You are not logged in.

#1 2005-02-09 21:28:17

thegnu
Member
From: Brooklyn, NY
Registered: 2004-05-04
Posts: 280
Website

Can't mount main Fedora partition under Arch?!

I had a previous install of Fedora Core 3 at work, until I decided that I despised the very dirt it treads upon.  And now I can't mount the freaking main partition (/dev/hdc2).  mount -t (anyfilesystem) /dev/hdc2 can't find a valid fs.

I tried:

tune2fs -l /dev/hdc2

It returns:

Bad magic number in super-block while trying to open /dev/hdc2
Couldn't find a valid filesystem superblock

I CAN mount /dev/hdc1, the boot partition, but this isn't really any help.  Is this the fault of a corrupt partition, or is this because of Fedora's ignorant insistence on creating logical volumes?

I'll say it once, and only once:  AAAAARARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


fffft!

Offline

#2 2005-02-09 22:19:23

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Can't mount main Fedora partition under Arch?!

try "parted" and see if it can get some info...

# parted /dev/hdc
> print
Disk geometry for /dev/hdc: 0.000-XXXXX megabytes
Disk label type: SOMETHING
Minor Start    End      Type     Filesystem    Flags
1       X1        Y1  primary  ext3          boot
2       X2        Y2  logical ext3

or just try to cat /proc/partitions

If it's recognized we can go from there... if not, then you got problems...

Offline

#3 2005-02-17 20:00:53

thegnu
Member
From: Brooklyn, NY
Registered: 2004-05-04
Posts: 280
Website

Re: Can't mount main Fedora partition under Arch?!

phrakture wrote:

If it's recognized we can go from there... if not, then you got problems...

Took a long time for me to get back to this, but here:

Using /dev/hdc
(parted) print
Disk geometry for /dev/hdc: 0.000-76293.945 megabytes
Disk label type: msdos
Minor    Start       End     Type      Filesystem  Flags
1          0.031    101.975  primary   ext3        boot
2        101.975  76293.061  primary               lvm
(parted)
[root@linuxbox fit]# cat /proc/partitions
major minor  #blocks  name

   3     0   78150744 hda
   3     1      32098 hda1
   3     2    1951897 hda2
   3     3   75907125 hda3
   3     4     257040 hda4
  22     0   78125000 hdc
  22     1     104391 hdc1
  22     2   78019672 hdc2

What the heck with the lvm thang?  W. T. Flizzle!??!


fffft!

Offline

#4 2005-03-30 13:42:21

Evangel
Member
From: Germany - Hechingen/Balingen
Registered: 2004-02-22
Posts: 36

Re: Can't mount main Fedora partition under Arch?!

i dont know if you have still this problem, but have a look at:

http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/LVM-HOWTO/

Bye

Offline

#5 2005-03-30 17:13:25

miqorz
Member
Registered: 2004-12-31
Posts: 475

Re: Can't mount main Fedora partition under Arch?!

Fedora uses LVM by default?


http://wiki2.archlinux.org/

Read it. Love it. Live it. Or die.

Offline

#6 2005-03-30 18:46:34

Kern
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2005-02-09
Posts: 460

Re: Can't mount main Fedora partition under Arch?!

thegnu

i have the same problem. rather than wade thro it all, i mounted the Arch drive under Fed 3 to make any transfers.

Isn't Arch a breath of fresh air after Fedora ? smile

Evangel, nice link, one i'll certainly be looking at, thanks smile

Kern

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB