You are not logged in.

#1 2005-04-16 11:44:28

ganja_guru
Member
Registered: 2005-02-14
Posts: 464

ivman dbus hal problem

i used to have a pretty decent working setup of ivman (and dbus and hal)..i dont know what happened, but dbus and hal start fine, but ivman gives a

/usr/bin/ivman: error while loading shared libraries: libhal.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

also, ive not been able to start the the KDE media manager service in kde 3.4 (control panel->kde components->service manager)

can anyone please tell me what went wrong and how do i set things right again

thanks in advance

Offline

#2 2005-04-16 13:37:21

Pajaro
Member
Registered: 2004-04-21
Posts: 878

Re: ivman dbus hal problem

you installed the testing version of hal and dbus. Install the extra version again

Offline

#3 2005-04-16 13:38:06

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: ivman dbus hal problem

ivman is broken atm, we just have to wait for ikke to give us a new release.

new versions of hal and dbus broke it. symlinking to the new .so's doesnt work.

Offline

#4 2005-04-16 14:15:23

ganja_guru
Member
Registered: 2005-02-14
Posts: 464

Re: ivman dbus hal problem

it works..thanks very much

Offline

#5 2005-04-16 16:47:28

pwe
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2005-02-15
Posts: 41

Re: ivman dbus hal problem

if i can ..
i have i little problem with ivman. i used to use supermount patch, but it isnt perfect. i install ivman, hal, dbus and ... and i dont have now my dvd-rw smile there is no hda in /dev
i dont know what is wrong hmm

my fstab

/dev/hda /mnt/rw iso9660 user,noauto,ro 0 0
/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto user,noauto 0 0

and i add dbus hal ivman to rc.conf at deamon.
i use fluxbox and rox ->

 mount: special device /dev/hda does not exist

thanks!

ps in gentoo ivman works fine

Offline

#6 2005-04-17 01:48:47

Pajaro
Member
Registered: 2004-04-21
Posts: 878

Re: ivman dbus hal problem

there is no hda in /dev

It has nothing to do with ivman hal, or dbus. Try adding hotplug to your daemons array to see if it adds any module you may need to have the dvd. First of all you could check if the symlink to /dev/cdroms/cdrom0 is created.

Offline

#7 2005-04-17 02:29:35

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: ivman dbus hal problem

heh, looks like im not downgrading hal and dbus

[root@localhost iphitus]# pacman -S hal
:: hal-0.5.0-1: local version is newer.  Upgrade anyway? [Y/n] y
error: unresolvable dependencies:
  nautilus-cd-burner: requires hal>=0.5.0
  gnome-utils: requires hal>=0.5.0
  gnome-vfs: requires hal>=0.5.0
  hal-device-manager: requires hal>=0.5.0

[root@localhost iphitus]# pacman -R hal-device-manager gnome-vfs gnome-utils nautilus-cd-burner
error: this will break the following dependencies:
  gnome-vfs: is required by gmpc
  gnome-vfs: is required by gst-plugins-gnomevfs
  gnome-vfs: is required by gtodo
  gnome-vfs: is required by libgnome
  gnome-vfs: is required by libgsf-gnome
  gnome-vfs: is required by ximian-openoffice
  nautilus-cd-burner: is required by gnome-media
  nautilus-cd-burner: is required by gnome-python-extras
  nautilus-cd-burner: is required by totem

Offline

#8 2005-04-17 11:59:20

Pajaro
Member
Registered: 2004-04-21
Posts: 878

Re: ivman dbus hal problem

you'll have to downgrade to all gnome packages to from the testing version to the extra version. I have to do the same, so here's what I'm executing:

pacman -S hal dbus gnome-utils gnome-vfs hal-device-manager nautilus-cd-burner

Offline

#9 2005-04-17 12:19:33

pwe
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2005-02-15
Posts: 41

Re: ivman dbus hal problem

Pajaro wrote:

there is no hda in /dev

It has nothing to do with ivman hal, or dbus. Try adding hotplug to your daemons array to see if it adds any module you may need to have the dvd. First of all you could check if the symlink to /dev/cdroms/cdrom0 is created.

my /dev

adsp     fd0h1200  kmsg    loop6    nvidia3    ram0   ram4    sda1   snd
audio    fd0u1440  legacy  loop7    nvidia4    ram1   ram5    sda10  sound
console  fd0u360   log     mem      nvidia5    ram10  ram6    sda11  stderr
core     fd0u720   loop    midi     nvidia6    ram11  ram7    sda2   stdin
dmmidi   floppy    loop0   misc     nvidia7    ram12  ram8    sda5   stdout
dsp      full      loop1   mixer    nvidiactl  ram13  ram9    sda6   tty
fb       initctl   loop2   null     port       ram14  random  sda7   urandom
fb0      inotify   loop3   nvidia0  psaux      ram15  rd      sda8   vc
fd       input     loop4   nvidia1  ptmx       ram2   rtc     sda9   vcc
fd0      kmem      loop5   nvidia2  pts        ram3   sda     shm    zero

there is no cdroms/...
i will do pacman -R for hal&dbus&ivman

Offline

#10 2005-04-17 13:46:56

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: ivman dbus hal problem

hal+dbus+ivman are NOT the fault of your cd drive missing.

Your cd drive doesnt exist in /dev/ because YOU havnt loaded the driver.

Install the 'hwd' package and run lshwd, that will give us a list of your hardware, and hopefully the driver we need.

Offline

#11 2005-04-17 14:10:36

pwe
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2005-02-15
Posts: 41

Re: ivman dbus hal problem

heh i found what it is, of course that was my mistake. i dont know how i spoil my .config kernel file hmm
now is ok
thanks

ps Do You try submounta ? is better than ivman ?

Offline

#12 2005-04-17 16:01:24

ganja_guru
Member
Registered: 2005-02-14
Posts: 464

Re: ivman dbus hal problem

i used to use submount in slack, but could never get it to work in arch, so i switched to ivman

Offline

#13 2005-04-17 21:21:04

Pajaro
Member
Registered: 2004-04-21
Posts: 878

Re: ivman dbus hal problem

I used submount. I is ok for CDs or DVDs, but is unuseful with pendrives, as they can get any sd* instance (sda, sdb, sdc, etc)

Offline

#14 2005-04-17 23:16:17

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: ivman dbus hal problem

Pajaro wrote:

I used submount. I is ok for CDs or DVDs, but is unuseful with pendrives, as they can get any sd* instance (sda, sdb, sdc, etc)

It not the submount's job but udev. You need to give a name for a device not dependent on instance (udev rule). Search forums, wiki and udev docs for examples and more info.

Submount works fine with /dev/hdc - there is no cdroms/ - this is also related to udev not submount. Again search the forums for submount and you'll find examples that work fine with udev.

Offline

#15 2005-04-18 00:59:21

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: ivman dbus hal problem

submount is dirty.

automaticaly mounting drives is a task that should be completed in userspace. Not in the kernel. The rule of thumb, is that if it can be done in userspace, it should. That's the whole idea of udev, to do it in userspace rather than in the kernel.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB