You are not logged in.

#1 2010-06-19 18:23:24

brisbin33
Member
From: boston, ma
Registered: 2008-07-24
Posts: 1,796
Website

[SOLVED]df shows root twice

I've searched bug tracker / forums / google a bit but haven't found anything promising.  I'm posting this here only b/c I suspect it's due to [testing]/coreutils or maybe udev but I'm not sure.  Just looking for confirmation, explanation as it's nothing serious...

//blue/0/~/ /bin/df -h
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
rootfs                 30G   18G   10G  65% /
udev                   10M  100K   10M   1% /dev
/dev/disk/by-uuid/692aea7d-24d6-4a17-8de2-f8b208b72969
                       30G   18G   10G  65% /
shm                   2.0G     0  2.0G   0% /dev/shm
/dev/sda4             431G  124G  286G  31% /home
/dev/sda1              99M   36M   59M  38% /boot
/dev/sdc1             917G  731G  141G  84% /mnt/data1
/dev/sdb1             917G  225G  646G  26% /mnt/data2
/dev/sde1             1.4T  383G  924G  30% /mnt/backup

why is / shown twice, rootfs and an ugly uuid? is everyone seeing this now? is it a feature, known bug?

thanks.

Last edited by brisbin33 (2010-06-19 21:40:40)

Offline

#2 2010-06-19 19:05:12

gazj
Member
From: /home/gazj -> /uk/cambs
Registered: 2007-02-09
Posts: 681
Website

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
rootfs                 36G  2.9G   32G   9% /
udev                   10M  200K  9.9M   2% /dev
/dev/sda2              36G  2.9G   32G   9% /
shm                   756M     0  756M   0% /dev/shm
/dev/sda1              92M  8.0M   79M  10% /boot
reddwarf:/srv/docs     67G   23G   41G  36% /mnt/docs

yes to rootfs (what is the point of this?)
no to uuid, but your right that does look horrible, I take it that you don't use uuid in fstab or grub

Last edited by gazj (2010-06-19 19:05:29)

Offline

#3 2010-06-19 20:37:38

brisbin33
Member
From: boston, ma
Registered: 2008-07-24
Posts: 1,796
Website

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

I use UUID in both fstab and grub (that's the default arch setup), always have. only recently have i noticed this odd df output.  it only shows root twice despite my having lots of UUID entries:

/dev/disk/by-uuid/
|-- 06ef1794-4f03-416b-9669-98c3ff6517e0 -> ../../sdb1
|-- 1fe45bf2-6451-4e2f-a8ca-fb9571f62317 -> ../../sda4
|-- 5ab82adb-5ce2-49eb-98be-cf417030ee06 -> ../../sda1
|-- 692aea7d-24d6-4a17-8de2-f8b208b72969 -> ../../sda3
|-- ca1d4830-085a-42be-826c-a428ecbb6693 -> ../../sde1
|-- d241a905-cfda-4aec-8ed8-f90b4cad2874 -> ../../sda2
`-- d901041e-913e-47a3-aa8f-946bca0d33b0 -> ../../sdc1

0 directories, 7 files

Offline

#4 2010-06-19 21:21:35

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,942

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

This is the first that I've ever seen this. I don't explicitely use UUID in fstab but I do in GRUB.

Offline

#5 2010-06-19 21:33:32

brisbin33
Member
From: boston, ma
Registered: 2008-07-24
Posts: 1,796
Website

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

hmm ok.  thanks for the responses; based on these, i'll rephrase the questions slightly:

was "rootfs" always there or is this a new udev thing (i really can't remember)?

i don't mind the duplicate rootfs entry, but why is the (presumably) normal-always-there root entry the only one showing up as a UUID in my output when i use UUIDs for almost all my drives?

for completeness here are my fstab and menu.lst files:

/etc/fstab

# 
# /etc/fstab: static file system information
#
# <file system>        <dir>         <type>    <options>          <dump> <pass>
devpts                 /dev/pts      devpts    defaults            0      0
shm                    /dev/shm      tmpfs     nodev,nosuid        0      0

#/dev/cdrom     /media/cdrom    auto    ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
#/dev/dvd       /media/dvd      auto    ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0

# system drives
UUID=1fe45bf2-6451-4e2f-a8ca-fb9571f62317 /home ext3 defaults 0 1
UUID=5ab82adb-5ce2-49eb-98be-cf417030ee06 /boot ext2 defaults 0 1
UUID=692aea7d-24d6-4a17-8de2-f8b208b72969 /     ext3 defaults 0 1
UUID=d241a905-cfda-4aec-8ed8-f90b4cad2874 swap  swap defaults 0 0


## CUSTOM
LABEL=1TB1                            /mnt/data1       ext3    defaults 0 0
LABEL=1TB2                            /mnt/data2       ext3    defaults 0 0
LABEL=15TB                            /mnt/backup      ext3    defaults 0 0

# public folders on my server
/home/patrick/Music/brisbin             /srv/http/music              auto    bind    0 0
/home/patrick/Pictures/screenshots      /srv/http/screenshots        auto    bind    0 0
/home/patrick/.bin                      /srv/http/bin                auto    bind    0 0
/home/patrick/Code                      /srv/http/code               auto    bind    0 0

/boot/grub/menu.lst

# general configuration:
timeout   2
default   0
color light-blue/black light-cyan/blue

# (0) CK Patches
title  CK Patches
root   (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz26-ck root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/692aea7d-24d6-4a17-8de2-f8b208b72969 ro vga=0x031b
initrd /kernel26-ck.img

# (1) Arch Linux
title  Arch Stock
root   (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/692aea7d-24d6-4a17-8de2-f8b208b72969 ro vga=0x031b
initrd /kernel26.img

# (2) Arch Linux
title  Arch Fallback
root   (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/692aea7d-24d6-4a17-8de2-f8b208b72969 ro
initrd /kernel26-fallback.img

sidenote: someone on irc last night said they saw the same output i did but that they've been seeing it "for a long time" so, i dunno...

Last edited by brisbin33 (2010-06-19 21:34:20)

Offline

#6 2010-06-19 21:33:34

xduugu
Member
Registered: 2008-10-16
Posts: 292

Offline

#7 2010-06-19 21:38:37

brisbin33
Member
From: boston, ma
Registered: 2008-07-24
Posts: 1,796
Website

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

Oh, i see.

//blue/0/~/ cat /proc/mounts 
rootfs / rootfs rw 0 0
proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
sys /sys sysfs rw,relatime 0 0
udev /dev tmpfs rw,nosuid,relatime,size=10240k,mode=755 0 0
/dev/disk/by-uuid/692aea7d-24d6-4a17-8de2-f8b208b72969 / ext3 rw,relatime,errors=continue,data=writeback 0 0
fusectl /sys/fs/fuse/connections fusectl rw,relatime 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,relatime,mode=600,ptmxmode=000 0 0
shm /dev/shm tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime 0 0
/dev/sda4 /home ext3 rw,relatime,errors=continue,data=writeback 0 0
/dev/sda1 /boot ext2 rw,relatime,errors=continue 0 0
/dev/sdc1 /mnt/data1 ext3 rw,relatime,errors=continue,data=writeback 0 0
/dev/sdb1 /mnt/data2 ext3 rw,relatime,errors=continue,data=writeback 0 0
/dev/sde1 /mnt/backup ext3 rw,relatime,errors=continue,data=writeback 0 0
/dev/sda4 /srv/http/music ext3 rw,relatime,errors=continue,data=writeback 0 0
/dev/sda4 /srv/http/screenshots ext3 rw,relatime,errors=continue,data=writeback 0 0
/dev/sda4 /srv/http/bin ext3 rw,relatime,errors=continue,data=writeback 0 0

so if i were to guess, the UUID in grub puts / in as a UUID in /proc/mounts. the other drives are mounted by udev which takes care of the translation on it's own...

and now i get ugly df output...

hehe, oh well. mystery solved i guess.

Offline

#8 2010-06-23 07:33:17

x33a
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 4,586
Website

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

Sorry for bumping a [solved] thread.

I just saw this problem today, presumably after the initscripts update. I am facing the exact problem as brisbin.

So, what i basically wanted to know is, is there any solution to the problem yet.

my output:

x33a@my-machine:~$ df -h
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
rootfs                 18G  6.4G   11G  39% /
udev                   10M  168K  9.9M   2% /dev
/dev/disk/by-uuid/57d3bc74-e3af-4ca6-9662-6a92c9b4f430
                       18G  6.4G   11G  39% /
/dev/sda3              12G  2.9G  8.9G  25% /media/sda3
/dev/sdb1             104G   20G   84G  19% /media/gtx
/dev/sdb2             112G   35G   76G  31% /media/x33a
shm                   502M  336K  502M   1% /dev/shm

Offline

#9 2010-06-23 12:32:01

igndenok
Member
From: Sidoarjo, Indonesia
Registered: 2010-06-07
Posts: 160

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

Check links that xduugu provided, you can use old rc.sysinit configuration


Ask, and it shall be given you.
Seek, and ye shall find.
Knock, and it shall be opened unto you.

Offline

#10 2010-06-23 13:06:08

x33a
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 4,586
Website

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

igndenok wrote:

Check links that xduugu provided, you can use old rc.sysinit configuration

Thanks, i'll check it out.

Offline

#11 2010-06-23 15:30:55

sacarde
Member
Registered: 2006-07-14
Posts: 389

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

I have same problem

but sorry... I dont understand the solution

Offline

#12 2010-06-23 16:46:46

brisbin33
Member
From: boston, ma
Registered: 2008-07-24
Posts: 1,796
Website

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

try not using a UUID in /boot/grub/menu.lst.  this could cause other problems though if your /dev/sd* entries change randomly between boots.

an alternative could be:

df() {
  \df "$@" | grep -Fv 'disk/by-uuid'
}

Offline

#13 2010-06-24 09:42:03

Mektub
Member
From: Lisbon /Portugal
Registered: 2008-01-02
Posts: 647

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

I just saw it today, and I don' t like it.

Fiddling with rc.sysinit would be a maintenance pain by each update.

rootfs doesn't tell me the device.

Mektub


Follow me on twitter: https://twitter.com/johnbina

Offline

#14 2010-06-24 09:46:52

archman-cro
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2010-04-04
Posts: 943
Website

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

Heh, I just searched the forum on this forum, and stumbled upon this thread by an accident. Here's my df -h:

Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
rootfs                9.2G  3.3G  5.5G  38% /
udev                   10M  168K  9.9M   2% /dev
/dev/disk/by-uuid/4df05d00-a278-4a1f-8caa-977365124b7b
                      9.2G  3.3G  5.5G  38% /
shm                   625M     0  625M   0% /dev/shm
/dev/sda3              45G   21G   23G  48% /home

I thought I've messed something up when I was trying the damn tux filewriter, but it seems it's cool. Looks awful, btw, imo.

Offline

#15 2010-06-25 21:13:15

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,252
Website

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

Same for me not using UUIDs in my /etc/fstab nor in my /boot/grub/menu.lst here:

$ df -h
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
rootfs                 20G  5.1G   14G  28% /
/dev/sda2              20G  5.1G   14G  28% /
udev                   10M  192K  9.9M   2% /dev
none                  6.0G   54M  6.0G   1% /dev/shm
/dev/sda5              79G   13G   63G  17% /home
/dev/sda6             244M   26M  205M  12% /boot
/dev/sda7             785G  302G  484G  39% /media/data

CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#16 2010-06-25 21:21:56

archman-cro
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2010-04-04
Posts: 943
Website

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

Switched to a normal address in menu.lst. df -h is like this now:

Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
rootfs                9.2G  3.3G  5.5G  38% /
udev                   10M  168K  9.9M   2% /dev
/dev/sda1             9.2G  3.3G  5.5G  38% /
shm                   625M     0  625M   0% /dev/shm
/dev/sda3              45G   21G   23G  48% /home

Offline

#17 2010-06-25 21:44:47

xduugu
Member
Registered: 2008-10-16
Posts: 292

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

Guys, please stop it. If you had read this thread (or arch-dev-public), you would know that
- it affects everyone using the latest initscripts
- it has nothing to do with UUIDs
- you have to edit rc.sysinit if you want to fix it
- it is a known issue, but not really critical

The git commit: https://projects.archlinux.org/initscri … 4c876aa099

https://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail/arch-dev-public/2010-June/017049.html wrote:

The only weirdness that I found is that "rootfs" is now shown as a mount:
rootfs / rootfs rw 0 0

Technically this is correct, but some tools might become confused.
Another way would be to grep -v ^rootfs from /proc/mounts when creating
mtab. I am entirely unsure what the "right way" is here.

Offline

#18 2010-06-26 02:18:27

igndenok
Member
From: Sidoarjo, Indonesia
Registered: 2010-06-07
Posts: 160

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

If you want rootfs not show up when you run df, just run

df -h | sed '/rootfs/d'

Ask, and it shall be given you.
Seek, and ye shall find.
Knock, and it shall be opened unto you.

Offline

#19 2010-06-27 09:40:56

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

Strange is it anyway:

...
LABEL=SATA-BOOT        /boot                    ext3       defaults,noatime            0 1
LABEL=SATA-ROOT        /                        ext4       defaults,noatime            0 1              <--------- !!!
LABEL=SATA-VAR         /var                     ext4       defaults,noatime            0 2
LABEL=SATA-HOME        /home                    ext4       defaults,noatime            0 2
...

But mount shows:

...
/dev/disk/by-label/SATA-ROOT on / type ext3 (rw,noatime,commit=0)

fusectl on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw,relatime)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
shm on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev)
none on /tmp type tmpfs (rw,nodiratime,size=3000M)
/dev/sda1 on /boot type ext3 (rw,noatime,commit=0)
/dev/sda5 on /var type ext4 (rw,noatime,commit=0)
/dev/sda6 on /home type ext4 (rw,noatime,commit=0)
....

Why is my root partition mounted as ext3?

Offline

#20 2010-06-27 18:05:46

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,252
Website

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

vimdiff.jpg

After patching...

Last edited by graysky (2010-07-05 11:31:00)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#21 2010-07-08 14:18:16

72linus
Member
From: gordonsville,va
Registered: 2009-03-14
Posts: 144
Website

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

couple questions

1) how do I apply the patch?
just untar it and run install.sh?

2) I did as above in my arch x86_64 setup and it's the same
it still shows the rootfs thing....?!

Can anyone help me with that?
Thanks

Offline

#22 2010-07-09 08:48:06

72linus
Member
From: gordonsville,va
Registered: 2009-03-14
Posts: 144
Website

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

OK
yesterday I tried reverting back to udev 151 and udisks 101 and its not working

anyone have a solution or is it gonna get fixed in udev 160 or what?

Offline

#23 2010-07-09 11:24:35

falconindy
Developer
From: New York, USA
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 4,111
Website

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

A fix would imply something is broken. There's nothing broken here. Read the thread (again?).

- Not udev related
- Not disks related

Last edited by falconindy (2010-07-09 14:40:11)

Offline

#24 2010-07-09 13:07:26

72linus
Member
From: gordonsville,va
Registered: 2009-03-14
Posts: 144
Website

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

well
it is broken for me

the problem is when i create a livecd of the system and then booted it sems to double mount everything or somethiung

for reference here is mount in live cd mode

[root@nfluxos ~]# mount
rootfs on / type rootfs (rw)
/dev/root on /mnt/live type ext2 (rw,relatime,errors=continue)
devtmpfs on /mnt/live/dev type devtmpfs (rw,relatime,size=10240k,nr_inodes=119436,mode=755)
proc on /mnt/live/proc type proc (rw,relatime)
/dev/loop1 on /mnt/live/lib/modules/2.6.34-ZENarch32/kernel/drivers type squashfs (ro,noatime)
/dev/sdb1 on /mnt/live/mnt/sdb1 type ext3 (rw,noatime,errors=continue,data=ordered)
tmpfs on /mnt/live/memory type tmpfs (rw,relatime,size=575400k)
aufs on / type aufs (rw,relatime,si=4ce08f22,nowarn_perm)
/dev/loop2 on /mnt/live/memory/images/bin.lzm type squashfs (ro,noatime)
/dev/loop3 on /mnt/live/memory/images/etc.lzm type squashfs (ro,noatime)
/dev/loop4 on /mnt/live/memory/images/home.lzm type squashfs (ro,noatime)
/dev/loop5 on /mnt/live/memory/images/lib.lzm type squashfs (ro,noatime)
/dev/loop6 on /mnt/live/memory/images/opt.lzm type squashfs (ro,noatime)
/dev/loop7 on /mnt/live/memory/images/root.lzm type squashfs (ro,noatime)
/dev/loop8 on /mnt/live/memory/images/sbin.lzm type squashfs (ro,noatime)
/dev/loop9 on /mnt/live/memory/images/srv.lzm type squashfs (ro,noatime)
/dev/loop10 on /mnt/live/memory/images/usr.lzm type squashfs (ro,noatime)
/dev/loop11 on /mnt/live/memory/images/var.lzm type squashfs (ro,noatime)
/dev/sdb1 on /boot type ext3 (rw,noatime,errors=continue,data=ordered)
none on /proc type proc (rw,relatime)
none on /sys type sysfs (rw,relatime)
udev on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,nosuid,relatime,size=10240k,nr_inodes=119436,mode=755)
fusectl on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw,relatime)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)

in my squashfs 3.4 version of nfluxos it's more like this

[root@nfluxos ~]# mount
rootfs on / type rootfs (rw)
aufs on / type aufs (rw,relatime,si=4ce08f22,nowarn_perm)
none on /proc type proc (rw,relatime)
none on /sys type sysfs (rw,relatime)
udev on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,nosuid,relatime,size=10240k,nr_inodes=119436,mode=755)
fusectl on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw,relatime)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)

big difference!
because of this problem I had to suspend the new squashfs 4.0 arch nfluxos because it wont umount everything at reboot/shutdown
without going thru a bunch of problems..

to verify this; I installed my 3.4 version and made sure udev, udev-compat, and udisks was not upgraded
and I verified that something changed alot between udev 151 and udev 157 or udisks

the point is I need a way to get back to how it used to be and still be able to upgrade everything

so, what exactly is causing this issue with whatever app or system process is doing this?
thanks

here is the older nfluxos 3.4 squashfs which doesnt have this issue
http://multidistro.com/downloads/olddownloads.html

Last edited by 72linus (2010-07-09 13:09:03)

Offline

#25 2010-07-09 14:44:40

falconindy
Developer
From: New York, USA
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 4,111
Website

Re: [SOLVED]df shows root twice

No the "big difference" is that your supposed problem (which is far from obvious to me as those are typical --bind mounts) is completely unrelated to the thread topic.

Perhaps you should post on nfluxos's forums.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB