You are not logged in.

#1 2003-10-13 06:09:19

bhrich902
Member
Registered: 2003-09-21
Posts: 75

no boot after install...

im running out of ideas here. installing on a dell optiplex gx1 pII 400, 2 hard drives hda has 3 partitions including swap, hdb has 4 including swap. now im not sure if is the jumper settings or not, but after installing arch on hda using only 2 of those partitions, after all the steps with a base install, it will not boot at all. just hangs at the alert cover was previously removed  or something... these ar both maxtor drives which i had no problems booting with when mandrake was there, then again, mandrake was there when there was just hda alone. lilo is installed too and it points to the right partition (disc0/part2) and still no boot. bios won't boot it either.

Offline

#2 2003-10-14 01:55:55

kritoke
Member
From: Texas, USA
Registered: 2003-08-01
Posts: 211
Website

Re: no boot after install...

Your system sounds like it is an i586 system(if I remember correctly a Pentium II is i586), which would explain why Arch Linux does not work.  It is made for i686, but they are working making an i586 version.

Kritoke


http://counter.li.org/ Registered Linux User #318963 kritoke@jabber.org

Offline

#3 2003-10-14 02:05:10

bhrich902
Member
Registered: 2003-09-21
Posts: 75

Re: no boot after install...

i thought pII 400 falls right under i686??

All software is written for a particular computer system architecture. Software written for a particular architecture does not run on another distinct architecture. Think Apples and IBMs. Intel (i386, i586) refers to the system architecture of what is commonly called the Personal Computer or PC. This is the type of computer system architecture used in the majority of personal computers. i386 means 386 or above and i586 means pentium or above. Sparc refers to the system architecture of Sun Computers. PPC refers to the Power PC system architecture, mostly Apple computers. Alpha refers to the system architecture of Digital Equipment Computer systems. ia64 refers to the architecture of Intel-based 64 bit computer systems.

from linuxiso.org

Offline

#4 2003-10-14 02:14:25

kritoke
Member
From: Texas, USA
Registered: 2003-08-01
Posts: 211
Website

Re: no boot after install...

Ahh, I always was an AMD person and generally disliked Intels, I am pretty cheap and never use prebuilt systems.  I just kind of figured that since the machine doesn't work on boot, then it probably is an architecture problem.  What do you mean when you talk about the alert cover?

Kritoke


http://counter.li.org/ Registered Linux User #318963 kritoke@jabber.org

Offline

#5 2003-10-14 02:21:38

bhrich902
Member
Registered: 2003-09-21
Posts: 75

Re: no boot after install...

i sthis alert that comes after the dell logo, it goes something like 'alert, cover was previously removed' and it just stays there i think looking for something to boot cause the prompt goes down slowly..

also, i remember doing a base install on my other system dell dimension pII 450 and it worked and booted fine, but i was having problems getting it on the net which i think i know now how to do. so pII has to be i686.

Offline

#6 2003-10-14 04:09:38

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: no boot after install...

could you tellus more or less what the error message is please

(btw if a system were i586 you would not get far at all with even trying to boot off the various media soures (ie root floppy or isos))


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#7 2003-10-14 06:05:16

bhrich902
Member
Registered: 2003-09-21
Posts: 75

Re: no boot after install...

basically is what i said above, it comes up after insatll finishes on reboot. i just installed yoper in that same partition and it booted fine. only arch is doing that.

Offline

#8 2003-10-14 12:53:53

zen_guerrilla
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2002-12-22
Posts: 259

Re: no boot after install...

A simple equation about cpu arch's :
"i686" = "pentiumpro" = "pentium2"

bhrich902: Make sure you have installed the bootloader {lilo,grub} in mbr of hda (aka /dev/discs/disc0/disc). However if bios doesn't boot it, it sounds to me like a jumper problem, so get that screwdriver, open your box & fix the jumpers smile. Note that Western Digital drives (mostly older ones) have incorrect jumper instructions printed on the drive's label. Master is the 1st pinset near the IDE interface & slave the 2nd, on these drives (being a BFOH teaches u stuff big_smile).

Offline

#9 2003-10-14 14:40:38

Jagged
Member
From: Blacksburg, VA
Registered: 2003-07-18
Posts: 153

Re: no boot after install...

go into bios and turn off intrusion detection (ive got an optiplex gx 400 and that was the first thing i did)


Nkawtg...n!

Offline

#10 2003-10-14 15:38:33

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: no boot after install...

Yeah, like Jagged said, the error is from your bios and the reason is because you have previously removed your case cover.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#11 2003-10-14 17:02:43

zen_guerrilla
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2002-12-22
Posts: 259

Re: no boot after install...

That's why I hate those brand-name pc's, I prefer DIY home-made boxes smile.

Offline

#12 2003-10-14 17:18:33

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: no boot after install...

Pentium II's are i586.

'uname -m' should confirm that for you.

EDIT:  Sorry guys, I'm an idiot today.  P2's are indeed i686.   :?

Offline

#13 2003-10-14 21:31:32

bhrich902
Member
Registered: 2003-09-21
Posts: 75

Re: no boot after install...

ok, so intrussion detection should be obvious to see in the bios? if so i should turn it off?

zen, i don't think i ahve any control over where lilo is installed, i just click on install bootloader and thats it, unless im missing something here?. also, i think i did set the jumpers like u said, but when i did the cover was off, so i'll try what jagged said which seems something i haven't tried. i'm at work now but will try it then, thx ppl.

as a side note, i have another box (dell dimension v450 pII 450mhz) with another distro in it and the box will not completely shutdown no matter what i do. i posted it in their forum but no solution yet. i was told something about the acpi daemon and the apm daemon. i have tried it with either one and nothing. except that when i try to turn on the acpi i get

Oct  9 00:21:15 localhost acpid: acpid startup failed 
Oct  9 00:45:42 localhost acpid: acpid shutdown failed 
Oct  9 00:45:42 localhost acpid: acpid: can't open /proc/acpi/event: No such file or directory 
Oct  9 00:45:42 localhost acpid: acpid startup failed 

in the lilo i have acpi=on and nothing. the thing is, at the end it says powerdown but it doesn't actually turns off the hardware. anything might help, thx...

Offline

#14 2003-10-14 21:34:05

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: no boot after install...

Acpi isn't enabled in the default kernel... I hate at least one kernel built that has acpi compiled in (with very recent acpi code) if anyone needs it.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#15 2003-10-14 22:28:05

bhrich902
Member
Registered: 2003-09-21
Posts: 75

Re: no boot after install...

so u think acpi would be the solution for me? if so, are u offering an acpi kernel? if so, how do implement that into the system is for (mandrake 9.1), thx...

Offline

#16 2003-10-14 22:37:36

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: no boot after install...

If the system is acpi compliant then it should.  I'm never quite sure till I try it.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#17 2003-10-15 01:15:19

bhrich902
Member
Registered: 2003-09-21
Posts: 75

Re: no boot after install...

sooo....?? how do i know and what do i do??

Offline

#18 2003-10-15 05:25:36

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: no boot after install...

Try loading acpi drivers from a kernel that supports it (and check dmesg to see if the acpi drivers loaded properly).  Then try shutting down, does it shut off automatically?


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#19 2003-10-15 07:49:00

bhrich902
Member
Registered: 2003-09-21
Posts: 75

Re: no boot after install...

well, this arch installation is UNBELIVABLE, when is not one thing is the other. now that've managed to get past the no boot thing (i was toggling bootable between swap and main partitions during the manually partitioning of hard drives, learned that toggling none as bootable is the solution to booting after install), when i boot after a fresh install i get this message about a 3com something, after that it says dhcp mac addr: 'gives me a mac address' then after that it says dhcp and it stays there for a bit loooking for something, then it says 'PXE-E53: no boot filename received from BINL, DHCP, OR BOOTP' then the next line says PXE-M0F: exiting pxe, then after that says F1 to reboot or F2 setup utilities...

Offline

#20 2003-10-15 14:18:52

Jagged
Member
From: Blacksburg, VA
Registered: 2003-07-18
Posts: 153

Re: no boot after install...

Sounds like your NIC is trying to boot off the network

you need the partition where /boot is to be bootable (this is a must)
you must make sure grub/lilo is installed to the MBR

those errors you are reporting really have nothing to do with arch, ive got a net-bootable nic as well, and if you try to boot off the network with no server on it, you get similar errors.


Nkawtg...n!

Offline

#21 2003-10-15 16:16:37

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: no boot after install...

Actually, the bootable flag on partitions is only really read by windows.  The linux bootloaders don't care whether a partition is bootable.  I usually set up my partitions and make the windows partition the bootable one, but I doubt I even have to do that.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#22 2003-10-15 16:43:41

Jagged
Member
From: Blacksburg, VA
Registered: 2003-07-18
Posts: 153

Re: no boot after install...

who knows... you might want to install NTLDR wink


Nkawtg...n!

Offline

#23 2003-10-15 18:40:03

bhrich902
Member
Registered: 2003-09-21
Posts: 75

Re: no boot after install...

but like i said before i have no control over where lilo installs, i just click on install bootloader and that's it. my partitions are /swap then 2 other partitions, one for arch and the other for another distro i might try. so now i have to make them /boot, /swap then the other 2, then write the table?. if so, from the type menu which is the number to set /boot to, cause i see a couple that say boot in there. thx...

Offline

#24 2003-10-16 06:47:33

bhrich902
Member
Registered: 2003-09-21
Posts: 75

Re: no boot after install...

ok so this arch thing is just not ment to be. im positive i ruled out the jumper settings when trying to boot, i made a base install using the automatic partition, did another install using the automatic partitions but splitted the 6gig / it made into 2 3gigs and that didn't work. the dam thing just won't boot. and if it boots the nic gets there first and tries to boot of the network.... unless i ran out of posibble scenarious in this thread im just gonna start looking for another distro to try so i could at least get the test box started. which sux cause arch was the one i wanted to try first because of pacman, the updated repositories and all....

on a side note, that shutdown problem i had, i noticed that if i hit the power button everything turns off instantly, hardware and everything, without having to go through halt or poweroff, is this safe to just quit all apps and hit the power button to turn my system off???

Offline

#25 2003-10-16 11:26:24

zen_guerrilla
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2002-12-22
Posts: 259

Re: no boot after install...

AL is not the the easiest distro for newbies, however u'll learn lots of things in the process, so I'd suggest to install debian (my beloved distro - no flames here smile) in one partition for everyday use & keep AL in another to tweak stuff & learn.

For shutdown, it is possible to hit the power button and have the box do an actual '/sbin/init 0' instead of power off, you need to compile a kernel with acpi support, install my acpi.tar.ba2 pkg (from incoming) & bug me to send you my acpi scripts for that job smile.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB