You are not logged in.

#1 2005-03-29 13:59:21

Clanman
Member
Registered: 2005-02-08
Posts: 35

resizing terminal window (solution provided)

Hello

I have an irritating problem using the terminal under xfce4

Resizing the terminal (xterm) and (terminal) running nano results in a blank terminal. All the text disapears.
Resizing the terminal running top results in the window gets bigger but the text doesn't update all the way down. allthough there are more processes running.

If I resize the window before running the programs all is well.

Do I have to provide more information??

Can someone please advice me how to correct the problem.

//Clanman

Offline

#2 2005-03-29 15:45:17

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: resizing terminal window (solution provided)

Hmm this is a problem with those types of programs... vim will do it too... i don't think there's any "fix", you just gotta kinda deal with it...

Offline

#3 2005-03-29 16:11:13

Clanman
Member
Registered: 2005-02-08
Posts: 35

Re: resizing terminal window (solution provided)

No I don't think it is the program. Rebooted into Mepis linux and run a terminal with top.
I resized without problem

I think it has something to do with fonts......

//Clanman

Offline

#4 2005-03-29 16:22:48

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: resizing terminal window (solution provided)

did you try the terminal with the same program? why are you comparing to how top works to how nano works? top redraws itself every few seconds...

Offline

#5 2005-03-29 16:32:04

Clanman
Member
Registered: 2005-02-08
Posts: 35

Re: resizing terminal window (solution provided)

No I know that nano and top are two different progs. (editor and process viewer)

The problem is
I open a terminal (it opens in a relativ small window)
I start top (the program runs and displays like 10 processes)
I want to view all processes. So I click on the maximize button and voila. The window resizes but top only prints out the same information. 10 processes.

Same but different with nano. but here all text dissapers

Above is under arch linux xfce xterm

Did the same under Mepis linux. and top works the way I want it to it resizes and shows 20-30 processes

//clanman

Offline

#6 2005-03-29 16:37:43

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: resizing terminal window (solution provided)

using the same window manager?
check the differences in... hmmm termcap and terminfo?

Offline

#7 2005-03-29 17:32:21

Clanman
Member
Registered: 2005-02-08
Posts: 35

Re: resizing terminal window (solution provided)

No not the same window manager. xfce under Arch and KDE under Mepis. I will check the files and report back. Does your terminal behave in the same way?

//Clanman

Offline

#8 2005-03-29 17:33:12

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: resizing terminal window (solution provided)

yeah it does, but I maximize it on startup... so it doesn't affect me...

Offline

#9 2005-03-29 17:49:38

Clanman
Member
Registered: 2005-02-08
Posts: 35

Re: resizing terminal window (solution provided)

Hmmm
In mepis I have a termcap file in /etc
In arch I have a termcap library under /usr/share/vte/  and it contains a file called xterm no other termcap found
the file called xterm under arch is short compaird to the one in mepis
Where should the termcapfile be lokated? can I copy the one from Mepis to arch


In arch I have two librarys called terminfo one under /usr/lib containing altot of catalogs 1-9 and a-z
and one under /usr/share having the same catalogs no file called terminfo found

Under Mepsi i have the same but also under /etc. and there are fiewer catalogs under mepis.  no file called terminfo

Thanks for taking your time and helping me

//clanman

Offline

#10 2005-03-29 18:22:55

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: resizing terminal window (solution provided)

Resizing with nano doesn't work with pure aterm but it works if you run nano inside screen inside aterm :-)

Offline

#11 2005-03-29 18:33:27

Clanman
Member
Registered: 2005-02-08
Posts: 35

Re: resizing terminal window (solution provided)

I think I am beginning to understand the termcapfile

Is $TERM = xterm in arch (It is in Mepis)
ARCH
the xterm termcap in arch says

xterm|X11 terminal emulator:
:tc=xterm-redhat:                          # this means that read under xterm-redhat

xterm-redhat|Red Hat xterm (backspace and delete changed):
:kD=E[3~:kb=177          # this changes delete and backspace to somting I dont understand
:tc=xterm-xfree86:                             # this means read under xterm-xfree86

xterm-xfree86|xterm-new|xterm terminal emulator (XFree86):
:am:km:mi:ms:xn:
:co#80:it#8:li#24:
:AL=E[%dL:DC=E[%dP:DL=E[%dM:DO=E[%dB:IC=E[%d@:
:LE=E[%dD:
:RI=E[%dC:UP=E[%dA:ae=^O:al=E[L:as=^N:bl=^G:bt=E[Z:
:cd=E[J:ce=E[K:cl=E[HE[2J:cm=E[%i%d;%dH:cr=^M:
:cs=E[%i%d;%dr:ct=E[3g:dc=E[P:dl=E[M:do=^J:ec=E[%dX:
:ei=E[4l:ho=E[H:im=E[4h:is=E[!pE[?3;4lE[4lE>:
:kD=177:
:kb=^H:ke=E[?1lE>:
:ks=E[?1hE=:le=^H:mb=E[5m:md=E[1m:
:me=E[m17:mr=E[7m:nd=E[C:rc=E8:sc=E7:se=E[27m:
:sf=^J:so=E[7m:sr=EM:st=EH:ta=^I:te=E[?1047lE[?1048l:
:ti=E[?1048hE[?1047h:ue=E[24m:up=E[A:us=E[4m:
:vb=E[?5hE[?5l:ve=E[?25h:vi=E[?25l:vs=E[?25h:
#other setting that I dont understand


MEPIS
xterm|X11 terminal emulator:
:tc=xterm-debian:

# xterm-debian is identical to xterm-xfree86 with the addition of a small
# VT220-ism regarding the backspace and delete keys; this is mandated by
# the keyboard configuration section of the Debian Policy Manual.
xterm-debian|Debian xterm (backspace, delete changed):
       :kb=^?:kD=E[3~:
       :tc=xterm-xfree86:


### Begin Debian modifications ###
xterm-xfree86|XFree86 xterm:
:is=E[!pE[?3;4lE[4lE>:
:rs=E[!pE[?3;4lE[4lE>:
:AL=E[%dL:DL=E[%dM:DC=E[%dP:DO=E[%dB:UP=E[%dA:
:LE=E[%dD:RI=E[%dC:
:al=E[L:am:bl=^G:
:cd=E[J:ce=E[K:cl=E[HE[2J:cm=E[%i%d;%dH:co#80:
:cs=E[%i%d;%dr:ct=E[3g:
:dc=E[P:dl=E[M:ho=E[H:
:im=E[4h:ei=E[4l:mi:
:ks=E[?1hE=:ke=E[?1lE>:
:k1=EOP:k2=EOQ:k3=EOR:k4=EOS:
:k5=E[15~:k6=E[17~:k7=E[18~:k8=E[19~:k9=E[20~:
:k;=E[21~:F1=E[23~:F2=E[24~:
:kn#12:
:kH=E[4~::@7=E[4~:kh=E[1~:
:@0=E[1~:kI=E[2~:kD=^?:
:*6=E[4~:kP=E[5~:kN=E[6~:
:km:
:kb=^H:ku=EOA:kd=EOB:kr=EOC:kl=EOD:
:li#24:md=E[1m:me=E[m^O:mr=E[7m:ms:nd=E[C:
:eA=E)0:as=^N:ae=^O:ml=El:mu=Em:
:sc=E7:rc=E8:sf=n:so=E[7m:se=E[27m:sr=EM:st=EH:
:ti=E7E[?47h:te=E[2JE[?47lE8:
:vi=E[?25l:ve=E[?25h:
:up=E[A:us=E[4m:ue=E[24m:xn:
:ut:Co#8:op=E[39;49m:AB=E[4%dm:AF=E[3%dm:
:pa#64:Sf=E[3%dm:Sb=E[4%dm:



//Clanman

Offline

#12 2005-03-29 18:38:46

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: resizing terminal window (solution provided)

leave it to debian to put a smiley face in there..
wink


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#13 2005-03-29 18:55:53

Clanman
Member
Registered: 2005-02-08
Posts: 35

Re: resizing terminal window (solution provided)

lanrat wrote:

Resizing with nano doesn't work with pure aterm but it works if you run nano inside screen inside aterm :-)

I installed nano under Mepis and it resizes just fine. Alllthough this is with xterm if that matters???

//Clanman

Offline

#14 2005-03-29 19:14:50

Clanman
Member
Registered: 2005-02-08
Posts: 35

Re: resizing terminal window (solution provided)

cactus wrote:

leave it to debian to put a smiley face in there..
wink

Yeah I saw that it is yikes  ":ut:Co#8:op=E[39;49m:AB=E[4%dm:AF=E[3%dm:"
It is the forum smilie detector that did it
(turned it of to show the correct line)
//Clanman

Offline

#15 2005-03-31 01:39:12

sigSEGV
Member
Registered: 2005-03-31
Posts: 9

Re: resizing terminal window (solution provided)

I had the same problem.  I ended up removing loginShell: true in my .Xdefaults to fix it.   I don't know if there is something in one of my ~/.bash* scripts that is at fault -- maybe it doesn't like one of the escape sequences for my prompt...  :?

Offline

#16 2005-03-31 06:08:09

cs25x
Member
Registered: 2004-05-04
Posts: 150

Re: resizing terminal window (solution provided)

That is amazing, I have used xfce for ages & never ever knew this happened. Try rxvt, it resizes perfectly. xterm misbehaves for me too.


--(*(cs25x--));

Offline

#17 2005-04-02 16:45:30

Clanman
Member
Registered: 2005-02-08
Posts: 35

Re: resizing terminal window (solution provided)

Thanks for the tip. rxvt works fine. Now I must figure out howto configure rxvt

//Clanman

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB