You are not logged in.

#1 2010-07-27 21:00:27

d3adfool
Member
Registered: 2008-08-20
Posts: 49
Website

starcraft2 crashing on loading

im running bim32-wine-sc2 and after i click play it does nothing for a little bit then crashes.

 wine cd/Installer.exe 
fixme:ntdll:NtPowerInformation semi-stub: SystemPowerCapabilities
fixme:font:CreateScalableFontResourceW (0,L"C:\\users\\lnxusr\\Temp\\Blizzard Installer Temporary Data - 0021abd0\\EurostileExt-Med.fot",L"C:\\users\\lnxusr\\Temp\\Blizzard Installer Temporary Data - 0021abd0\\EurostileExt-Med.ttf",(null)): stub
fixme:mixer:ALSA_MixerInit No master control found on HDA ATI HDMI, disabling mixer
fixme:dsalsa:IDsDriverBufferImpl_SetVolumePan (0x16a460,0x16a3a8): stub
fixme:hnetcfg:fw_profile_get_FirewallEnabled 0x1a1cd8, 0x33f1d8
lnxusr@uranus:~/.wine/drive_c/sc2install $ fixme:ras:RasEnumConnectionsA (0x630607a8,0x127e820,0x6305f610),stub!
fixme:ras:RasEnumConnectionsA RAS support is not implemented! Configure program to use LAN connection/winsock instead!
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0xf7c210,0x00000000), stub!
fixme:ddraw:DirectDrawEnumerateExA flags 0x00000003 not handled
fixme:hnetcfg:fw_profile_get_FirewallEnabled 0x130cf0, 0x439f0e8
fixme:process:GetProcessWorkingSetSize (0xffffffff,0x439ed78,0x439ed7c): stub
fixme:ntdll:NtQuerySystemInformation info_class SYSTEM_PERFORMANCE_INFORMATION
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x439e914,0x00000000), stub!
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x439e848,0x00000000), stub!
fixme:d3d:debug_d3dformat Unrecognized 909198916 (as fourcc: DF16) WINED3DFORMAT!
fixme:d3d:getFormatDescEntry Can't find format unrecognized(909198916) in the format lookup table
fixme:d3d:debug_d3dformat Unrecognized 909198916 (as fourcc: DF16) WINED3DFORMAT!
fixme:d3d:getFormatDescEntry Can't find format unrecognized(909198916) in the format lookup table
fixme:d3d:debug_d3dformat Unrecognized 875710020 (as fourcc: DF24) WINED3DFORMAT!
fixme:d3d:getFormatDescEntry Can't find format unrecognized(875710020) in the format lookup table
fixme:d3d:debug_d3dformat Unrecognized 875710020 (as fourcc: DF24) WINED3DFORMAT!
fixme:d3d:getFormatDescEntry Can't find format unrecognized(875710020) in the format lookup table
fixme:d3d:debug_d3dformat Unrecognized 1280070990 (as fourcc: NULL) WINED3DFORMAT!
fixme:d3d:getFormatDescEntry Can't find format unrecognized(1280070990) in the format lookup table
fixme:d3d:debug_d3dformat Unrecognized 1280070990 (as fourcc: NULL) WINED3DFORMAT!
fixme:d3d:getFormatDescEntry Can't find format unrecognized(1280070990) in the format lookup table
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x439e22c,0x00000000), stub!
fixme:d3d:swapchain_init Add OpenGL context recreation support to context_validate_onscreen_formats
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x439e204,0x00000000), stub!
fixme:thread:SetThreadIdealProcessor (0xfffffffe): stub
fixme:thread:SetThreadIdealProcessor (0xfffffffe): stub
fixme:thread:SetThreadIdealProcessor (0xfffffffe): stub
err:ole:COMPOBJ_DllList_Add couldn't load in-process dll L"mmdevapi.dll"
err:ole:create_server class {bcde0395-e52f-467c-8e3d-c4579291692e} not registered
fixme:ole:CoGetClassObject CLSCTX_REMOTE_SERVER not supported
err:ole:CoGetClassObject no class object {bcde0395-e52f-467c-8e3d-c4579291692e} could be created for context 0x17
fixme:mixer:ALSA_MixerInit No master control found on HDA ATI HDMI, disabling mixer
fixme:dsalsa:IDsDriverBufferImpl_SetVolumePan (0x91ca370,0x91ca8c8): stub
fixme:dsalsa:IDsDriverBufferImpl_SetVolumePan (0x91ca370,0x91ca8c8): stub
fixme:dsalsa:IDsDriverBufferImpl_SetVolumePan (0x91ca370,0x91ca8c8): stub
fixme:msctf:ThreadMgrSource_AdviseSink (0x9218f78) Unhandled Sink: {71c6e74e-0f28-11d8-a82a-00065b84435c}
fixme:process:GetProcessWorkingSetSize (0xffffffff,0x371cd74,0x371cd78): stub
fixme:process:GetProcessWorkingSetSize (0xffffffff,0x371ca00,0x371ca04): stub
fixme:ntdll:NtPowerInformation semi-stub: SystemPowerCapabilities
fixme:exec:SHELL_execute flags ignored: 0x00000100
fixme:dxdiag:ProcessCommandLine /t unimplemented

Offline

#2 2010-07-27 21:28:41

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

Are you sure it will run?
http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.p … &iId=19376

Last edited by karol (2010-07-27 21:30:10)

Offline

#3 2010-07-27 21:29:48

d3adfool
Member
Registered: 2008-08-20
Posts: 49
Website

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

ya it either crashes during the loading or during the login. once i got to a cpu game adn it crashed like 2 seconds into it

Offline

#4 2010-07-27 21:33:25

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

Check my previous post & the link - yes, it crashes a lot, it's brand new - even SC and BW don't work 100% OK after all those years.

Offline

#5 2010-07-27 21:36:10

d3adfool
Member
Registered: 2008-08-20
Posts: 49
Website

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

what about it? i checked there so im asking here

Offline

#6 2010-07-27 21:54:48

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

1. Did you try the regular wine? Version 1.2 includes some sc2 patches so it may run fine.
2. Are you running the retail version or beta of sc2? If retail ... give it some time. It was released _today_, right?

Offline

#7 2010-07-28 01:48:32

d3adfool
Member
Registered: 2008-08-20
Posts: 49
Website

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

wine 1.2 does not work i just upgraded to it and it wont let me log in. also i have the retail and ive seen people online saying it works perfectly fine

Offline

#8 2010-07-28 12:05:59

iggy
Member
From: Germany, L.E. - Leipzig
Registered: 2004-10-17
Posts: 367

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

i'm playing sc2 since yesterday without problems smile

these are the things I did:
- install bin32-wine 1.2
- switch to kernel26-lts (2.6.32), because 2.6.34 has a bug which causes sc2 to crash
- remove your ~/.wine directory
- run winecfg - disable mmdevapi, switch to oss sound, select windows 7 as windows version

that was it for me! I hope it helps you...


sorry for my bad english smile

Offline

#9 2010-07-28 12:09:29

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

@ iggy
Please post you hardware too - in case it only works w/ certain cards etc.

Could you make a wiki page out of that info?

Offline

#10 2010-07-29 02:03:37

Ziemas
Member
Registered: 2009-06-07
Posts: 14

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

I managed to get it to work fine.
I have bin32-wine 1.2 and upgraded to kernel 2.6.35-rc6 to solve the crash issue.

Offline

#11 2010-07-29 02:05:46

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

Just curious, you guys are using bin32-wine 'cause you're on 64-bit or because the regular wine doesn't work?

Offline

#12 2010-07-29 02:15:50

Ziemas
Member
Registered: 2009-06-07
Posts: 14

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

karol wrote:

Just curious, you guys are using bin32-wine 'cause you're on 64-bit or because the regular wine doesn't work?

I'm on 64-bit.

Offline

#13 2010-07-29 09:14:35

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 6,854

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

karol wrote:

Just curious, you guys are using bin32-wine 'cause you're on 64-bit or because the regular wine doesn't work?

You can't use bin32-wine on a 32-bit install.


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#14 2010-07-29 10:48:05

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

ngoonee wrote:
karol wrote:

Just curious, you guys are using bin32-wine 'cause you're on 64-bit or because the regular wine doesn't work?

You can't use bin32-wine on a 32-bit install.

Umm, yeah, that actually makes sense. For some reason I "thought" that bin32-wine is sth you run _inside_ wine.
Let me get another cup of coffee ...

Offline

#15 2010-07-29 15:13:39

corte
Member
Registered: 2010-07-29
Posts: 9

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

Man it's been quite a nightmare trying to get this to work...I've tried using various versions of wine, along with iggy's instructions above.

I'm running 64-bit arch on the 2.6.35-rc6-rc kernel (from the AUR) & a 9800 GT with the NVIDIA beta drivers (also from AUR).  I can't even get the game to launch, as it's simply displaying a crash report at launch.

My symtoms are describe perfectly in this post in the SC2 WineHQ:

Can't Launch SCII
by Stephen
(http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.p … ment-61530)

I can see that the poster had managed to get the game working by tweaking some things in nvidia-settings.  Sadly, he's not responded to my post asking exactly what he did.

Here's my wine output: http://pastebin.org/428096

and here's the crash report: http://pastebin.org/428098

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!  thanks smile!

EDIT:

Ok, I solved this by reinstalling :\.

Last edited by corte (2010-08-02 20:42:27)

Offline

#16 2010-07-31 13:08:17

scorpyn
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 66

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

x86_64 here.

It's kinda working sometimes for me. It seems more stable if I'm not running anything else at the same time. It would probably be more stable if I upgraded the kernel, I'm still using 2.6.34.

To get rid of some other warnings and fix some issues, I installed lib32-libjpeg, lib32-openal, lib32-esound, lib32-mpg123 and lib32-jack.

Of those, I think lib32-libjpeg and lib32-openal are the only ones that actually matter. Not sure though.

I haven't disabled mmdevapi, it's not necessary if lib32-openal is installed. When I'm able to launch the game, sound works.

I'm using Windows XP mode and ALSA. I've tried a few others, none seem more or less stable.

Until yesterday I was using bin32-wine, but today pacman asked me to use community/wine instead (wine 1.3.0). At the end of that install, there is a list of optional dependencies, and I decided to install them all. I've also installed lib32.

Next on my todo list is to try another kernel version, but I'll probably not have time to do that before 2.6.35 is in core.


Hardware Specs (Since the poster below me wanted it. Most of this will be replaced, partly because memtest thinks I should, so it's not 100% stable.)

Graphics : 01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G73GL [Quadro FX 560] (rev a1)  <- (extra/nvidia, extra/nvidia-utils, community/lib32-nvidia-utils)
Sound : 05:00.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB X-Fi (default kernel module)
CPU : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU @ 2.40GHz
Mobo : Gigabyte GA-P35-DS4
RAM : 4 GB
uname -a : Linux dammsugaren 2.6.34-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Jul 5 22:12:11 CEST 2010 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU @ 2.40GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

I forgot to add that I have lowered all graphics settings as much as possible. It does however appear that if I get far enough to be able to login then it works. Except that after a while the graphics crap out and lots of stuff turns black etc. This may be due to a hardware issue.

Btw, as far as installing goes... at first I installed it by copying everything on the dvd to a folder in .wine/drive_c, but then I uninstalled it and used the installer from their website instead (which downloads everything and then installs it). If you use the downloader, go to View -> Preferences and check "Don't throttle background download". I reinstalled because it failed to launch, which turned out to be because lib32-libjpeg wasn't installed, so it failed again.

Last edited by scorpyn (2010-07-31 15:08:19)

Offline

#17 2010-07-31 13:40:47

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

I'm not really familiar with the game, maybe there are some quality settings you can adjust and make the game more playable (but less pretty)?

Please include your hardware configs in your posts - what works for one card / one manufacturer may not work for another.

Offline

#18 2010-07-31 18:12:43

d3adfool
Member
Registered: 2008-08-20
Posts: 49
Website

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

ok i got my 460 in and have the beta drivers along with wine 1.3 and kernel .35 and i still get the black screen when loading any help?

Offline

#19 2010-07-31 18:23:18

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

d3adfool wrote:

ok i got my 460 in and have the beta drivers along with wine 1.3 and kernel .35 and i still get the black screen when loading any help?

A note for future posters, please say if you're on 32 or 64-bit and whether some tweaks work (e.g. WinXP v Win7 mode).

Offline

#20 2010-07-31 19:12:04

d3adfool
Member
Registered: 2008-08-20
Posts: 49
Website

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

im on 64 bit in xp mode

Offline

#21 2010-07-31 19:21:52

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

d3adfool wrote:

im on 64 bit in xp mode

Did you try this?
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 94#p799594
Especially "run winecfg - disable mmdevapi, switch to oss sound, select windows 7 as windows version"?

Offline

#22 2010-08-01 01:45:50

d3adfool
Member
Registered: 2008-08-20
Posts: 49
Website

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

ya i tried all of that i was fooling around with regedit and did some stuff with graphics and i get 12 fps on ultra at 1920x1080 smile

Offline

#23 2010-08-01 01:48:59

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

d3adfool wrote:

ya i tried all of that i was fooling around with regedit and did some stuff with graphics and i get 12 fps on ultra at 1920x1080 smile

I see that you're happy but could you *please* share some details about the tweaking and regedit and stuff?

Offline

#24 2010-08-01 03:23:37

mDuo13
Member
Registered: 2010-04-25
Posts: 90

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

I'm also trying to get this working. I got through the installer and patch, but Starcraft is crashing on bootup. Since the crashing is supposedly tied with the kernel version, I checked which one I was running.

The weird thing is that I installed kernel26-rc from aur -- went through the whole long process of compiling the kernel and all, it didn't throw any errors of note, and I even watched it compile and compress kernel image files. But after a reboot, uname -a is still telling me I'm running 2.6.34-ARCH, not 2.6.35-rc6-rc. Anyone got any idea why this happens? Do I need to manually update GRUB to get the new kernel or something?

Offline

#25 2010-08-01 03:30:50

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: starcraft2 crashing on loading

mDuo13 wrote:

I'm also trying to get this working. I got through the installer and patch, but Starcraft is crashing on bootup. Since the crashing is supposedly tied with the kernel version, I checked which one I was running.

The weird thing is that I installed kernel26-rc from aur -- went through the whole long process of compiling the kernel and all, it didn't throw any errors of note, and I even watched it compile and compress kernel image files. But after a reboot, uname -a is still telling me I'm running 2.6.34-ARCH, not 2.6.35-rc6-rc. Anyone got any idea why this happens? Do I need to manually update GRUB to get the new kernel or something?

Maybe you need to 'mkinitcpio -p kernel26'.
Run 'pacman -Q kernel26' - what does it show?

Last edited by karol (2010-08-01 04:13:41)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB