You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-23 14:56:12

surfer_rosa
Member
From: Glasgow, UK
Registered: 2005-02-21
Posts: 43

KDE installed but doesn't exist!

Just after i fixed my previous problem i now have a problem with my windows manager of choice, KDE.

Now i had installed kde before and used it with the nv driver but now i can't use it at all.

I've recently done a

pacman -Syu

which upgraded all the kde packages. Now things like 'startkde' and 'konqueror' aren't available to run as commands

-bash: konqueror: command not found

but they still exist on the system:

locate -u
locate konqueror
/opt/kde/bin/konqueror
...

Any ideas what is going on?

Thanks in advance.

Offline

#2 2005-03-23 15:28:25

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Re: KDE installed but doesn't exist!

I didn't know you could run startkde directly, I thought it could only be executed once X was up and running.

For me, I have the following in my ~/.xinitrc

exec startkde

And then when I run 'startx' on the command line, it loads up X and then executes startkde for you.

Offline

#3 2005-03-23 19:32:36

smith
Member
From: Crescent City, CA
Registered: 2005-02-19
Posts: 77

Re: KDE installed but doesn't exist!

Is /opt/kde/bin in your PATH variable?


I have nothing to say, and I am saying it.

Offline

#4 2005-03-23 19:34:02

dadexter
Member
From: Dorval, QC, Canada
Registered: 2004-09-07
Posts: 274
Website

Re: KDE installed but doesn't exist!

log out then log back in... your shell needs to run /etc/profile.d/kde.sh

or you can do

. /etc/profile.d/kde.sh

Offline

#5 2005-03-23 20:27:28

surfer_rosa
Member
From: Glasgow, UK
Registered: 2005-02-21
Posts: 43

Re: KDE installed but doesn't exist!

A quick:

export PATH=/opt/kde/bin/:$PATH
export KDEDIR=/opt/kde

later and i'm alright again.

Thanks for your help guys.

Offline

#6 2005-03-23 20:48:02

dadexter
Member
From: Dorval, QC, Canada
Registered: 2004-09-07
Posts: 274
Website

Re: KDE installed but doesn't exist!

dadexter@celeborn:~$ cat /etc/profile.d/kde.sh
export KDEDIR=/opt/kde
export KDEDIRS=$KDEDIR:/usr
export PATH=$PATH:$KDEDIR/bin
...

Offline

#7 2005-03-24 00:58:04

sudman1
Member
From: Huntingdon, UK
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 143

Re: KDE installed but doesn't exist!

You can also:

source /etc/profile

instead of logging out/in


v/r
Suds

Offline

#8 2005-03-26 03:56:17

surfer_rosa
Member
From: Glasgow, UK
Registered: 2005-02-21
Posts: 43

Re: KDE installed but doesn't exist!

Meant to say - logging in and out didn't work - neither did restarting. Cheers.

Offline

#9 2005-03-26 11:08:47

puntmuts
Member
Registered: 2005-02-22
Posts: 138

Re: KDE installed but doesn't exist!

See the KDE Wiki document about upgrading KDE. Due to changes in the way packages are organized now, a normal upgrade will go wrong with this KDE version. You should first remove KDE/QT completely and install it then again.


Out / Gone
Mirgrating all my machines off ArchLinux . No longer part of the ArchLinux community / users .
Done. Goodbye.

Offline

#10 2005-03-26 16:02:02

neotuli
Lazy Developer
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2004-07-06
Posts: 1,201
Website

Re: KDE installed but doesn't exist!

I noticed this too, this is because for whatever reason, the profile script (kde.sh) didn't get installed when kde-common got upgraded. However, kde.csh did get installed. I looked up what the package supposedly has in it, and noticed that kde.sh is supposed to exists, so a quick reinstall (pacman -S kde-common) fixed it.

On a side note, this is not the only package that has done this recently, the new courier did this too. That is, on upgrade, some files are mysteriously not extracted, but a forced reinstall fixes it and installs them properly.


The suggestion box only accepts patches.

Offline

#11 2005-03-27 23:27:31

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: KDE installed but doesn't exist!

neotuli wrote:

On a side note, this is not the only package that has done this recently, the new courier did this too. That is, on upgrade, some files are mysteriously not extracted, but a forced reinstall fixes it and installs them properly.

This problem is caused by a pacman bug. KDE is one of the program that is affected.  Judd (Apeiro) posted a nice  explanation in the KDE 3.4 thread.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB