You are not logged in.

#26 2010-05-18 10:35:06

Extrover
Member
From: Stockholm
Registered: 2010-04-22
Posts: 25
Website

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

Great job, seeding.


If we knew what it was we were doing, it would not be called research, would it?
Albert Einstein
My Blog

Offline

#27 2010-05-18 11:31:36

brain0
Developer
From: Aachen - Germany
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 1,382

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

wollew wrote:

I know, but if there is no internet connection, i.e.  when using as a rescue system ?
Would it be possible, to add programs myself ? Can you describe the way to do this ? Looking into the iso, i guess those additions should be added to the appropriate sqfs-file (core-pkgs.sqfs?)

Recreating an own ISO with the appropriate configuration changed might be a bit easier. If you want to modify the existing image, the correct sqfs file to change is root-image.sqfs.

On USB volumes, you can simply copy the package file to the file system and pacman -U /bootmnt/.... at runtime.

Offline

#28 2010-05-18 12:18:45

kgas
Member
From: Qatar
Registered: 2008-11-08
Posts: 718

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

downloading. To transfer to usb little work is required. will there be .img file?

Offline

#29 2010-05-18 12:20:10

hokasch
Member
Registered: 2007-09-23
Posts: 1,461

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

No, just copy the iso to usb:

* all iso files can now be burned onto CD's as well as written to media like usb sticks (isohybrid)

Thanks! Great work. Altough I am missing the "play spaceinvaders" feature... <off filing a bug report for a pacman clone to be included next release>

Last edited by hokasch (2010-05-18 12:49:01)

Offline

#30 2010-05-18 12:38:43

thestinger
Trusted User (TU)
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 478

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

these are great! thanks

seeding big_smile

Offline

#31 2010-05-18 13:18:17

boy90
Member
From: EGYPT
Registered: 2009-06-08
Posts: 2

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

gr8 job guys
Seeding
Keep it up arch is the Top wink


Microsoft Just gives you windows Linux gives you the whole house | proud to be GNU/LINUX user | Arch i686 |Fluxbox 1.1.1 | screenshot | be Free big_smile

Offline

#32 2010-05-18 14:50:48

هاشم
Member
From: Algeria
Registered: 2010-04-23
Posts: 30
Website

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

wow , looks great.  thanks


الناس رجلان : رجل نام في النور، و رجل استيقظ في الظلام!!
فاين انت منهما ؟؟؟

archlinux x86_64 | مجتمع لينكس العربي

Offline

#33 2010-05-18 15:56:13

MkFly
Member
From: Mars
Registered: 2009-12-10
Posts: 141

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

What luck, I was planning on installing Arch Linux on a currently-unused laptop today.  And the dual-images are very appreciated, as is the ability to write the ISO to a flash drive.  One image is all I'll need.

Luckily I have a mirror very, very close by. smile

Offline

#34 2010-05-18 16:09:09

32idea
Member
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 4

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

It's very good ! Thanks !

Offline

#35 2010-05-18 17:51:29

kgas
Member
From: Qatar
Registered: 2008-11-08
Posts: 718

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

is there any way to partition a 4GB usb in such a way that at least 1.5 GB for some data (scripts/config files etc) and remaining for Arch iso?  (I could not succeed with dd / unetbootin. dd with the whole usb (/dev/sdc) works fine. Since the file system is read only I could not create directory as an alternate option) . Thanks

Offline

#36 2010-05-18 18:19:15

hokasch
Member
Registered: 2007-09-23
Posts: 1,461

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

Check the wiki again, I updated the instructions for Unetbootin earlier today wink

Offline

#37 2010-05-18 20:00:18

MkFly
Member
From: Mars
Registered: 2009-12-10
Posts: 141

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

kgas wrote:

is there any way to partition a 4GB usb in such a way that at least 1.5 GB for some data (scripts/config files etc) and remaining for Arch iso?  (I could not succeed with dd / unetbootin. dd with the whole usb (/dev/sdc) works fine. Since the file system is read only I could not create directory as an alternate option) . Thanks

I just put the new ISO on a 1GB microSD card: I dd'd the image to the card (erased everything), then created a new partition with the free space on the card via cfdisk, and formatted with mkfs.ext2.  Works great.

Last edited by MkFly (2010-05-19 16:53:45)

Offline

#38 2010-05-19 04:09:19

corvolino
Member
From: Bahia - Brasil
Registered: 2009-04-12
Posts: 13
Website

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

thanks arch linux team =d


archlinux i686

Offline

#39 2010-05-19 04:39:31

kgas
Member
From: Qatar
Registered: 2008-11-08
Posts: 718

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

thanks MkFly to share this. This is much more easier than other methods. Earlier I tried to resize using gparted but the partition is not correctly detected.
  -the written image on fdisk shows the file system as HPFS/NTFS and is hidden. df -T shows udf  (for the record)

Last edited by kgas (2010-05-19 08:34:14)

Offline

#40 2010-05-19 06:20:03

sand_man
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2008-06-10
Posts: 2,164

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

I was seeding until rtorrent crashed (stuck process) so I rebooted my server (remotely) and now it hasn't come back up sad
Now I have to drag a monitor out to find out why it won't boot tongue

Other than that, good job big_smile

Last edited by sand_man (2010-05-19 06:20:19)


neutral

Offline

#41 2010-05-19 14:09:23

n0dix
Member
Registered: 2009-09-22
Posts: 956

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

Excellent work. Thanks to developers and community.

Cheers.

Offline

#42 2010-05-19 17:19:57

nullset1
Member
Registered: 2010-05-19
Posts: 1

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

awesome job, thanks to all the devs.  seeding!

Offline

#43 2010-05-19 18:01:48

JohannesSM64
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 623
Website

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

Thanks a lot, especially for the AIF bug fixes. Downloaded some of the ISOs, seeding what I can.

Offline

#44 2010-05-20 11:30:59

brain0
Developer
From: Aachen - Germany
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 1,382

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

MkFly wrote:
kgas wrote:

is there any way to partition a 4GB usb in such a way that at least 1.5 GB for some data (scripts/config files etc) and remaining for Arch iso?  (I could not succeed with dd / unetbootin. dd with the whole usb (/dev/sdc) works fine. Since the file system is read only I could not create directory as an alternate option) . Thanks

I just put the new ISO on a 1GB microSD card: I dd'd the image to the card (erased everything), then created a new partition with the free space on the card via cfdisk, and formatted with mkfs.ext2.  Works great.

Great idea. I bought a new 8GB "SuperTalent Pico", dd'ed the netinstall onto it and created a FAT32 for the rest.

The only problem is: When updating to a new snapshot, you have to back up all contents of the drive and start from scratch. Other than that, the solution is elegant.

Offline

#45 2010-05-20 22:16:21

charlieapples
Member
Registered: 2010-03-28
Posts: 16

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

Brilliant work!
Everything runs perfectly, you can all go home now ...:D

Offline

#46 2010-05-20 22:35:56

brain0
Developer
From: Aachen - Germany
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 1,382

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

brain0 wrote:
MkFly wrote:
kgas wrote:

is there any way to partition a 4GB usb in such a way that at least 1.5 GB for some data (scripts/config files etc) and remaining for Arch iso?  (I could not succeed with dd / unetbootin. dd with the whole usb (/dev/sdc) works fine. Since the file system is read only I could not create directory as an alternate option) . Thanks

I just put the new ISO on a 1GB microSD card: I dd'd the image to the card (erased everything), then created a new partition with the free space on the card via cfdisk, and formatted with mkfs.ext2.  Works great.

Great idea. I bought a new 8GB "SuperTalent Pico", dd'ed the netinstall onto it and created a FAT32 for the rest.

The only problem is: When updating to a new snapshot, you have to back up all contents of the drive and start from scratch. Other than that, the solution is elegant.

Bad news everyone: Windows does not recognize the extra partition. Of course, it works fine on Linux, but I can't exchange data with people who have Windows. I'll look into fixing that.

Offline

#47 2010-05-21 00:27:50

firecat53
Member
From: Sammamish, Wa
Registered: 2007-05-14
Posts: 1,447
Website

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

You have to put flash drive partitions first that will be recognized by Windows...that's how my larch USB drive is setup: fat32--ext2, with ext2 being bootable.

Scott

Offline

#48 2010-05-21 02:36:24

MkFly
Member
From: Mars
Registered: 2009-12-10
Posts: 141

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

brain0 wrote:

Bad news everyone: Windows does not recognize the extra partition. Of course, it works fine on Linux, but I can't exchange data with people who have Windows. I'll look into fixing that.

Hmm, I guess I should have mentioned that, I was aware of it.  But I wasn't aware we were going for Windows compatibility here. smile

For me though, it's a non-issue: I rarely use Windows at all anymore, and in any case, this is just a 1GB card just for the Arch installer, and some scripts, modules, PKGBUILDS, etc.  I have other flash drives if I need to talk to Windows.

I'm not an expert on partition tables by any means, but if making the Arch image sdx2 and putting the new partition as sdx1 is possible, Windows should be able to read/write to the data partition, and ignore the Arch partition.

Last edited by MkFly (2010-05-21 04:11:01)

Offline

#49 2010-05-21 09:53:26

hokasch
Member
Registered: 2007-09-23
Posts: 1,461

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

might not be as elegant, but should work:

1. Make two partitions, one for arch install iso and one for data
2. format the first one and give it the correct label (e.g. ARCH_201005)
2. install the arch iso onto the first partition with Unetbootin
4 done

In case you want to change the arch installer release, just repeat from step 2 with the new iso.

ps: ohh, not sure how you can get access to the packages with unetbootin + core isos. always use netinstall...

Last edited by hokasch (2010-05-21 09:57:14)

Offline

#50 2010-05-21 20:33:36

brain0
Developer
From: Aachen - Germany
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 1,382

Re: 2010.05 snapshots. Less is more.

MkFly wrote:
brain0 wrote:

Bad news everyone: Windows does not recognize the extra partition. Of course, it works fine on Linux, but I can't exchange data with people who have Windows. I'll look into fixing that.

Hmm, I guess I should have mentioned that, I was aware of it.  But I wasn't aware we were going for Windows compatibility here. smile

For me though, it's a non-issue: I rarely use Windows at all anymore, and in any case, this is just a 1GB card just for the Arch installer, and some scripts, modules, PKGBUILDS, etc.  I have other flash drives if I need to talk to Windows.

I'm not an expert on partition tables by any means, but if making the Arch image sdx2 and putting the new partition as sdx1 is possible, Windows should be able to read/write to the data partition, and ignore the Arch partition.

Apparently, the partition table isohybrid uses is too weird for Windows

I just created a normal partition table with one 340MB ext2 and one vfat partition for the rest. I renamed isolinux.cfg to extlinux.conf, removed isolinux.bin and installed extlinux (according to the syslinux wiki) to the correct directory. Then I wrote the syslinux mbr to the drive, marked the first partition as active and voilà, it works. I didn't test it with Windows yet, but my guess is it will work now.

EDIT: Okay, Windows now recognizes the partitions properly, but is still too stupid to handle them. It didn't recognize the vfat file system on the second partition, so I told it to format it, and it ended up formatting the first partition. I will make this work, somehow.

EDIT2: It works when you ensure that the first partition is the one Windows is supposed to read, and the second one is the ext2 one. Windows sucks that way (even Windows 7 is too stupid to do it right).

Last edited by brain0 (2010-05-21 23:27:13)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB