You are not logged in.

#1 2010-03-31 09:38:40

florut
Member
Registered: 2008-02-14
Posts: 32
Website

Asus UL30VT issues

Hi guys,

I've an UL30VT since 6 weeks.
I'm since fighting to get backlight support (other than setpci command line) and turning off nvidia card on ArchLinux (+ KDE + krnl 2.6.33 (same issues with 2.6.32)
I tried several times all the tricks proposed on the launchpad page.

1/ Concerning backlight issue:
- only manual setpci command line works, not keyboard shortcuts neither power daemons tools.
-

xrandr --output LVDS1 --set BACKLIGHT_CONTROL legacy
# xrandr --output LVDS1 --set BACKLIGHT_CONTROL legacy
X Error of failed request:  BadName (named color or font does not exist)                                                                               
  Major opcode of failed request:  150 (RANDR)                                                                                                         
  Minor opcode of failed request:  11 (RRQueryOutputProperty)                                                                                          
  Serial number of failed request:  27                                                                                                                 
  Current serial number in output stream:  27

- xbacklight is not available on this system
- I have no asus-related script in /etc/acpi folder (such as asus-brn-down.sh)

$  ls /etc/acpi -la
total 28                                                                                                                                               
drwxr-xr-x  4 root root  4096 17.03.2010 20:03 ./                                                                                                      
drwxr-xr-x 90 root root 12288 31.03.2010 11:13 ../
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root  4096 17.03.2010 19:31 actions/
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root  4096 17.03.2010 20:03 events/
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root root  1875 19.02.2010 11:01 handler.sh*

2/ Concerning hybrid nvidia:
- Impossible to switch this off, "lspci | grep VGA" will always display my card, no matter the nvidia_g210m_acpi module is running or not (2.6.32 and 2.6.33).

$  sudo lspci | grep VGA                                                                                                       
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 0a74 (rev ff)

3/ Touchpad auto switch off
I've never found any suitable solution for switching off touchpad automatically on mouse plug-in.

Had someones managed to solve this problem anyhow ?


Using Chakra [core, community, extra, kdemod-core, kdemod-extragear, kdemod-playground, archlinuxfr]
ASUS UL30VT - Core2Duo SU7300 (x64) @1,3Ghz + GM45 Express (hybrid, GeForce G210M disabled)

Offline

#2 2010-04-03 08:29:45

Vincent_
Member
Registered: 2010-04-03
Posts: 1

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

Hello, i have an ul30vt since 2 week,
like you i can't change the backlight, i can't switch off the wireless card and the touchpad,
i've tried to compile the kernel 2.6.34  with switch hybird card support but it appears that the nvidia card can be switch ON for optimus, i have some artefacts on the screen with the xf86-video-intel driver you too?

Sorry for my english, i'm french smile

Last edited by Vincent_ (2010-04-03 08:33:18)

Offline

#3 2010-05-14 14:24:01

torpe23
Member
From: Paris, France
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 22

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

hi guys,

1/ if you want acpi scripts, you may want to install aur/acpi-support. However, concerning your backlight issue, you can just add the support yourself in /etc/acpi/handler.sh. In the top "case" (for example, one line before "*)", add the following:

  hotkey)
        event="$2"\ "$3"
        case "$event" in
            "ATKD 0000002"*)
            acpi_fakekey $KEY_BRIGHTNESSDOWN
            brightness=`echo $3 | sed 's/0000002//'`
            setpci -s 00:02.0 F4.B=${brightness}f
            ;;
            "ATKD 0000001"*)
            acpi_fakekey $KEY_BRIGHTNESSUP
            brightness=`echo $3 | sed 's/0000001//'`
            setpci -s 00:02.0 F4.B=${brightness}f
            ;;
        esac
        ;;

Now, you can use the extra keys for controlling brightness!

2/ concerning the switch off of the nvidia card, I may have already answer in the comment of my aur/nvidia-g210m-acpi package. Here is the explanation:

To see if it's working, you have several ways:
- 'lsmod | grep nvidia' : you should see the module loaded
- 'dmesg| grep nvidia' : you should see "kill_nvidia: disabled the discrete graphics card"
- 'cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/state' : you should have a "present rate" lower than ~15000 mW  (you must run on battery to see that: with the ac adapter, the present rate is null).

3/ concerning the touchpad, I see you have launched another forum thread. I will answer in it.

Offline

#4 2010-05-15 15:58:53

florut
Member
Registered: 2008-02-14
Posts: 32
Website

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

Thanks a lot torpe,
The buttons works like a charm, but I used the code you provided in the touchpad thread.

I'll start a wiki thread for the UL30VT as soon as I get 15 mins to do it!

2/ concerning the switch off of the nvidia card, I may have already answer in the comment of my aur/nvidia-g210m-acpi package. Here is the explanation:

To see if it's working, you have several ways:
- 'lsmod | grep nvidia' : you should see the module loaded
- 'dmesg| grep nvidia' : you should see "kill_nvidia: disabled the discrete graphics card"
- 'cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/state' : you should have a "present rate" lower than ~15000 mW  (you must run on battery to see that: with the ac adapter, the present rate is null).

Thnks to clear things up. I hadn't notice the 3rd command which is clear, that one (I'm at about 10000mW level)


Using Chakra [core, community, extra, kdemod-core, kdemod-extragear, kdemod-playground, archlinuxfr]
ASUS UL30VT - Core2Duo SU7300 (x64) @1,3Ghz + GM45 Express (hybrid, GeForce G210M disabled)

Offline

#5 2010-06-15 23:59:30

danij3l
Member
From: Osijek, Croatia
Registered: 2007-12-08
Posts: 36

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

can someone please check if HDMI is working with linux (considering that we have no way to use G210m)

i'm considering buying this fine piece of machinery big_smile

P.S. florut -  how about that wiki page ? wink

Offline

#6 2010-06-16 07:48:58

KlavKalashj
Member
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 362

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

I got backlight working perfectly on Asus UL30a, it should be the same. I use grub from ubuntu and set standard parameter to  acpi_backlight=vendor. Then it works fine. Looks like this for me: GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash acpi_backlight=vendor ipv6.disable=1 resume=/dev/sda6"

That is on grub2, I guess you can interprete it and translate for grub1.


to danij3l: hdmi works fine for me too, both audio and video. This is with intel card though, don't know about nvidia.

Offline

#7 2010-06-16 09:57:00

danij3l
Member
From: Osijek, Croatia
Registered: 2007-12-08
Posts: 36

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

KlavKalashj wrote:

to danij3l: hdmi works fine for me too, both audio and video. This is with intel card though, don't know about nvidia.

hhmm, but that is machine with only intel graphic, all problems with graphic on UL30VT come from it being hybrid solution. just hope there is a way to activate HDMI on linux because i plan to use it on large monitor.

Offline

#8 2010-06-16 12:05:00

florut
Member
Registered: 2008-02-14
Posts: 32
Website

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

danij3l wrote:

can someone please check if HDMI is working with linux (considering that we have no way to use G210m)

i'm considering buying this fine piece of machinery big_smile

I tried and did not work out-of the-box, but had no time to go further (I don't own any tv set !! wink


P.S. florut -  how about that wiki page ? wink

This will come... sometimes ;-)
I


Using Chakra [core, community, extra, kdemod-core, kdemod-extragear, kdemod-playground, archlinuxfr]
ASUS UL30VT - Core2Duo SU7300 (x64) @1,3Ghz + GM45 Express (hybrid, GeForce G210M disabled)

Offline

#9 2010-07-07 00:32:38

danij3l
Member
From: Osijek, Croatia
Registered: 2007-12-08
Posts: 36

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

hda-intel: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0000
hda-intel: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0000
hda-intel: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0000
hda-intel: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0000
hda-intel: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0000
hda-intel: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0000
hda-intel: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0000
hda-intel: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0000
hda-intel: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0000
hda-intel: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0000
hda-intel: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0000
hda-intel: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0000
hda-intel: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0000
hda-intel: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0000
hda-intel: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0000
hda-intel: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0000
hda-intel: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0000
hda-intel: spurious response 0x0:0x0, last cmd=0x0f0000
hda_intel: azx_get_response timeout, switching to single_cmd mode: last cmd=0x000f0001
hda-intel: no codecs initialized
HDA Intel 0000:01:00.1: PCI INT A disabled
atl1c 0000:04:00.0: irq 32 for MSI/MSI-X
atl1c 0000:04:00.0: atl1c: eth0 NIC Link is Up<100 Mbps Full Duplex>
vgaarb: device changed decodes: PCI:0000:00:02.0,olddecodes=io+mem,decodes=none:owns=io+mem
vgaarb: transferring owner from PCI:0000:00:02.0 to PCI:0000:01:00.0
NET: Registered protocol family 10
lo: Disabled Privacy Extensions
eth0: no IPv6 routers present

what is correct codec? (to set in modprobe.conf). this problem couses 5-10 sec delay on boot. rather annoying


also i get this very wierd boot problem, kernel (at least i thing that is kernel) spits out this full screen of mumbo jumbo (must take photo once) and only solution is to hold pwr btn until laptop shuts off and on next boot goes without a problem. anyone had similar problem? (i know there is no much info to go on, but pls req what u need wink )

EDIT:
here are few photos of this second boot problem:
15654553725524054429_thumb.png06083578621534357789_thumb.png52780339728033461438_thumb.png

Last edited by danij3l (2010-07-12 12:37:06)

Offline

#10 2010-07-14 10:06:58

danij3l
Member
From: Osijek, Croatia
Registered: 2007-12-08
Posts: 36

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

BUMP

anyone?

Offline

#11 2010-08-29 21:06:45

torpe23
Member
From: Paris, France
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 22

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

I got both the same problem as you: the hda-intel errors, and sometimes (it's quite rare though) the kernel gets stuck at boot.

Offline

#12 2010-08-29 21:30:58

danij3l
Member
From: Osijek, Croatia
Registered: 2007-12-08
Posts: 36

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

ty for replying, so it's not the way i do things smile
did u try any other distro? (ubuntu, fedora or whatever)
pls post back here if u solve problem(s)

@florut (or someone else with ul30vt wink ), can u pls confirm or deny that this is happening in your case?

Last edited by danij3l (2010-08-29 21:34:21)

Offline

#13 2010-08-30 03:05:02

insulae
Member
From: Sgo del Estero - Argentina
Registered: 2007-06-08
Posts: 52
Website

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

I Have the UL80VT-A1 and i have a problem, i am using nvidia_g210m_acpi  to disable nvidia card, work perfectly (5.5~8.8W power usage).
But if the notebook go to suspend and then back, the nvidia is UP again (more than 10W power usage), I solve this problem doing:

rmmod nvidia_g210m_acpi
modprobe nvidia_g210m_acpi

After that everything work great again, NO nvidia power consumption. But if the notebook go to suspend again FAIL, freezing the laptop. Any solution for this problem?

THANKS! (With nvidia_g210m_acpi I have 10 hours of battery [8cells x 5200mAh] yeaaa!!)

Offline

#14 2010-08-30 07:25:19

torpe23
Member
From: Paris, France
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 22

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

@insulae: are you sure you use the last version available in AUR ? Cause I added the support for killing the nvidia after suspend, and for me, it works fine. After resuming, dmesg tells me :

/tmp/yaourt-tmp-joel/aur-nvidia-g210m-acpi/src/nvidia_g210m_acpi.c: post suspend
kill_nvidia: disabled the discrete graphics card

I didn't understand the last part of your post though. You say the suspend fails when you try to do it again ? I don't think I had such a problem with my laptop..

Offline

#15 2010-08-30 11:25:57

insulae
Member
From: Sgo del Estero - Argentina
Registered: 2007-06-08
Posts: 52
Website

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

torpe23 wrote:

@insulae: are you sure you use the last version available in AUR ? Cause I added the support for killing the nvidia after suspend, and for me, it works fine.

Ok! i updated to the kernel 2.6.35.4-1 and i compiled again nvidia-g210m-acpi and now I don't need rmmod modprobe the nvidia_g210m_acpi and now i can suspend more than once without fail!!!

Thanks torpe23

I am confused with my battery data, is a 8cells x 4400mAh, I use Archlinux with openbox + tint2 + conky and I mount /tmp and /var/log to RAM:
none            /tmp            tmpfs   defaults                0       0
none            /var/log        tmpfs   defaults                0       0

with this i have not much HD activity and my battery reaches 10 hours more than Windows 7. I like so much this laptop is working now perfectly with Linux big_smile.

I only need one thing, taking the CPU to 1.7Ghz like the Asus turbo33 under  Windows.anyone knows how to do this?

Offline

#16 2010-08-30 11:45:18

torpe23
Member
From: Paris, France
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 22

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

For enabling the turbo33 technology, I don't know... I searched a bit on google but found nothing interesting..

For the nvidia_g210m_acpi module, I should add a /etc/rc.d/nvidia_g210m_acpi script (such as with virtualbox to recompile vboxdrv modules) for recompiling the module when needed (typically after installing a new kernel version). I'll do that soon wink

To continue sharing the knowledge/problems, here both the last problems I face with my UL30vt:
- the hdmi output doesn't work. I'm not sure but I think this output may be controlled by the nvidia card and not the intel integrated chip.. Since my nvidia card is disabled, and I use only the intel graphic chip, it may be normal it's not working..
- the backlight control doesn't work out of the box. I still use /etc/acpi/handler.sh to intercept acpi event (when pressing the backlight keys on the keyboard) and to send specific command (with setpci)..

Offline

#17 2010-08-30 13:01:34

insulae
Member
From: Sgo del Estero - Argentina
Registered: 2007-06-08
Posts: 52
Website

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

torpe23 wrote:

For enabling the turbo33 technology, I don't know... I searched a bit on google but found nothing interesting..

yes! me to :@.

torpe23 wrote:

For the nvidia_g210m_acpi module, I should add a /etc/rc.d/nvidia_g210m_acpi script (such as with virtualbox to recompile vboxdrv modules) for recompiling the module when needed (typically after installing a new kernel version). I'll do that soon ;)

Good improvement, but we can wait :D.

torpe23 wrote:

To continue sharing the knowledge/problems, here both the last problems I face with my UL30vt:
- the hdmi output doesn't work. I'm not sure but I think this output may be controlled by the nvidia card and not the intel integrated chip.. Since my nvidia card is disabled, and I use only the intel graphic chip, it may be normal it's not working..

I don't have any HDMI TV to probe, but i think just like you, the HDMI is controlled by the nvidia chipset, because this:

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 0a74 (rev ff)
01:00.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation High Definition Audio Controller (rev ff)

the 01:00.1 Audio device is the HDMI audio, what makes me think that the HDMI is only available for the nvidia card.

torpe23 wrote:

- the backlight control doesn't work out of the box. I still use /etc/acpi/handler.sh to intercept acpi event (when pressing the backlight keys on the keyboard) and to send specific command (with setpci)..

I don't like this patch because you have a delay and is annoying to me, I make this UGLY script but is working for me :D:

#!/bin/sh
# /usr/bin/uglyBrPatch

BRT=`setpci -s 00:02.0 F4.B | cut -c1-1`
if [ "$1" == "up" ];then
        # maximum brightness ?
        if [ "$BRT" == "f" ];then
                exit
        fi

        # UP brightness 
        BRTNEW=$(( $BRT + 1 ))

        # "HEXA PATCH"
        if [ "$BRTNEW" == "10" ];then
                BRTNEW=f
        fi

        # apply new brightness
        setpci -s 00:02.0 F4.B=${BRTNEW}f
fi

if [ "$1" == "down" ];then

        # "HEXA PATCH"
        if [ "$BRT" == "f" ];then
                BRT=10
        fi

        # UP brightness 
        BRTNEW=$(( $BRT - 1 ))

        # apply new brightness
        setpci -s 00:02.0 F4.B=${BRTNEW}f
fi

then I add to openbox shortcuts (.config/openbox/rc.xml OR using obkey) OR search for your WM shortcuts:

   <keybind key="XF86MonBrightnessDown">
      <action name="Execute">
        <command>sudo uglyBrPatch down</command>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="XF86MonBrightnessUp">
      <action name="Execute">
        <command>sudo uglyBrPatch up</command>
      </action>
    </keybind>

finally add to /etc/sudoers the next line (my user is in wheel group):
%wheel ALL=NOPASSWD: /usr/bin/uglyBrPatch

Offline

#18 2010-08-30 13:43:10

torpe23
Member
From: Paris, France
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 22

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

I'm quite surprised your "ugly" script to be faster than acpi event.. Acpi is indeed handled by the kernel, or at least not far from the kernel. On the contrary, with your solution, the key event must go all the way up to the WM (in your case openbox), that is passing through much more software layers than with acpi only.. Moreover, I see you must retrieve the current brightness level in your script (with one additionnal setpci command, at the beginning), while with acpi, the level is directly given by the event number, which should be faster..
Anyway, for me, handling the backlight directly with acpi event causes no noticeable delay..

Apart from that, I'm beginning to think we should make a wiki page about the asus ulx0vt series, to centralize and share all our knowledge.. (Florut mentionned this a while ago, but it seems he didn't do it)

Offline

#19 2010-09-10 15:09:18

torpe23
Member
From: Paris, France
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 22

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

Hi all,
Just an info you will most certainly enjoy as much as I do. I've found a icc color profile of the AsusUL30VT, that will make your screen display the best colors possible ! The profile is to download at http://img1.focus-numerique.com/focus/p … UL30Vt.icc
Then, you need to install the "argyllcms" package from AUR. This package contains the "dispwin" tool, which is able to load a icc profile onto the graphic card. I made a script which KDE loads when booting. Here is the script :

#!/bin/bash

## Load color profile for ASUS UL30vt

# get the screen number (in case of multi-head)
SCREEN_NO=`dispwin -d 2>&1 | grep LVDS1 | awk '{print $1}'`
# load icc
dispwin -d $SCREEN_NO /path/to/asus_ul30vt.icc

Enjoy wink

Offline

#20 2010-09-10 22:39:33

danij3l
Member
From: Osijek, Croatia
Registered: 2007-12-08
Posts: 36

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

torpe23 wrote:

Hi all,
Just an info you will most certainly enjoy as much as I do. I've found a icc color profile of the AsusUL30VT, that will make your screen display the best colors possible ! The profile is to download at http://img1.focus-numerique.com/focus/p … UL30Vt.icc


can u pls reupload profile. link is broken

EDIT: i can help out with wiki as soon as exams are over (middle of november)

EDIT2: here is a backup link to icc profile
http://www.etfos.hr/~dslunjsk/Asus%20UL30Vt.icc

Last edited by danij3l (2010-09-11 08:56:07)

Offline

#21 2010-09-11 02:41:46

insulae
Member
From: Sgo del Estero - Argentina
Registered: 2007-06-08
Posts: 52
Website

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

confirmed is broken tongue. the color is not a problem for me but i want to try big_smile.

Offline

#22 2010-09-11 08:49:21

torpe23
Member
From: Paris, France
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 22

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

FYI, I'm not hosting the file myself, so I can't do anything to solve this broken link.. Yet, the link seems to work again, so enjoy it.

Offline

#23 2010-09-11 13:56:55

insulae
Member
From: Sgo del Estero - Argentina
Registered: 2007-06-08
Posts: 52
Website

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

torpe23 I want to create a icc profile, i like your solution but...
"the original": white color is a little blue
"your profile": white color is a little brown

You know how to create it?

Another cuestion you know how to restore the original profile without restart X?.

Thanks for sharing with us big_smile.

Offline

#24 2010-09-11 14:06:18

torpe23
Member
From: Paris, France
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 22

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

insulae wrote:

torpe23 I want to create a icc profile, i like your solution but...
"the original": white color is a little blue
"your profile": white color is a little brown

You know how to create it?

Another cuestion you know how to restore the original profile without restart X?.

Thanks for sharing with us big_smile.

According to the website which provides the icc profile, it is created from a professional colorimeter, so I suppose the colors are really perfect. Thus, even if the profile may indeed seem a bit brown, it is normal, we are just not used to it wink

Apart from that, I have no idea how to restore the vanilla profile. Though I think you can save the profile currently loaded with dispwin, before loading another one.

Finally, I know there are software to create icc profile on linux, but without colorimeter, it is made only with your eyes and the result is thus very subjective.

Offline

#25 2010-09-11 19:37:36

insulae
Member
From: Sgo del Estero - Argentina
Registered: 2007-06-08
Posts: 52
Website

Re: Asus UL30VT issues

torpe23 wrote:

According to the website which provides the icc profile, it is created from a professional colorimeter, so I suppose the colors are really perfect. Thus, even if the profile may indeed seem a bit brown, it is normal, we are just not used to it wink

neutral wow, I'll try a couple of days to see if I get used and then compare it with the vanilla.
Thanks for the info

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB