You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-22 22:39:33

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

gnome-volume-manager equivalent, that doesnt use gnome.

Hey,
I googled a bit, but havnt been able to find an equivalent to Gnome-volume-manager that uses dbus and hal and doesn't use gnome or kde libs.

I dont want subfs or supermount or a kernel based implementation

Anyone know one?

Offline

#2 2005-03-22 22:42:30

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: gnome-volume-manager equivalent, that doesnt use gnome.

ok, just found ivman, http://ivman.sourceforge.net/ will give it a shot.

Offline

#3 2005-03-22 23:56:03

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: gnome-volume-manager equivalent, that doesnt use gnome.

this is a thing that I also am interested in,
if you get it to work you can post the sollution here,


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#4 2005-03-23 13:47:57

zeppelin
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2004-03-05
Posts: 807
Website

Re: gnome-volume-manager equivalent, that doesnt use gnome.

galsamixer [i believe a gtk app]

Offline

#5 2005-03-23 23:58:29

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: gnome-volume-manager equivalent, that doesnt use gnome.

gnome-volume-manager isnt for audio volume, its the cool thingy that works with hal and dbus and does automatic mounting of drives and the like.

Offline

#6 2005-03-24 02:00:43

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: gnome-volume-manager equivalent, that doesnt use gnome.

ivman seems to work good, mounts stuff well.

pacman -S ivman

then go to /etc/ivman/ and take the .defaults off all the filenames - the defaults seem to work. Customize them if you wish, they arent too hard to understand

Offline

#7 2005-03-24 03:36:07

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: gnome-volume-manager equivalent, that doesnt use gnome.

     <ivm:Match name="ivm.mountable" value="true"> 
         <ivm:Option name="mount" value="true" /> 
         <ivm:Option name="exec" value="/opt/kde/bin/konqueror $hal.volume.mount_point$" /> 
     </ivm:Match>

add that to configActions if you want mounted media to automatically open up in konqueror. wink

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB