You are not logged in.

#1 2005-04-07 19:35:56

stonecrest
Member
From: Boulder
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 1,190

how to get grub back? [resolved]

As much as I'd love to get rid of my Win XP partition, I'm forced to use it for work. Anyway, I recently re-installed Windows.. and now when I boot up, it goes straight into windows and bypasses grub.

I have a live cd so I can get into my arch partition.. but how do I get grub to load when I boot up? I've searched all over and can't find a simple answer.. Thanks in advance.


I am a gated community.

Offline

#2 2005-04-07 21:44:45

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: how to get grub back? [resolved]

mount -t filetype /dev/whatever /mnt 
 chroot /mnt /bin/bash 
 grub-install /dev/hdx

where x is the device you want grub to be installed

Offline

#3 2005-04-07 22:12:08

stonecrest
Member
From: Boulder
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 1,190

Re: how to get grub back? [resolved]

Thanks Penguin! I will try this when I get back home..


I am a gated community.

Offline

#4 2005-04-07 23:17:01

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: how to get grub back? [resolved]

grub is gone because Windows always overwrites your MBR when you install it. Its main feature is that it only recognizes other Windows installs.

If Penguin's solution doesn't work, you can boot off the Arch install CD, do

mount -t <fs> /dev/<yourlinuxroot> /mnt
/arch/setup

and simply run "Install bootloader".


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#5 2005-04-08 01:07:57

stonecrest
Member
From: Boulder
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 1,190

Re: how to get grub back? [resolved]

I tried Penguin's approach but the command "grub-install /dev/hda" never worked. I tried a zillion things other than "/dev/hda" just in case that wasn't right but I never got it to work.

FUBAR, I tried your approach and grub now loads! However, I can't get into my arch partitions sad It's using the same grub.menu file that I've always used, I don't know why it suddenly won't work. When I try to boot into Arch, I get:

root (hd0,3)
  Filesystem type unknown, partition type 0xf
kernel /boot/vmlinuz26mm root=/dev/discs/disc0/part4 ro

Error 17: Cannot mount selected partition

How can this be? Argh, I miss Arch sad


I am a gated community.

Offline

#6 2005-04-08 02:16:34

darkcoder
Member
From: A bar near you
Registered: 2004-09-10
Posts: 310

Re: how to get grub back? [resolved]

check your partitions, you  are trying to install grub on an W95 Ext'd (LBA)  as reported by fdisk.  Type fdisk -l (lower L) and when you found for /boot or / partition (whichever you have) then type: 

#grub
root (hd0,x)   x = partition where /boot or / resides.
setup (hd0)

Offline

#7 2005-04-08 10:55:37

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: how to get grub back? [resolved]

When the grub menu loads at boot, hit the "e" key. Now you can edit your config and try booting it with "b". This way you can search for the right bootdevice.

Don't forget to edit /boot/grub/menu.lst afterwards, as the changes you make during bootup are not saved.


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#8 2005-04-09 01:26:55

stonecrest
Member
From: Boulder
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 1,190

Re: how to get grub back? [resolved]

Thanks guys! I finally got it working.. I have no idea how it happened but some of the numbers for my partitions in both grub's menu.lst file and the fstab file were off by one. All I had done is reinstalled windows on the same partition it was already on... I don't understand it, but I'm glad to be back  8)


I am a gated community.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB