You are not logged in.

#1 2010-08-21 21:03:30

ridcully
Member
Registered: 2009-03-28
Posts: 49

No headphone output

Hi,

the headphone output of my notebook worked fine till the last update. I've checked if the headphone is muted but there are no headphone settings in alsamixer. Maybe somebody has an idea? Thanks in advance!

P.S.: Here is the ouput of some commands:

root@beeblebrox michael# lspci -v  
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
    Subsystem: Lenovo Device 20f2
    Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 45
    Memory at f2620000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
    Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
    Capabilities: [60] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
    Capabilities: [70] Express Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
    Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel
    Capabilities: [130] Root Complex Link
    Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
    Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel
[root@beeblebrox michael]# lsmod|grep '^snd' | column -t 
snd_hda_codec_conexant  32494  1
snd_hda_intel           22285  1
snd_hda_codec           77223  2   snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep               6142   1   snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm_oss             39189  0
snd_pcm                 71349  3   snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd_timer               19265  1   snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc          7249   2   snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
snd_mixer_oss           17106  1   snd_pcm_oss
snd                     57658  11  snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm_oss,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_mixer_oss,thinkpad_acpi
[root@beeblebrox michael]# ls /dev/snd/ -la
total 0
drwxr-xr-x   3 root root     200 Aug 21 22:24 .
drwxr-xr-x  18 root root    5580 Aug 21 22:24 ..
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root      80 Aug 21 22:24 by-path
crw-rw----+  1 root audio 116, 8 Aug 21 22:24 controlC0
crw-rw----+  1 root audio 116, 2 Aug 21 22:24 controlC29
crw-rw----+  1 root audio 116, 7 Aug 21 22:24 hwC0D0
crw-rw----+  1 root audio 116, 6 Aug 21 22:24 pcmC0D0c
crw-rw----+  1 root audio 116, 5 Aug 21 22:26 pcmC0D0p
crw-rw----+  1 root audio 116, 4 Aug 21 22:24 pcmC0D1p
crw-rw----+  1 root audio 116, 3 Aug 21 22:24 timer

Offline

#2 2010-08-21 22:19:21

DarksideEE7
Member
From: Arkansas, United States
Registered: 2009-06-06
Posts: 356

Re: No headphone output

Well we have the same audio chipset and mine is working....
The output of lspci -v is basically identical.  We differ on lsmod though.  Here is my output:

snd_hda_codec_intelhdmi  10183   1
snd_seq_dummy            1463    0
snd_seq_oss              28856   0
snd_hda_codec_realtek    269173  1
snd_seq_midi_event       5436    1   snd_seq_oss
snd_hda_intel            22285   5
snd_seq                  50146   5   snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device           5297    3   snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_hda_codec            77223   3   snd_hda_codec_intelhdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
snd_pcm_oss              39189   0
snd_mixer_oss            17106   1   snd_pcm_oss
snd_hwdep                6142    1   snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                  71349   4   snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd_timer                19265   3   snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                      57658   19  snd_seq_oss,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_timer
snd_page_alloc           7249    2   snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm

Are you able to get output using your headphones with:

aplay /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav

Also make sure you're part of the audio group:

grep $USER /etc/group

I know I've accidentally removed myself from groups in the past, so I thought it might be worth mentioning.

Also a few kernel updates back I remember audio playing over the speakers despite the headphone being connected.  I still got audio through the headphones in that case though.  I can't remember what I had to do......this may be relevant so I'll see what I can find.

EDIT:

All right I found what I did to solve the previous problem.  Here's my modprobe.conf:

#
# /etc/modprobe.d/modprobe.conf (for v2.6 kernels)
#
options snd-hda-intel model=auto
# disable autoload of ipv6
alias net-pf-10 off

I'll remove this line, reboot, then see if I can recreate.

Last edited by DarksideEE7 (2010-08-21 22:27:09)

Offline

#3 2010-08-21 22:37:45

DarksideEE7
Member
From: Arkansas, United States
Registered: 2009-06-06
Posts: 356

Re: No headphone output

I was unable to recreate be removing that line from modeprobe.conf.  Furthermore that line is no longer needed, as the speakers mute when I connect headphones.  Both Amarok and aplay via console both work .

To further test I would need to see if you could at least get sound from aplay.

Last edited by DarksideEE7 (2010-08-21 22:41:04)

Offline

#4 2010-08-22 08:07:41

ridcully
Member
Registered: 2009-03-28
Posts: 49

Re: No headphone output

Hi,

thank you for your suggestion. So far I'm not able to get output using my headphones with aplay. The user is still in the audio group and my modprobe.conf is empty. Neverthless I have a sound.conf in /etc/modprobe.d with two aliases

[root@beeblebrox michael]# more /etc/modprobe.d/sound.conf 
alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
alias sound-slot-0 snd-hda-intel

Probably I've missed to load some specific kernel module?

Thanks again!
Best regards, 
  Michael

Update. That's the modules section of my rc.conf

MODULES=(ac battery button processor thermal video btusb cdrom intel-agp nvram tpm_bios tpm tpm_tis tpm_tis drm_kms_helper drm i915 i2c-algo-bit i2c-i801 i2c-core evdev pcspkr psmouse serio_raw led-class uvcvideo v4l1-compat v4l2-compat-ioctl32 videodev mmc_core sdhci sdhci-pci pci_hotplug shpchp thinkpad_acpi wmi rtc-cmos rtc-core rtc-lib output iTCO_vendor_support iTCO_wdt snd-mixer-oss snd-pcm-oss snd-hwdep snd snd-page-alloc snd-pcm snd-timer snd-hda-codec snd-hda-intel soundcore scsi_mod ahci libahci e1000e mii bluetooth mac80211 rfkill iwlagn iwlcore cfg80211 cdc_ether usbnet zaurus cdc-acm cdc-wdm usbcore ehci-hcd uhci-hcd option usbserial usb_wwan sd_mod sr_mod st kvm kvm-intel fuse acpi_cpufreq)

Last edited by ridcully (2010-08-22 08:10:06)

Offline

#5 2010-08-22 08:28:47

DarksideEE7
Member
From: Arkansas, United States
Registered: 2009-06-06
Posts: 356

Re: No headphone output

Wow that's quite some list of modules.  Pardon my ignorance, but is the reason you have all of those modules being inserted after init due to a stripped down custom kernel?  I've never done that in Arch..I played with Gentoo a little, but I found that I didn't really want to keep up with that amount of system maintenance.

Here is my sound.conf:

alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
alias sound-slot-0 snd-hda-intel

Well it looks like it might be a desktop environment thing going on here, because our system files are nearly identical.  What DE do you have?  Backend?l

My laptop:
KDE 4.4 fully updated without [testing]
Phonon with Gstreamer backend

Last edited by DarksideEE7 (2010-08-22 09:09:19)

Offline

#6 2010-08-30 14:47:22

ridcully
Member
Registered: 2009-03-28
Posts: 49

Re: No headphone output

Hi,

sorry for the late reply.

DarksideEE7 wrote:

Well it looks like it might be a desktop environment thing going on here, because our system files are nearly identical.  What DE do you have?  Backend?l

My laptop:
KDE 4.4 fully updated without [testing]
Phonon with Gstreamer backend

I'm using Gnome 2.30.2 and I'm not sure about the sound backend probably gstreamer.

Regards,
Michael

Offline

#7 2010-09-03 11:20:59

joschi
Member
Registered: 2009-12-26
Posts: 4

Re: No headphone output

Hi,

I have the same problem on a Lenovo T400s. The audio jack sense seems to have stopped working properly which means that the internal speakers work well and as soon as I plug in head phones, the internal speakers are muted but the external volume is also still muted.

I could trace that error back to a kernel upgrade from 2.6.34 to 2.6.35. Using kernel26-2.6.34.2 and lower everything works fine. As soon as I use kernel26-2.6.35.3 or kernel26-2.6.35.4, the audio jack stops working.

Maybe the following information helps somebody to pinpoint the problem:

http://pastie.org/1135740alsa-info.sh output for kernel 2.6.34-ARCH
http://pastie.org/1135741alsa-info.sh output for kernel 2.6.35-ARCH

`lspci -v` output for the audio device:

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Lenovo Device 20f2
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 31
        Memory at f2620000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
        Capabilities: <access denied>
        Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
        Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel

Offline

#8 2010-09-06 11:56:03

simon04
Member
From: Austria
Registered: 2008-04-20
Posts: 11

Re: No headphone output

I own a Thinkpad T400s, too, and share your problem. The sound through headphones seems to be working after a suspend ... Strange ...

Offline

#9 2010-09-07 16:05:54

simon04
Member
From: Austria
Registered: 2008-04-20
Posts: 11

Re: No headphone output

I could solve the problem doing the following [1]: Load snd-hda-intel with the option model=thinkpad. E.g. writing the following into /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

options snd-hda-intel model=thinkpad

This also enables muting of the internal speakers when a speaker is attached to the docking station - finally smile

I'll modify the wiki page of T400s ...

[1] http://groups.google.com/group/linux.ke … ddbdfc5806

Last edited by simon04 (2010-09-07 16:19:56)

Offline

#10 2010-09-11 15:53:20

joschi
Member
Registered: 2009-12-26
Posts: 4

Re: No headphone output

Thanks for sharing the solution! Works for me.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB