You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-27 10:09:28

djhizz
Member
From: Bucharest (Romania)
Registered: 2004-10-26
Posts: 68
Website

hotplug and tunner

hi.i have a few problems and questions.i have pci-to-usb adaptor with a hdd and i want to use it.i have instaled hotplug but i think i have to start a daemon in rc.conf.....and i don't know how to do it.i also have a tv tunner (acorp conexant) and a have no ideea how to install it.can abyone help me?
ps:another problem :d ..the scrool doesn' work, i have changed the xorg.conf  with OPTION "AaxisMapping "4 5" and nothing happens.i have a A4Teck optical mouse.
10x


My mama said once: ...........***K OFF!!!!   She was right!
<a href="http://www.nobelcom.com">phone cards</a>

Offline

#2 2005-03-27 10:38:36

Arn0
Member
From: the Netherlands
Registered: 2005-03-13
Posts: 49

Re: hotplug and tunner

i think i have to start a daemon in rc.conf.....and i don't know how to do

you dont know how to start a deamon or do you mean you dont know whitch deamon to start?
Starting a deamon is easy, just add the deamon name in the "DEAMONS="  line in rc.conf. Search for this:

#
# Daemons to start at boot-up (in this order)
#   (prefix a daemon with a ! to disable it)
#

How mutch buttons does the mouse have? Maybe the scroll is button 6 and 7 on your mouse.


Whenever you are asked if you can do a job, tell 'em, 'Certainly I can!' Then get busy and find out how to do it.

Offline

#3 2005-03-27 13:55:28

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: hotplug and tunner

"ZAxisMapping" "4 5"

with a 'Z'

Offline

#4 2005-03-31 06:28:56

djhizz
Member
From: Bucharest (Romania)
Registered: 2004-10-26
Posts: 68
Website

Re: hotplug and tunner

the problem is i don't know what daemon to start


My mama said once: ...........***K OFF!!!!   She was right!
<a href="http://www.nobelcom.com">phone cards</a>

Offline

#5 2005-03-31 08:47:55

Arn0
Member
From: the Netherlands
Registered: 2005-03-13
Posts: 49

Re: hotplug and tunner

i dont have a tvcard so i dont think i can be mutch help.

there are a few other treads in this forum about it, try searching the forum. Here is on that look promesing.
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … t=tv+tuner

also www.acorp.com.tw seems to have linux drivers and a manual, have lookd at those yet?

good luck.


Whenever you are asked if you can do a job, tell 'em, 'Certainly I can!' Then get busy and find out how to do it.

Offline

#6 2005-03-31 09:02:10

shadowhand
Member
From: MN, USA
Registered: 2004-02-19
Posts: 1,142
Website

Re: hotplug and tunner

djhizz wrote:

hi.i have a few problems and questions.i have pci-to-usb adaptor with a hdd and i want to use it.i have instaled hotplug but i think i have to start a daemon in rc.conf.....and i don't know how to do it

Hotplug starts by default in an Arch installation, but you can start it manually with

/etc/rc.d/hotplug start

You're going to need to mount the drive to be able to see anything on it. The device will be called /dev/sda or /dev/sda1, more than likely. Try this out:

cd /mnt
mkdir usbdrive
mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 usbdrive

If that works, just add an entry to /etc/fstab that looks something like this:

/dev/sda1     /mnt/usbdrive vfat users,exec,rw,auto 0 0

Then you will be able to mount it with

mount /mnt/usbdrive

and it will automatically be mounted at boot time if it's plugged in.


·¬»· i am shadowhand, powered by webfaction

Offline

#7 2005-03-31 12:06:21

djhizz
Member
From: Bucharest (Romania)
Registered: 2004-10-26
Posts: 68
Website

Re: hotplug and tunner

this is what i wanted to know:how to mount the device,or how it is called.10x a lot wink


My mama said once: ...........***K OFF!!!!   She was right!
<a href="http://www.nobelcom.com">phone cards</a>

Offline

#8 2005-03-31 12:07:25

djhizz
Member
From: Bucharest (Romania)
Registered: 2004-10-26
Posts: 68
Website

Re: hotplug and tunner

but...wht about the tunner.i have no ideea how to use it.


My mama said once: ...........***K OFF!!!!   She was right!
<a href="http://www.nobelcom.com">phone cards</a>

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB