You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-17 13:31:58

Bralkein
Member
Registered: 2004-10-26
Posts: 354

KDE 3.4 & Window Transparency Problem

I have just installed KDE 3.4, and after a bit of trouble and reinstalling it a couple of times, it now works fine. However, I remembered seeing something about transparency and shadows in this new version of KDE, so I wanted to see if I could turn them on. After enabling the necessary options in the Control Centre, I restarted X and logged back in, but it gave me a message saying I had to put

Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

In my xorg.conf in order for it to work properly. I did this, and when I logged in again, the results were... interesting. Here is a screenshot (I hope this free hosting thing works):

[URL=http://putfile.com/pic.php?pic=3/7507213817.png&s=x2]7507213817-thumb.png[/URL]

I have an ATI Radeon 9700 Pro graphics card, but I do not have direct rendering working, because I cannot make their kernel module (the latest driver version from the ATI website) compile with Linux kernel 2.6.11. I did have it working under 2.6.10 though, so I rebooted and checked to see if this would fix things. It did not. The 2.6.10 kernel I used to use also has a different frame buffer driver compiled in there (I don't know if this makes a difference, but I thought I'd mention it anyway).

If anyone knows what I can do to make this work, then I would be very grateful indeed. Here are my system specs:

1.3 GHz AMD Athlon processor
768MB RAM
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
Custom kernel 2.6.10/2.6.11 (depends which one I boot)
Latest pacman packages of xorg, KDE, everything else from current/extra

Thanks in advance!

Offline

#2 2005-03-17 13:35:02

Pajaro
Member
Registered: 2004-04-21
Posts: 878

Re: KDE 3.4 & Window Transparency Problem

composite is in an experimental state. Don't spect it to work properly.

Offline

#3 2005-03-17 19:05:25

Bralkein
Member
Registered: 2004-10-26
Posts: 354

Re: KDE 3.4 & Window Transparency Problem

Huh! That's funny. I wonder why the KDE people decided to put support for it in a stable release then?

Offline

#4 2005-03-17 19:42:38

colnago
Member
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2004-03-25
Posts: 438

Re: KDE 3.4 & Window Transparency Problem

It works for me, but it is really slow so I turned it off.

Offline

#5 2005-03-17 21:51:36

Abaddon
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-05-03
Posts: 231

Re: KDE 3.4 & Window Transparency Problem

ATI doesn't support composite afaik


Gnome - The weakest link!
Linux, *not* GNU/Linux!

Offline

#6 2005-03-17 22:39:34

puntmuts
Member
Registered: 2005-02-22
Posts: 138

Re: KDE 3.4 & Window Transparency Problem

I tried it, and it works on my setup. But it is SLOW . So I removed it big_smile
Screenshot


Out / Gone
Mirgrating all my machines off ArchLinux . No longer part of the ArchLinux community / users .
Done. Goodbye.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB