You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-18 16:46:43

thegnu
Member
From: Brooklyn, NY
Registered: 2004-05-04
Posts: 280
Website

Rosegarden/JACK configuration?

Hey all,
I've gotten rosegarden to work in the past, by following directions detailed here:
http://www.plus24.com/midi-howto/index.html
http://www.djcj.org/LAU/jack/

but I struggled a lot with it.  Now, I'm wishing I had written it all down, because I need to do it again.  Does anyone have the basic steps to setting up rosegarden for midi i/o?

I also never got it to output audio via the speakers, but the midi keyboard would play back midi recordings.
Thanks!


fffft!

Offline

#2 2005-03-18 17:30:54

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: Rosegarden/JACK configuration?

i use soft-midi and it works fine for outputting audio - here is what i do:

0) do NOT mark jackd SUID! (no need for realtime >800mhz). start rosegarden without the sequencer (i think it is --no-sequencer) and make sure rosegarden do not try to start jack at startup (somewhere in the configs of rosegarden)

1) make sure you have installed:
qjackctl qsynth (+ deps) or get used to parameters of jack and fluidsynth

2) start qjackctl as normal user from xterm/aterm. configure to your needs and press "start" button of jack in qjackctl. tips for config: use alsa and kernel26. (i tried first oss but it uses more cpu time)

3) see in status windows of qjackctl that jack is running and listening

4) make sure you have a soundfont somewhere on your harddrive (sf2 files - lots of them can be found http://www.hammersound.net/)

5) start qsynth - configure it to use fluidsynth - configure it to find your soundfonts (i have mine under ~/.soundfonts/)

6) start fluidsynth in qsynth

7) start rosegarden. it will detect a running jack server, general midi and simply work


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#3 2005-03-18 18:04:45

jochen
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2004-06-01
Posts: 102

Re: Rosegarden/JACK configuration?

Hi Damir, do you use the kernel26mm-package that you are maintaining? You could use the included realtime-module to achieve realtime-capabilities -- no need for setting suid then.

Offline

#4 2005-03-18 18:11:57

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: Rosegarden/JACK configuration?

jochen wrote:

Hi Damir, do you use the kernel26mm-package that you are maintaining? You could use the included realtime-module to achieve realtime-capabilities -- no need for setting suid then.

yes, i use kernel26mm ... maybe it's already realtime and i don't know? (i never _tried_ to run it realtime, it simply runs fine without tuning)

how do i check if i run it realtime?


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#5 2005-03-18 18:35:42

jochen
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2004-06-01
Posts: 102

Re: Rosegarden/JACK configuration?

Goto the setup-dialog in qjackctl. If the realtime-checkbox is enabled and jackd starts up without errormessage then you are running in realtime mode.
look at http://jackit.sourceforge.net/docs/faq.php#a53 for further information regarding jack and realtime-lsm.

Offline

#6 2005-03-18 19:35:57

thegnu
Member
From: Brooklyn, NY
Registered: 2004-05-04
Posts: 280
Website

Re: Rosegarden/JACK configuration?

dp wrote:

i use soft-midi and it works fine for outputting audio - here is what i do:

Awesome.  Thanks a lot!


fffft!

Offline

#7 2005-03-19 00:49:51

thegnu
Member
From: Brooklyn, NY
Registered: 2004-05-04
Posts: 280
Website

Re: Rosegarden/JACK configuration?

I've got it all set up for my client;  all that is left is to go over and actually test the install on his machine with the midi keyboard.  Eep!  I went about it a whole different way, and I need to see if which way works better for my client.

Anyway, news tomorrow.


fffft!

Offline

#8 2005-03-19 18:22:59

greenagain
Member
From: Atlanta, GA
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 20
Website

Re: Rosegarden/JACK configuration?

If I start Jack as a user without the realtime scheduling, I seem to get a lot of xruns.

What's required to get the realtime-lsm patch installed on this kernel?  Since Arch kernel packages only include the headers, I can't seem to build the realtime-lsm patch.  I'm used to gentoo where they give you the full source.  Am I going to have to download the full source and build it that way? 

Any input would be appreciated.

Offline

#9 2005-03-19 18:48:22

jochen
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2004-06-01
Posts: 102

Re: Rosegarden/JACK configuration?

Maybe this helps you: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … ealtimelsm

Or simply install kernel26mm.

Offline

#10 2005-03-19 19:39:24

greenagain
Member
From: Atlanta, GA
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 20
Website

Re: Rosegarden/JACK configuration?

Yeah, I saw your pkgbuild while searching through this.  The thing is, even though realtime-lsm is still 0.1.1 I would have to customize the pkgbuild for a newer kernel, and I didn't really want to do that. 

I've also installed dp's kernel26mm, and I'm actually running that now.  Does that already have realtime-lsm in it?  I was under the impression that it didn't, because when I start jackd with realtime I get:

JACK: unable to mlock() port buffers: Cannot allocate memory
jack_create_thread: error -1 switching current thread to rt for inheritance: Unknown error 4294967295
cannot start watchdog thread
cannot load driver module alsa

However, it starts successfully when not using realtime scheduling.  So I was under the impression that this discrepency occurs when realtime-lsm isn't in the system. 

What do you think?

thanks,

john

Offline

#11 2005-03-19 21:45:08

greenagain
Member
From: Atlanta, GA
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 20
Website

Re: Rosegarden/JACK configuration?

Actually, I think I managed to get it working.  Yes, the realtime module is included in dp's mm kernel.  I was just loading the module with the wrong gid, I think.  So it is possible to start jackd in realtime mode without the suid bit set.  Thanks for your attention, and thank you dp for putting the kernel together.

Offline

#12 2005-03-20 18:36:30

thegnu
Member
From: Brooklyn, NY
Registered: 2004-05-04
Posts: 280
Website

Re: Rosegarden/JACK configuration?

So I got rosegarden installed, and even was able to get Rosegarden to see the emu10k1 (SB Live!) MIDI port, but it never imported anyhing.  I tried both how dp suggests, and also tried a few different things.  I ran out of time, and so I never got it working, but when I do, I'll let you guys know.  I'm under the impression that it might be that the soundcard is bad.

Does anyone know how to check if the MIDI port is receiving data?  Would it be:

cat /dev/{midi_device}

fffft!

Offline

#13 2005-03-20 18:54:04

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: Rosegarden/JACK configuration?

yes, i was running realtime without knowing it - yes, i use kernel26mm and right now mm4 is compiling

thank you for the good input on this subjects

thegnu wrote:

So I got rosegarden installed, and even was able to get Rosegarden to see the emu10k1 (SB Live!) MIDI port, but it never imported anyhing.  I tried both how dp suggests, and also tried a few different things.  I ran out of time, and so I never got it working, but when I do, I'll let you guys know.  I'm under the impression that it might be that the soundcard is bad.

Does anyone know how to check if the MIDI port is receiving data?  Would it be:

cat /dev/{midi_device}

the way i described it it is for software midi. if your soundcard has a midi processor, this would be even better. maybe you need to upload the soundfonts to your device (see rosegarden settings, there is sometihng like this written there)

also, check that you load the needed modules for it. i don't know what modules are needed for your soundcard.

good luck


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#14 2005-03-22 12:18:42

neri
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, Canada
Registered: 2003-05-04
Posts: 552

Re: Rosegarden/JACK configuration?

Hi,
as a side note for those who don't dare -mm kernels like me. You can roll
your own standard kernel with one little change. Use the stuff that comes
down with 'abs' and edit the config file:
find this
CONFIG_SECURITY_CAPABILITIES=y
and replace with
CONFIG_SECURITY_CAPABILITIES=m
or sed it:
sed -i "s|CAPABILITIES=y|CAPABILITIES=m|" config

makepkg the kernel and install it AND REBOOT!
DON'T delete the src dir!

There is an external realtime-lsm available and it works:

# Contributor: Tobias Kieslich <tobias@_rm-f_justdreams.de>

pkgname=realtime-lsm
pkgver=0.1.1
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="module for the kernel enables realtime capabilites for the user"
depends=('kernel26')
source=(http://dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/$pkgname/$pkgname-$pkgver.tar.gz)
install=$pkgname.install
url="http://sourceforge.net/projects/realtime-lsm"

build() {
  [ -f /etc/abs/abs.conf ] && . /etc/abs/abs.conf
  cd $startdir/src/$pkgname-$pkgver
  # sed -i "s:CONFIG_SECURITY_CAPABILITIES=m:CONFIG_SECURITY_CAPABILITIES=y:" Makefile
  make KERNEL_DIR=$ABSROOT/kernels/kernel26/src/linux-2.6.11.4
  make INSTALL_MOD_PATH=$startdir/pkg modules_install 
    -C /usr/src/linux-`uname -r` SUBDIRS=`pwd`
}

The realtime-lsm.install file

# arg 1:  the new package version
post_install() {
  depmod -a
}

# arg 1:  the new package version
# arg 2:  the old package version
post_upgrade() {
  post_install $1
}

# arg 1:  the old package version
post_remove() {
  depmod -a
}

op=$1
shift
$op $*

compile and install. As with every kernelmodule, this must be done with
every new kernel release. I know that sucks.

Invoke the module by:

modprobe realtime gid=92

Now, all users in group 92 (audio) can request realtime from the kernel.

As a side note, the kernel does not load the capability module on request.
Some servers, vsftpd eg., do need it to run properly. Once you load
realtime it automatically loads capability too. But if you forget, it might
cause some strange side effects.

-neri

Offline

#15 2005-03-22 16:17:13

filoktetes
Member
From: Skien, Norway
Registered: 2003-12-29
Posts: 286

Re: Rosegarden/JACK configuration?

If you want to use the soundblaster for midi, you'll have to load the
soundfont into the card to get any sound from it.
I use 'aloadsfx' command for alsa or else 'loadsfx' command from
the awesfx package to do this.
Then you need the actual soundfont. I saw there was a link earlier here,
and here's another one: ftp://ftp.lysator.liu.se/pub/awe32/soundfonts/

I like the 8RealGS20

My pkgbuild for awesfx is here: (there's probably other ones around also)

# Contributor: Robert Emil Berge <robert@rebi.no>

pkgname=awesfx
pkgver=0.5.0d
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="Programs for controlling the AWE32 and Emu101k driver"
source=(http://www.alsa-project.org/~iwai/$pkgname-$pkgver.tar.gz)
url="http://www.alsa-project.org/~iwai/awedrv.html"
depends=('alsa-lib')
md5sums=('c258e52dd67a41fc20a31d25836c7256')
build() {
        cd $startdir/src/$pkgname-$pkgver
        ./configure --prefix=/usr
        make || return 1
        make prefix=$startdir/pkg/usr install
       }

Offline

#16 2005-03-23 16:47:13

thegnu
Member
From: Brooklyn, NY
Registered: 2004-05-04
Posts: 280
Website

Re: Rosegarden/JACK configuration?

reb wrote:

If you want to use the soundblaster for midi, you'll have to load the
soundfont into the card to get any sound from it.

OK,  thanks for the resources!  I have a soundblaster live in my computer as well, so I'll check that out, but I'm a little confused...

Is loading the soundfont on the card necessary for capturing midi via the gameport?  Or is it just for midi playback?  Both are important, I just don't know where the line is drawn.


fffft!

Offline

#17 2005-03-23 18:52:38

filoktetes
Member
From: Skien, Norway
Registered: 2003-12-29
Posts: 286

Re: Rosegarden/JACK configuration?

thegnu wrote:

Is loading the soundfont on the card necessary for capturing midi via the gameport?  Or is it just for midi playback?  Both are important, I just don't know where the line is drawn.

It's just for playback. I remember capturing midi from the gameport, it shouldn't be very difficult to get it to work.

Offline

#18 2005-03-25 16:41:40

thegnu
Member
From: Brooklyn, NY
Registered: 2004-05-04
Posts: 280
Website

Re: Rosegarden/JACK configuration?

reb wrote:

It's just for playback. I remember capturing midi from the gameport, it shouldn't be very difficult to get it to work.

What about for Unfrozen Caveman Computer Technician?   big_smile

"I don't really understand your computers.  Sometimes, the blinking lights and beeps make me want to... take off my handsfree device and run out of my cubicle into the woods"

(it's from a saturday night live sketch, Unfrozen Caveman Lawyer)


fffft!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB