You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-24 08:50:21

Liquidfork
Member
Registered: 2004-07-07
Posts: 30

No KDE

I did pacman -S kde and all is fine, go to startx, and i get

/home/username/.xinitrc: line 14: exec: kde: not found

i did notice pacman never got a file called 'kde' a bunch of files FOR kde, but it seems it never got kde itself? any input would be very helpful.

Offline

#2 2005-03-24 08:59:31

mpie
Member
From: 404 Not found
Registered: 2005-03-06
Posts: 649

Re: No KDE

try exec startkde....

Offline

#3 2005-03-24 09:03:35

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: No KDE

ok - you are either the victim of the pacman bug and need to read the wiki as all kde users are advised to in multpile places OR you need

exec startkde

or in your .xinitrc file

Offline

#4 2005-03-24 09:09:29

Liquidfork
Member
Registered: 2004-07-07
Posts: 30

Re: No KDE

hah! thanks, i checked the wiki, problem was just ignorance. since i'm coming from fluxbox, i ASSUMED that exec kde would do it, stupidstupid.

Offline

#5 2005-03-24 09:13:35

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: No KDE

[whisper]the stuff stuff about starting differnet window managers is also on the wiki[/whisper]  wink

Offline

#6 2005-03-24 10:24:14

mpie
Member
From: 404 Not found
Registered: 2005-03-06
Posts: 649

Re: No KDE

dibblethewrecker wrote:

[whisper]the stuff stuff about starting differnet window managers is also on the wiki[/whisper]  wink

lol smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB