You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-24 04:01:18

elapointe
Member
Registered: 2005-03-24
Posts: 39

Xorg freeze

It happen often that X freeze... cold reboot is required ! So have no access to log (Complete freeze !)

I think that the composite extension (without use of xapps) is the cause

It freeze in xfce4 and in gnome

Since yeaterday, i have tried to use it with composite disabled to point find problem !!! But... i want it !!!

YES i setup correctly my xorg.conf with RENDER COMPOSITE and GLX stuff


Need help !

EDIT : I don<t know if it is important to say... but i compiled my kernel from source ! i have no problem with it !

Offline

#2 2005-03-24 04:59:45

Theoden
Member
Registered: 2005-03-03
Posts: 240

Re: Xorg freeze

Yes - I have used it and it works really good here.  There's quite a performance hit without some higher end graphics card installed ... I have an nVIDIA GeForce2 and it works well with that card.  Here's an example:

http://slackertype.net/tiki-browse_imag … imageId=38

--Theoden   wink


"If builders built buildings the way programmers write programs,
the first woodpecker that came along would destroy civilization."

Offline

#3 2005-03-24 10:16:40

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: Xorg freeze

If you have an nVidia, there are a lot of driver options you can pass to your card in /etc/X11/xorg.conf that might solve the instability issuses. I had it working flawlessly on my GF2 MX-400, but it was so slooooow it wasn't worth it.

Check the README.txt from nVidia's drivers for more information.


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#4 2005-03-24 12:23:56

i3839
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 1,185

Re: Xorg freeze

By default if composite is enabled GLX is disabled by Nvidia's drivers.

Offline

#5 2005-03-25 01:03:11

elapointe
Member
Registered: 2005-03-24
Posts: 39

Re: Xorg freeze

Mouse now work... but screen is completely freeze

Offline

#6 2005-03-25 02:49:51

elapointe
Member
Registered: 2005-03-24
Posts: 39

Re: Xorg freeze

I solve my problem by creating my own ABS package ==> DOWNGRADING

# $Id: PKGBUILD,v 1.12 2005/03/12 08:27:28 tpowa Exp $
# Maintainer : Tobias Powalowski <tpowa@archlinux.org>


pkgname=nvidia
pkgver=1.0.6629
pkgbinary=NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-6629
pkgrel=2
pkgdesc="Drivers for XFree86/X.Org"
url="http://www.nvidia.com"
depends=('bash' 'gcc' 'binutils' 'glibc' 'make')
source=(ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/1.0-6629/$pkgbinary-pkg1.run)
install="nvidia.install"
build() {  
  cd $startdir/src/
  chmod +x $pkgbinary-pkg1.run
  ./$pkgbinary-pkg1.run --extract-only
  cd $pkgbinary-pkg1
  
  #clean src
  cd $startdir/src
  rm *
  mkdir -p $startdir/pkg/opt/nvidia
  mv * $startdir/pkg/opt/nvidia 
 }

Offline

#7 2005-03-25 10:22:15

miqorz
Member
Registered: 2004-12-31
Posts: 475

Re: Xorg freeze

Which you actually did poorly.

gcc and make should be MAKEDEPENDS. Not dependencies.


http://wiki2.archlinux.org/

Read it. Love it. Live it. Or die.

Offline

#8 2005-03-25 10:39:16

smith
Member
From: Crescent City, CA
Registered: 2005-02-19
Posts: 77

Re: Xorg freeze

Aren't you being a tad anal miqorz?  tongue


I have nothing to say, and I am saying it.

Offline

#9 2005-03-25 13:25:28

Meshuggin
Member
From: /home/meshuggin
Registered: 2005-03-23
Posts: 137

Re: Xorg freeze

Theoden wrote:

Yes - I have used it and it works really good here.  There's quite a performance hit without some higher end graphics card installed ... I have an nVIDIA GeForce2 and it works well with that card.  Here's an example:

http://slackertype.net/tiki-browse_imag … imageId=38

--Theoden   wink

It looks great!, wich driver version are you using?, actually i'm using 6111 because 6629 and the latest version it doesn't work for me (freeze) . And i've got the same GeForce than you.
By the way, I'm not using composite tongue

P.S. : This is my first post, and I'm an Arch user since 2 days ago smile


Arch GNU/Linux 0.7.1 (Noodle)
Linux 2.6.14-archck1

Offline

#10 2005-03-25 15:24:49

miqorz
Member
Registered: 2004-12-31
Posts: 475

Re: Xorg freeze

smith wrote:

Aren't you being a tad anal miqorz?  tongue

No.


http://wiki2.archlinux.org/

Read it. Love it. Live it. Or die.

Offline

#11 2005-03-26 01:25:12

elapointe
Member
Registered: 2005-03-24
Posts: 39

Re: Xorg freeze

miqorz wrote:

Which you actually did poorly.

gcc and make should be MAKEDEPENDS. Not dependencies.

Did you check the original PKGBUILD before...

It is the same PBGBUILD with version change !!!

Offline

#12 2005-03-26 01:28:57

smith
Member
From: Crescent City, CA
Registered: 2005-02-19
Posts: 77

Re: Xorg freeze

That's why I think miqorz is being anal about the issue.  He seems to think otherwise though...


I have nothing to say, and I am saying it.

Offline

#13 2005-03-26 11:28:31

miqorz
Member
Registered: 2004-12-31
Posts: 475

Re: Xorg freeze

Hmm, I just realized that even the arch package isn't fully just a "package"..

NVidia drivers are fucking weird.


http://wiki2.archlinux.org/

Read it. Love it. Live it. Or die.

Offline

#14 2005-03-26 15:55:11

neotuli
Lazy Developer
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2004-07-06
Posts: 1,201
Website

Re: Xorg freeze

Yea uhm, gcc has to be a dep, because it's used at install time to compile the modules.


The suggestion box only accepts patches.

Offline

#15 2005-03-26 22:05:18

miqorz
Member
Registered: 2004-12-31
Posts: 475

Re: Xorg freeze

I wonder if there is a way around that?


http://wiki2.archlinux.org/

Read it. Love it. Live it. Or die.

Offline

#16 2005-03-26 22:21:52

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: Xorg freeze

cannot use it, because radeon for FireGL 7800 is not really fast and very buggy in displaying using composite


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB