You are not logged in.

#1 2005-04-07 05:54:59

jaawood
Member
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2005-01-30
Posts: 31
Website

webmin ssh

I just installed webmin via pacman very successfully, and everything runs smoothly except for one thing.  I can't ssh into my system.  Whenever I go to "Other" then SSH, it gives me an error that "no telnet server could be found on port 23", or something very similar to that.  Basically, I think it is looking for a ssh server on port 23 instead of 22.  Does anyone know how to fix this?

Thanks


<html>
<a href="http://www.jrspc.net">My Website</a>

Offline

#2 2005-04-07 10:06:46

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: webmin ssh

Were you able to SSH into your box without Webmin? If not, read through the Arch install guide, the answer is there. tongue


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#3 2005-04-07 10:17:19

timmy
Member
From: Christiansfeld - Denmark
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 45
Website

Re: webmin ssh

More specific: http://www.archlinux.org/docs/en/guide/ … .html#faq6
But you might aswell read it all anyway smile


Know your rights - http://rwxr-xr-x.dk

Offline

#4 2005-04-08 05:54:03

jaawood
Member
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2005-01-30
Posts: 31
Website

Re: webmin ssh

I was able to ssh into my system fine before i installed webmin, and i still can.  But i can't ssh through the webmin interface, where they have the place for you to ssh under the Other category.  I think it is looking for port 23, when ssh actually runs on 22. I am not sure why though.


<html>
<a href="http://www.jrspc.net">My Website</a>

Offline

#5 2005-04-09 01:47:44

neotuli
Lazy Developer
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2004-07-06
Posts: 1,201
Website

Re: webmin ssh

solution: don't use webmin smile

...thought I won't get into this argument again...the last time I tried the thread ended up a flame war and got locked and deleted.


The suggestion box only accepts patches.

Offline

#6 2005-04-09 07:57:12

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: webmin ssh

hi
the default is set to telnet and not ssh --> port 23
change the module config to use ssh then it should work

@ neotuli:
you don't have to use webmin wink but some like it to use

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB