You are not logged in.

#26 2010-05-20 20:46:34

SkyTod
Member
Registered: 2009-09-01
Posts: 226

Re: [Solved] Segmentation fault

karol wrote:

> P.S. I added dbus to daemons list, but it doesn't help.
Did you put it in the front

DAEMONS=(dbus syslog-ng network netfs crond hal alsa httpd mysqld vsftpd)

Ok. I'll try it.

hokasch wrote:

Root doesn't have troubles with permissions.

Neither does your user, if you keep things like they are supposed to... AFAIK if you randomly run "user" programs as root, this can mess things up. Also, what profile is firefox using under root? Hopefully a different one than normal, or you'll end up with very weird permissions.

Firefox is example. I know about permissions quite enough. Thanks.

Offline

#27 2010-05-20 20:50:39

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: [Solved] Segmentation fault

> I know about permissions quite enough.
Oh boy ... Do yourself a favor and read up a bit. It ain't that hard.
Using root for everyday stuff is like drunk-driving a tank.

Offline

#28 2010-05-20 22:39:52

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: [Solved] Segmentation fault

May we ask what special software with a graphical interface you need to run as root?

I'm certain there is a better way to do it in the console.


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

#29 2010-05-21 12:15:28

SkyTod
Member
Registered: 2009-09-01
Posts: 226

Re: [Solved] Segmentation fault

moljac024 wrote:

May we ask what special software with a graphical interface you need to run as root?

It's my own software for editing mysql conf and some more functions.

My question is about running GUI from console. I have used it for a two years without any problems. But now it's broken down. I don't know anything about «Segmentation fault». I really need help!

Offline

#30 2010-05-21 12:31:42

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,941
Website

Re: [Solved] Segmentation fault

try to run okular for example in gdb

gdb okular
run
bt full

wait for the crash and then bt full. next paste the output here. also do the same thing with firefox (firefix might crash because of qtcurve-gtk2 http://bugs.archlinux.org/task/19479)


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#31 2010-05-21 13:01:26

SkyTod
Member
Registered: 2009-09-01
Posts: 226

Re: [Solved] Segmentation fault

gdb okular
GNU gdb (GDB) 7.1
Copyright (C) 2010 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "i686-pc-linux-gnu".
For bug reporting instructions, please see:
<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/bugs/>...
Reading symbols from /usr/bin/okular...(no debugging symbols found)...done.
(gdb) run
Starting program: /usr/bin/okular 
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0xb54b9b8b in gdk_x11_get_default_xdisplay () from /usr/lib/libgdk-x11-2.0.so.0
(gdb) bt full
#0  0xb54b9b8b in gdk_x11_get_default_xdisplay () from /usr/lib/libgdk-x11-2.0.so.0
No symbol table info available.
#1  0xb4e3454d in qtcurve_rc_style_init () from /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/engines/libqtcurve.so
No symbol table info available.
#2  0xb61f4ec9 in g_type_create_instance () from /usr/lib/libgobject-2.0.so.0
No symbol table info available.
#3  0xb61d43d5 in g_object_constructor () from /usr/lib/libgobject-2.0.so.0
No symbol table info available.
#4  0xb61d611f in g_object_newv () from /usr/lib/libgobject-2.0.so.0
No symbol table info available.
#5  0xb61d69c0 in g_object_new () from /usr/lib/libgobject-2.0.so.0
No symbol table info available.
#6  0xb4e578c6 in theme_create_rc_style () from /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/engines/libqtcurve.so
No symbol table info available.
#7  0xb56f6e3c in gtk_theme_engine_create_rc_style () from /usr/lib/libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0
No symbol table info available.
#8  0xb5674570 in gtk_rc_parse_any () from /usr/lib/libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0
---Type <return> to continue, or q <return> to quit---

I'm very grateful! Is it bug of qtcurve? As I undersand I have to turn off qtcurve, am i right?

Offline

#32 2010-05-21 16:03:45

demian
Member
From: Frankfurt, Germany
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 709

Re: [Solved] Segmentation fault

reinstall, upgrade or downgrade are your options.


no place like /home
github

Offline

#33 2010-05-21 16:12:26

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,941
Website

Re: [Solved] Segmentation fault

@SkyTod remove it and see if is works and you can downgrade to the previous version if that's the problem.


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#34 2010-05-21 16:17:59

Duologic
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2007-11-11
Posts: 249

Re: [Solved] Segmentation fault

It is probably not helping but you (SkyTod) do not know what you are doing. Please do not feel offended, I'm only trying to be helpful.

Follow these steps to fix your problem.
1. You probably should stop running GUI apps as root first. I don't know anyone who does that unless an expert that knows what 'Segmentation Fault' means (and how to solve it). And even then he/she won't do it.
2. Then find out why you run these apps under root == real problem.
3. Solve Real Problem

Last edited by Duologic (2010-05-21 16:20:20)

Offline

#35 2010-05-21 17:28:16

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: [Solved] Segmentation fault

Is your system up to date?
Have you been messing with the gtk libraries?


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

#36 2010-05-21 17:34:38

SkyTod
Member
Registered: 2009-09-01
Posts: 226

Re: [Solved] Segmentation fault

wonder wrote:

@SkyTod remove it and see if is works and you can downgrade to the previous version if that's the problem.

I'm very thankful to You. It works. I shall look for solution for qtcurve — it's easier. Thank You again.

Duologic wrote:

It is probably not helping but you (SkyTod) do not know what you are doing. Please do not feel offended, I'm only trying to be helpful.

Yeah, I know it all. I didn't use root often(really;)). Just for my own app that very helpful for managing my localhost server. I wouldn't like to carry on this flame, cuz I do know what I do and You have your opinion howto release it better and safer. Thank You, anyway.

Offline

#37 2010-05-21 17:37:33

SkyTod
Member
Registered: 2009-09-01
Posts: 226

Re: [Solved] Segmentation fault

moljac024 wrote:

Is your system up to date?
Have you been messing with the gtk libraries?

I removed qtcurve. Last version of qtcurve has this bug.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB