You are not logged in.

#1 2010-06-09 15:09:39

Yes
Member
Registered: 2008-03-29
Posts: 163

Two monitors, two X servers

I have two monitors and I'd like to run a separate X server on each of them.  I've added this so far:

Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "X.org Configured"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        Screen      1  "StarCraft Screen" 0 1
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "SCLayout"
    Screen      1  "StarCraft Screen"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "StarCraft Screen"
        Device         "Device1"
    Monitor        "StarCraft Monitor"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection     "Display"
        Virtual     640 480
        Depth       24
        Modes      "640x480@60" "1280x800@50"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "StarCraft Monitor"
    VendorName     "Plug 'n' Play"
    ModelName      "Plug 'n' Play"
    Gamma           1
    ModeLine       "640x480@60" 25.2 640 656 752 800 480 490 492 525  -hsync -vsync
EndSection

And I can get another X server to start on the other screen, but I can't have both servers enabled at once it seems - when I switch to one, the other monitor goes into sleep mode.  As of now I don't have any input devices for the second monitor, would that be why?

Thanks!

e: Change of plans.  I'd like to just start two separate X servers from a TTY, with X :0/1 -screen Screen0/1.  That seems to work fine, but then when I go to another TTY, set DISPLAY with DISPLAY=:0/1, and try running xterm I get an error that DISPLAY is not set.  Any advice?

e2:  Ok I got that, I needed to set DISPLAY with export DISPLAY=:0/1.  I have the same problem as before now though, I can't see both X servers at once - when I switch servers, the other monitor goes into standby mode.

Last edited by Yes (2010-06-09 17:38:33)

Offline

#2 2010-06-09 18:10:43

Berticus
Member
Registered: 2008-06-11
Posts: 731

Re: Two monitors, two X servers

Well, I'm not sure if this will fix it, but it seems your serverlayout may need to be fixed. It's referencing Screen0, but you don't have a device that is identified as screen0. I think you meant that to be "StarCraft Monitor"

Offline

#3 2010-06-09 19:09:42

Yes
Member
Registered: 2008-03-29
Posts: 163

Re: Two monitors, two X servers

Sorry I only posted part of my config.  Screen0 is just the standard screen setup, the Starcraft stuff should be the other monitor.  Here's my full config:

Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "X.org Configured"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        Screen      1  "StarCraft Screen" 0 1
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "SCLayout"
    Screen      1  "StarCraft Screen"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "StarCraft Screen"
        Device         "Device1"
    Monitor        "StarCraft Monitor"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection     "Display"
        Virtual     640 480
        Depth       24
        Modes      "640x480@60" "1280x800@50"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "StarCraft Monitor"
    VendorName     "Plug 'n' Play"
    ModelName      "Plug 'n' Play"
    Gamma           1
    ModeLine       "640x480@60" 25.2 640 656 752 800 480 490 492 525  -hsync -vsync
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Mouse1"
        Driver      "mouse"
        Option      "Protocol" "auto"
        Option      "Device" "/dev/input/mouse1"
        Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection


#Section "ServerLayout"
        #Identifier     "Xinerama Screen"
#        Screen         0  "Screen0" 0 0
#       #Screen         1  "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"
        #Option         "Xinerama"   "true"
#    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
#        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
#EndSection


Section "Files"
    ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load  "dri2"
    Load  "dri"
    Load  "extmod"
    Load  "dbe"
    Load  "glx"
    Load  "record"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Keyboard0"
    Driver      "kbd"
        Option  "XkbOptions" "terminate:ctrl_alt_bksp" 
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Mouse0"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option        "Protocol" "auto"
    Option        "Device" "/dev/input/mouse0"
    Option        "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier   "Monitor0"
    VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName    "Monitior Model"
    HorizSync    30.0-130.0
    VertRefresh  50.0-100.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Card0"
    Driver      "nvidia"
    Option        "NoLogo"    "true"
    VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
    BoardName   "G70 [GeForce 7600 GT]"
    BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    Screen    0
    #Option        "TwinView"
    #Option "SecondMonitorVertSync" "60"
    #Option "MetaModes"   "1280x1024, 1440x900"
    #Option "TwinViewOrientation" "LeftOf"
EndSection

#Section "Device"
#        Identifier  "Card1"
#        Driver      "nvidia"
#        Option      "NoLogo"    "true"
#        VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
#        BoardName   "G70 [GeForce 7600 GT]"
#        BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
#    Screen    1
        #Option     "TwinView"
        #Option "SecondMonitorVertSync" "60"
        #Option "MetaModes"   "1280x1024, 1440x900"
        #Option "TwinViewOrientation" "LeftOf"
#EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device     "Card0"
    Monitor    "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     1
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     4
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     8
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     15
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     16
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     24
        #Modes "1440x900"
        Modes "640x480@60"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

#Section "Screen"
#        Identifier    "Screen1"
#        Device        "Card1"
#        Monitor       "Monitor1"
#        DefaultDepth  24
#        SubSection    "Display"
#            Viewport  0 0
#            Depth     24
#            Modes     "1440x900"
#        EndSubSection
#EndSection


Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

Sorry about the messy file, there's a lot of leftover bits from previous setups.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB