You are not logged in.

#1 2010-08-09 07:50:02

perfector
Member
Registered: 2010-08-09
Posts: 19

Acer Aspire 4736z need to get Suspend/Hibernate working

Hi,

I tried following the guide at http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Sus … ate-script to suspend my laptop. When I issue:

# hibernate -F /etc/hibernate/ususpend-disk.conf

I get the message that the contents are being saved to disk and the laptop shuts of properly, but when I reboot it does not resume back to it's original state but does a normal boot.

Can someone please shed some light on this problem.

Thanks in advance.

Offline

#2 2010-08-09 09:14:02

scar
Member
From: Hungary
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 411

Re: Acer Aspire 4736z need to get Suspend/Hibernate working

I've seen the page you refer to,
it seems to me a bit fuzzy - have a look
on the top of the page

have you tried pm-utils instead of this?

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pm-utils


“The future has already arrived. It's just not evenly distributed yet.”
― William Gibson

Offline

#3 2010-08-09 15:40:54

perfector
Member
Registered: 2010-08-09
Posts: 19

Re: Acer Aspire 4736z need to get Suspend/Hibernate working

Thanks a lot for pointing out that article. In this case hibernate works but suspend to disk causes the same issue. It saves the snapshot but does not resume from it. The grub entries are also fine.

Offline

#4 2010-08-09 19:42:49

mbishop
Member
Registered: 2010-08-01
Posts: 6

Re: Acer Aspire 4736z need to get Suspend/Hibernate working

In my case, to get hibernate to work, I had to add "suspend"  to HOOKS in /etc/mkinitcpio.conf, then " mkinitcpio -p kernel26" to rebuild the image.  Now booting checks for a ram image (aspire 532h).

Offline

#5 2010-08-10 03:59:06

perfector
Member
Registered: 2010-08-09
Posts: 19

Re: Acer Aspire 4736z need to get Suspend/Hibernate working

mbishop wrote:

In my case, to get hibernate to work, I had to add "suspend"  to HOOKS in /etc/mkinitcpio.conf, then " mkinitcpio -p kernel26" to rebuild the image.  Now booting checks for a ram image (aspire 532h).

I tried adding the suspend hook, I get this error which rebuilding the image.

FATAL: Hook 'suspend' can not be found.

Although i have added "resume" to HOOKS.

Offline

#6 2010-08-10 19:52:43

mbishop
Member
Registered: 2010-08-01
Posts: 6

Re: Acer Aspire 4736z need to get Suspend/Hibernate working

Oops!  Type in haste, repent at leisure.  I meant add "resume" of course.  This certainly fixed it for me.

To state the obvious, you do have a "resume=<device>" entry in grub, right?

Offline

#7 2010-08-11 04:14:49

perfector
Member
Registered: 2010-08-09
Posts: 19

Re: Acer Aspire 4736z need to get Suspend/Hibernate working

Yes I do have that entry in the menu.lst file.

kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/a39731bb-fc4d-47c6-a746-6600f7ef4e1e ro usbcore.autosuspend=1 i915.modeset=1 resume=/dev/sda5

/dev/sda5 is my swap partition.

Here's a few lines from dmesg

PM: Starting manual resume from disk
PM: Resume from partition 8:5
PM: Checking hibernation image.
PM: Error -22 checking image file
PM: Resume from disk failed.

Any idea what an error -22 means?? Wrong partition? No image?

Offline

#8 2010-08-11 20:31:03

mbishop
Member
Registered: 2010-08-01
Posts: 6

Re: Acer Aspire 4736z need to get Suspend/Hibernate working

I have just realized (after some hibernate testing) that we are talking about different "hibernates".  I use "pm-hibernate" from pm-utils and the machine saves and powers down.  Pressing the power button resumes without problem and no message "Starting manual resume ..." (manual resume?)

So perhaps the pm-utils package will solve your problems.

Offline

#9 2010-08-11 21:07:59

schen
Member
Registered: 2009-06-06
Posts: 468

Re: Acer Aspire 4736z need to get Suspend/Hibernate working

Offline

#10 2010-08-12 11:28:48

perfector
Member
Registered: 2010-08-09
Posts: 19

Re: Acer Aspire 4736z need to get Suspend/Hibernate working

mbishop wrote:

perhaps the pm-utils package will solve your problems.

I am actually using pm-utils and facing the problem.

Offline

#11 2010-08-12 11:31:16

perfector
Member
Registered: 2010-08-09
Posts: 19

Re: Acer Aspire 4736z need to get Suspend/Hibernate working

schen wrote:

Actually yes It seems like a better option. I tried it out and I'm still not able to get hibernate working. Attaching the dmesg output. Hoping to find a solution to this issue:

TuxOnIce debugging info:
- TuxOnIce core  : 3.1
- Kernel Version : 2.6.33-rt-ice
- Compiler vers. : 4.5
- Attempt number : 4
- Parameters     : 4097 667656 0 1 0 0
- Overall expected compression percentage: 0.
- Compressor is 'lzo'.
- Block I/O active.
- Max outstanding reads 1. Max writes 0.
  Memory_needed: 1024 x (4096 + 200 + 72) = 4472832 bytes.
  Free mem throttle point reached 0.
- No I/O speed stats available.
- Extra pages    : 0 used/2000.
- Result         : Hibernation was aborted.
                 : We were unable to successfully prepare an image.
uvcvideo: Found UVC 1.00 device Video WebCam (064e:a103)
input: Video WebCam as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.7/usb3/3-4/3-4:1.0/input/input14
usbcore: registered new interface driver uvcvideo
USB Video Class driver (v0.1.0)

Offline

#12 2010-08-12 13:30:33

perfector
Member
Registered: 2010-08-09
Posts: 19

Re: Acer Aspire 4736z need to get Suspend/Hibernate working

After a bit of tweaking I'm now getting the "BIG FAT WARNING!" at boot. How can I go about debugging this? I'm using kernel26-rt-ice btw. The kernel26-ice was not finding a patch it was trying to download. I think that should not make a difference. Hope I'm not wrong.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB