You are not logged in.

#1 2010-08-17 15:19:44

PyrO_70
Member
From: Edinburgh, Scotland
Registered: 2010-05-15
Posts: 9
Website

BatterySystemTray - Batteries status, and Cpufreq frontend

Hi everyone.

I'm currently programming a System Tray application[1] which provide useful
information about batteries status and a nice frontend to Cpufreq daemon[2] that I also written.
Written in Qt, it use UPower via DBus to retrieve batteries information, as hal is now deprecated.
If some people are currently using it, or if you want to do so, please feel free to report any problem
to me, advises/ideas are also welcomed.

Cheers,
  PyrO_70

Screenshots : http://image.pyrotools.org/pyrotools/ba … status.png
Source : http://gitorious.org/ptbatterysystemtray

[1] http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=37275
[2] http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=39369

Last edited by PyrO_70 (2011-05-26 15:09:01)

Offline

#2 2010-08-17 22:13:35

Jimi
Member
From: Brooklyn, NY
Registered: 2009-09-25
Posts: 125
Website

Re: BatterySystemTray - Batteries status, and Cpufreq frontend

I'll be sure to try this out for my laptop! Just a heads up, I've come to the conclusion (as has PowerTop) that the "On demand" governor is superior to the "Conservative" one, since it uses less power processing a task at a higher frequency quickly than churning away at a task at a lower frequency for longer.

Offline

#3 2010-08-18 16:31:02

PyrO_70
Member
From: Edinburgh, Scotland
Registered: 2010-05-15
Posts: 9
Website

Re: BatterySystemTray - Batteries status, and Cpufreq frontend

I use the "ondemand" governor. The governor is set to "Conservative" on the screen because I did some tests wink

Offline

#4 2011-05-08 08:23:35

skai
Member
Registered: 2009-03-01
Posts: 34

Re: BatterySystemTray - Batteries status, and Cpufreq frontend

THANK YOU for this app.

This is exactly what I needed.

Offline

#5 2012-04-30 18:49:04

PyrO_70
Member
From: Edinburgh, Scotland
Registered: 2010-05-15
Posts: 9
Website

Re: BatterySystemTray - Batteries status, and Cpufreq frontend

Hi everyone,

Just to let you know that I released a new version (release candidate) of batterysystemtray, as well as for ucpufreq.

It's not much of a change in terms of features as it's pretty much identical, though the interface did move a bit.
Most of the work in within the code itself, it's easier to maintain, hence to improve it.

Main changes are :

batterysystemtray:
- Choose the main device
- Power Line is displayed as a device and it's possible to set up alert when it's plugged or unplugged
- Low and Full alert for batteries
- Notifications uses the message system integrated with Qt System tray icons. (plans are to be able
to use a desktop notification system, when I light and widely used system)

ucpufreq:
- The DBus interface now looks like any other dbus interfaces (same naming convention)
- XML files describing the DBus interface is available in /usr/share/dbus-1/interfaces/org.pyrotools.UCpufreq*.xml
- The DBus interface makes more use of properties to ease the interaction with other software if needed


Please, if you are already using the application you can either update the current package using AUR or search for the new 1.0.0-rc2 version in AUR.

batterysystemtray-git : https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=37275
batterysystemtray-1.0.0-rc2 : https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=58900

ucpufreq-git : https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=39369
ucpufreq-1.0.0-rc3 : https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=58899

Hope you'll find it better, do not hesitate to give me feedback !

Brieuc.

Last edited by PyrO_70 (2012-04-30 18:57:08)

Offline

#6 2012-10-19 11:00:28

magillos
Member
Registered: 2010-07-03
Posts: 15

Re: BatterySystemTray - Batteries status, and Cpufreq frontend

Your program is great. Is there anything extra to be done to let ucpufreq show and change my governor and frequency?
Daemon is running and ucpufreq seems to be active in ptbatterysystemtray but I can't see or change any settings.



I installed git version of ucpufreq and it's ok now.

Last edited by magillos (2012-10-19 19:19:47)

Offline

#7 2012-10-19 15:00:22

zeltak
Member
From: New England
Registered: 2010-08-07
Posts: 165

Re: BatterySystemTray - Batteries status, and Cpufreq frontend

hya

looks cool and seems to work really well. can you add a option to always show the percent left overlaid on the icon/alongside?

txh

Z

Offline

#8 2012-11-08 12:49:44

franziskaner.fan
Member
From: Barcelona
Registered: 2011-07-01
Posts: 23
Website

Re: BatterySystemTray - Batteries status, and Cpufreq frontend

Hi,
thanks for your work!
I'm trying to use the ptbatterysystemtray+ucpufreq but I can't get the battery status working (actually I'm using Qbat and it works fine).
I've been looking for 5minutes the source code but can't find easly where to see what's waiting your process to get the battery info.
Can you help me?
Thanks

Offline

#9 2012-11-11 10:55:14

BennyBolton
Member
From: Christchurch New Zealand
Registered: 2011-10-14
Posts: 63
Website

Re: BatterySystemTray - Batteries status, and Cpufreq frontend

franziskaner.fan wrote:

Hi,
thanks for your work!
I'm trying to use the ptbatterysystemtray+ucpufreq but I can't get the battery status working (actually I'm using Qbat and it works fine).
I've been looking for 5minutes the source code but can't find easly where to see what's waiting your process to get the battery info.
Can you help me?
Thanks

I couldn't see any battery devices when i installed it, but noticed that after running "upower --dump", it picked up the battery fine, so i added this to my openbox autostart

Also, is their a way to change what battery levels determine how many bars to show in the notification bar, at 45% it was only showing one bar


HP DV6 + Arch + Openbox

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB