd, not the usb key. Use "e" at grub boot to try around..

Last edited by hokasch (2010-04-17 15:10:54)

Offline

#21 2010-04-17 17:05:17

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

hd(0,0) is the USB stick not the first HDD. I know this because grub4dos detects it as FAT and it's the only FAT filesystem on my PC.


Anyway, your suggestion could work, it just didn't for me... Instead I used UltraISO and hacked away at the original image. I removed everything related to 64 bits or LTS, including the entries from isolinux.cfg and boot.msg. I also saved it as archlinux-2010.03-1-archboot-small.iso. It's about 32 MB in size now.

I thought of using ISO Master from inside Parted Magic (to keep it "legit", in the Linux spirit and all that) but apparently it has some bugs.

Last edited by DSpider (2010-04-17 17:06:07)


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#22 2010-04-17 17:14:18

hokasch
Member
Registered: 2007-09-23
Posts: 1,461

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

OK, maybe it was because of FAT and grub4dos - I used grublegay on my arch ext4 /boot to try. That error message sounds like a syntax problem to me.
But you achieved what you aimed for - so all good I'll say.

Last edited by hokasch (2010-04-17 17:24:57)

Offline

#23 2010-07-11 03:55:02

anderfs
Member
Registered: 2010-07-10
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] ERROR: boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds...

Hello there. I know this thread is marked as [SOLVED], but I still wanted to post what I've found out so far, using GRUB4DOS to load ArchLinux install media from a USB drive.

The first and only partition on my USB stick is formatted as FAT, and the device has a DOS label of "BOOTZOR" (I know, not a very creative name), I've also installed GRUB4DOS to the partition's MBR using grubinst 1.0.1.

I copied vmlinuz26 and archlinux.img to a folder called arch in the only partition's root (/arch). As usual, grldr and menu.lst are in the drive's root (/).

And here's my menu.lst:

### GRUB4DOS menu.lst file ###

color light-gray/dark-gray white/black
timeout 10
default 0

title Archlinux\n Lightweight and flexible Linux distribution that tries to Keep It Simple.    
kernel /arch/vmlinuz26 archisolabel=BOOTZOR tmpfs_size=75% locale=en_US.UTF-8 root=/./dev/disk/by-label/BOOTZOR panic=30 waitusb=2 rootfstype=vfat rootdelay=10 rootwait ro
initrd /arch/archiso.img

It's weird how I had to set root to /./dev/disk/by-label/[LABEL] instead of just setting it to /dev/disk/by-label/BOOTZOR, this is because when using the latter it would moan something like "/disk/by-label/BOOTZOR not found", so the former is just some quick and dirty fix.

Nonetheless, this works and at least in my case finally avoided the horrible "boot device didn't show up after 30 seconds" at boot and "no such device" whilst on $ramfs trying to mount anything; finally, I reached that precious Archlinux login.

Oh and BTW "Error 1: Filename must be either an absolute pathname or blocklist" is indeed caused by GRUB4DOS' menu.lst syntax -- it doesn't allow for parameters on the initrd line apparently, so one merely needs to move that rootdelay=10 boot option to the kernel line.


Sometimes, I mean what I post.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB