You are not logged in.

#176 2010-02-22 20:22:58

n0dix
Member
Registered: 2009-09-22
Posts: 956

Re: The Console Display Manager

i would like try it.

Offline

#177 2010-03-10 21:26:02

francisc1701
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2008-11-27
Posts: 14

Re: The Console Display Manager

Hi!

I've added some info to CDM's wiki page -- is it all correct? I just started using CDM so it would be nice if someone with more experience confirmed the accuracy of my additions.

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php?tit … ldid=86252

Thanks.

Offline

#178 2010-03-10 21:35:26

Ghost1227
Forum Fellow
From: Omaha, NE, USA
Registered: 2008-04-21
Posts: 1,418
Website

Re: The Console Display Manager

Looks good! I also updated the wiki page with the links to both CDM websites. BTW, for those of you who have noticed the annoying "100%" displayed on the CDM menu, this is a known bug with the most recent release of dialog and will be fixed in the upcoming update.

Offline

#179 2010-03-10 22:06:29

eldragon
Member
From: Buenos Aires
Registered: 2008-11-18
Posts: 1,026

Re: The Console Display Manager

the whole editing inittab and rc.conf bit is quite confusing.

sometimes less is more, and anyway, is it a requirement that no display manager start up? what would happen if gdm starts and a user switches to vt1 and logs in?

Offline

#180 2010-03-11 06:22:40

francisc1701
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2008-11-27
Posts: 14

Re: The Console Display Manager

eldragon wrote:

the whole editing inittab and rc.conf bit is quite confusing.

sometimes less is more, and anyway, is it a requirement that no display manager start up? what would happen if gdm starts and a user switches to vt1 and logs in?

I haven't actually tried to have GDM and CDM both start. It just seems logical if you have two programs doing more or less the same thing, only one should be allowed to run.

Offline

#181 2010-04-07 10:00:26

snakebite
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2009-05-13
Posts: 42

Re: The Console Display Manager

I'm having problems with the console option, whenever I choose it the screen blanks out and I get thrown back to cdm's window manager list. This problem exists on both my computers, with both the stable release and the latest git.
My cdmrc: http://pastebin.com/qMj8mCBc (identical on both computers)

Offline

#182 2010-04-08 00:33:39

Profjim
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2008-03-24
Posts: 658

Re: The Console Display Manager

@snakebite, your cdmrc is basically the same as mine, except for different themes, a different xtty value, and I don't use the userconfig setting. You could try changing the value in your userconfig array to snakebite_disabled temporarily, just to eliminate that a possible source of error.

To be explicit: I'm able to drop from cdm into a console just fine.

I expect that your troubles are coming from someplace else than the cdmrc file. Perhaps in another cdm file (I've hacked on my install in very modest ways, but I don't have a squeaky clean install of cdm, so possibly some difference there matters). Or possibly in another file you have installed, for example in your ~/.bashrc or your /etc/profile or something like that. If there is an issue, it may not manifest itself except in the Linux console. So I'm afraid the basic message is: you're going to have to do more experimentation and troubleshooting to try to find the source of your problem. Just some miscellaneous ideas: disable all of your ~/.whatever files, for example make a new user and try cdm with that. Problem still there? Disable cdm and login at a Linux console. Problem gone? Fiddle with your cdm settings: can you find any settings that have to be set in a particular way to make the problem show up? And so on.

Offline

#183 2010-04-08 03:15:43

Ghost1227
Forum Fellow
From: Omaha, NE, USA
Registered: 2008-04-21
Posts: 1,418
Website

Re: The Console Display Manager

I am using a squeaky clean install of cdm (cdm-git to be precise). I regularly log in to console without difficulties. Therefore, I'll second Profjim's advice. Experimenting is your friend!

Offline

#184 2010-04-08 11:38:26

snakebite
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2009-05-13
Posts: 42

Re: The Console Display Manager

Profjim wrote:

Or possibly in another file you have installed, for example in your ~/.bashrc or your /etc/profile or something like that. If there is an issue, it may not manifest itself except in the Linux console.

Thanks for the tip. I had put "source /etc/profile" in my .bashrc for autojump to work. Changed it to

if [ "$TERM" != "linux" ]; then
    source /etc/profile
fi

and logging in to the console from cdm works perfectly now.

Offline

#185 2010-05-19 22:18:30

Garret
Member
From: Palermo, Italy
Registered: 2006-07-09
Posts: 168
Website

Re: The Console Display Manager

I didn't understand if with with display manager I can set autologin for a specific user.

Offline

#186 2010-05-19 22:30:05

Ghost1227
Forum Fellow
From: Omaha, NE, USA
Registered: 2008-04-21
Posts: 1,418
Website

Re: The Console Display Manager

CDM itself doesn't handle logins, only sessions. In other words, you can set the system to autolog you in if you really wanted to, but that's not a function of CDM.

Offline

#187 2010-06-08 10:11:19

toneymoon
Member
Registered: 2010-06-08
Posts: 2

Re: The Console Display Manager

Hello, Ghost1227! Your CDM idea is just great! And http://cdm.ghost1227.com/ is the best site i`ve ever visited! But! I have some problem with CDM: I use Fedora 13, starting it with "init 3" option and login it TTY. I started X by startx and got Gnome. I installed E17 parallel to Gnome and decided to boot it from console, so your idea with CDM fits perfectly. So I installed CDM 0.5.2 and tried to start - nothing happens! I`m trying to login in TTY but it throws me back to login... I set "init 5" and loaded gdm & Gnome having no problems... But I still wish to use CDM instead gdm... What might be wrong with my TTY login? Do I have to enable login shell (I have default "loginshell=no" in cdmrc)

Last edited by toneymoon (2010-06-08 10:13:16)

Offline

#188 2010-06-08 17:32:40

Ghost1227
Forum Fellow
From: Omaha, NE, USA
Registered: 2008-04-21
Posts: 1,418
Website

Re: The Console Display Manager

I don't know fedora, so I can't make any promises, but CDM places a handler script in /etc/profile.d that actually launches the program. Some distros (notably debian) don't use /etc/profile.d, so CDM is never launched. If fedora doesn't use /etc/profile.d, you'll have to find an equivalent directory in which to put the zzz-cdm-profile.sh file. The loginshell option has no effect on starting CDM, rather it forces CDM to use an actual login shell.

Offline

#189 2010-06-09 19:04:37

tlamer
Member
From: Bratislava, Slovakia.
Registered: 2010-02-04
Posts: 42

Re: The Console Display Manager

I use cdm for few weeks already and I'm completely satisfied. Today i logged in as root to do some config changes and avoid sudo writing. But i logged in directly to console. Its a bug? Or it should be like that?

Last edited by tlamer (2010-06-09 19:07:56)


:wq

Offline

#190 2010-06-10 07:42:02

gajo
Member
Registered: 2008-04-01
Posts: 92
Website

Re: The Console Display Manager

tlamer wrote:

I use cdm for few weeks already and I'm completely satisfied. Today i logged in as root to do some config changes and avoid sudo writing. But i logged in directly to console. Its a bug? Or it should be like that?

bug or not, it's that way by design; the thinking here is that you shouldn't use X as root, many applications even have problems with that;
if this is not what you want, you can remove lines 3 to 5 from here: /etc/profile.d/zzz-cdm-profile.sh

Offline

#191 2010-06-10 08:01:48

tlamer
Member
From: Bratislava, Slovakia.
Registered: 2010-02-04
Posts: 42

Re: The Console Display Manager

@gajo Thanks for answer. I just wanted to know if its right like that. And you even explained why it is like that. I dont really need to login as root and use X. Actually theres no need to login as root at all for me. I just do it when i want to do more changes to avoid sudo writing.


:wq

Offline

#192 2010-07-01 11:47:14

sweisman
Member
Registered: 2008-05-20
Posts: 37

Re: The Console Display Manager

This looks interesting and I'd like to try it, but the Wiki page on CDM is very confusing. It has instructions for DISABLING all other login managers in rc.conf and inittab, but absolutely nothing on how to enable CDM. Can someone please explain how CDM is supposed to be started at boot?

Offline

#193 2010-07-05 14:06:23

valium97582
Member
Registered: 2010-06-19
Posts: 126

Re: The Console Display Manager

It is the way it is. You do not need to put cdm esplicitely (think I wrote that wrong) in your inittab. cdm autoloads when you choose init 5 and disable all other DMs. This is really kind of strange, but it is that way.

PS: Sorry for my especially bad english. I have been writing better than that.


I'm also known as zmv on IRC.

Offline

#194 2010-07-08 14:04:02

misc
Member
From: Bavaria, Germany
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 110

Re: The Console Display Manager

It would  be great if CDM implemented an optional "default choice", accompanied by a countdown to proceed with the latter, analogous to e. g. what grub does. (edit: A countdown would be enough, i. e. the first WM in the list would be chosen.)

Last edited by misc (2010-09-07 21:41:17)

Offline

#195 2010-07-17 07:16:54

setokaiba1308
Member
Registered: 2010-02-10
Posts: 4

Re: The Console Display Manager

I have read the whole post, and haven't found the solution to my problem.
Actually I use Openbox and awesome, but I don't know where i can add the lines

ck-launch-session dbus-launch openbox-session
ck-launch-session dbus-launch awesome

if I enable the option usexinit, well then only the uncommented WM will start X

Offline

#196 2010-07-17 17:11:25

Bolts
Member
From: Moorhead, MN
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 39
Website

Re: The Console Display Manager

sweisman wrote:

This looks interesting and I'd like to try it, but the Wiki page on CDM is very confusing. It has instructions for DISABLING all other login managers in rc.conf and inittab, but absolutely nothing on how to enable CDM. Can someone please explain how CDM is supposed to be started at boot?

CDM loads from /etc/profile.d/zzz-cdm when you log in from a tty.

setokaiba1308 wrote:

I have read the whole post, and haven't found the solution to my problem.
Actually I use Openbox and awesome, but I don't know where i can add the lines

ck-launch-session dbus-launch openbox-session
ck-launch-session dbus-launch awesome
if I enable the option usexinit, well then only the uncommented WM will start X

In your ~/.xinitrc, put something like:

if [ -z $1 ]; then
    WM="openbox-session"
else
    WM=$1
fi

exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch $WM

and in /etc/cdmrc:

consolekit=no
usexinit=yes

Offline

#197 2010-07-18 18:12:07

misc
Member
From: Bavaria, Germany
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 110

Re: The Console Display Manager

Today's update to 0.5.2-2 leveled my /usr/share/cdm/xinitrc, of whose new version I had not yet made a backup. Took a few minutes to restore – maybe the next update could look out for this?

Last edited by misc (2010-07-18 19:19:41)

Offline

#198 2010-07-18 18:43:30

valium97582
Member
Registered: 2010-06-19
Posts: 126

Re: The Console Display Manager

Can anyone post/redirect me to the 0.5.2-2 changelog? Thanks in advance.


I'm also known as zmv on IRC.

Offline

#199 2010-07-23 18:27:50

owain
Member
Registered: 2009-08-24
Posts: 233

Re: The Console Display Manager

I'm having a minor issue with CDM, Openbox and Xcompmgr.  I have "xcompmgr -c -C -f -D3 -F -o0" in my autostart.sh, which fails to work when logged in via CDM.  Any ideas?

/etc/crmrc:

theme=cdm
countfrom=1
wmbinlist=(openbox-session startkde gnome-session)
wmdisplist=(Openbox KDE Gnome)
allowconsole=yes
allowshutdown=yes
shutdowncommand='sudo shutdown -h now'
rebootcommand='sudo shutdown -r now'
allowsuspend=yes
suspendcommand='sudo pm-suspend'

userconfig=(catherine)

catherine() {
        theme=cdm
        wmbinlist=(startdke gnome-session)
        wmdisplist=(KDE Gnome)
        allowconsole=yes
        allowshutdown=yes
}

display=0
xtty=7
locktty=no
loginshell=no
consolekit=yes
usexinit=yes
serverargs="-nolisten tcp -dpi 96"

.xinitrc:

#!/bin/sh
#
# ~/.xinitrc
#
# Executed by startx (run your window manager from here)


#from CDM
WM="$1"


xset m 1.1 15

case $WM in
    kde )
        exec startkde
    ;;
    gnome-session )
        exec dbus-launch --exit-with-session ck-launch-session gnome-session
    ;;
    * )
                exec dbus-launch --exit-with-session ck-launch-session openbox-session
        ;;
esac

Offline

#200 2010-08-18 08:02:21

tlamer
Member
From: Bratislava, Slovakia.
Registered: 2010-02-04
Posts: 42

Re: The Console Display Manager

Hi, i have new notebook since yesterday... im installing and configuring arch.. i wanted to compile cdm from AUR but makepkg couldnt connect to site with sources... than i realized that cdm.ghost1227.com doesnt work... Can anyone help me with sources? Or should i wait for the site working?

thanks


:wq

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB