You are not logged in.

#1 2010-05-11 19:47:51

zero-giulio
Member
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 70

Xorg for Dual Monitor, problem with left/right

I have problem with dual monitor.

I mean, I create my own xorg.conf, and I post it

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder63)  Thu Feb 25 05:39:23 PST 2010

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    DisplaySize    368 232
    HorizSync       28.0 - 33.0
    VertRefresh     43.0 - 72.0
    Option         "DPMS"
    #Enabling power saving
    #Option "DPMS" "True"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    #Option "NoLogo" "True"
    Option "RenderAccel" "True"
    #Overriding monitor detection
    #Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"
    Option "TripleBuffer" "True"
    Option "BackingStore" "True"
    #Option "DamageEvents" "True"
    #Force Powermizer to a certain level at all times
    #level 0x1=highest, level 0x2=med, level 0x3=lowest
    #AC settings:
    Option "RegistryDwords" "PowerMizerLevelAC=0x3"
    #Battery settings:
    Option    "RegistryDwords" "PowerMizerLevel=0x3"
    #Letting the GPU set its own performance level based on temperature
    Option "RegistryDwords" "PerfLevelSrc=0x3333"
    #Option "OnDemandVBlankInterrupts" "True"
    #Enabling overclocking
    #Option "Coolbits" "1"
    Option "RandRRotation" "True"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

As you can see, it for only one monitor (that of laptop).

Now, I have a samsung lcd conencted to the laptop. I want to use it a secondary monitor (the primary being that of laptop).

I tried to set up it by the gui application Nvidia XServer Settings, and it seems to work if I put the samsung on the right, but if I put it to the left (as I would like) it became primary and I was disappointed.

Maybe it's a problem of the gui application.

What can I do?

What do you suggest?

Last edited by zero-giulio (2010-09-19 15:54:07)

Offline

#2 2010-05-11 21:36:42

schen
Member
Registered: 2009-06-06
Posts: 468

Re: Xorg for Dual Monitor, problem with left/right

Try configuring it through CLI. What card/driver do you have?

Offline

#3 2010-05-12 09:16:38

zero-giulio
Member
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 70

Re: Xorg for Dual Monitor, problem with left/right

WHat's CLI?

I have a Nvidia Quadro FX 1600.

Offline

#4 2010-05-12 10:45:14

Mektub
Member
From: Lisbon /Portugal
Registered: 2008-01-02
Posts: 647

Re: Xorg for Dual Monitor, problem with left/right

The nvidia-settings utility should generate a new xorg.conf.

How does it look like ?

Mektub


Follow me on twitter: https://twitter.com/johnbina

Offline

#5 2010-09-19 15:51:37

zero-giulio
Member
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 70

Re: Xorg for Dual Monitor, problem with left/right

Ok, I post my original xorg.conf (just for laptop's monitor) in my first post.

Next I will open NVidia X Server Settings for enabling second monitor with TwinView.
Now I have (as shown in the GUI):

1) laptop's monitor checked as primary monitor, with absolute position at +0+0
2) samsung's monitor with absolute position at +1920+0

(resolution of laptop's monitor is 1920*1200).

The new xorg, generated by NVidia X Server Settings is

# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder75)  Tue Dec  8 21:07:34 PST 2009

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder63)  Thu Feb 25 05:39:23 PST 2010

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "dbe"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "SAMSUNG"
    DisplaySize     368    232
    HorizSync       30.0 - 81.0
    VertRefresh     60.0 - 75.0
    Option         "DPMS"
    #Enabling power saving
    #Option "DPMS" "True"
EndSection

Section "Device"

    #Option "NoLogo" "True"
    #Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"
    #Force Powermizer to a certain level at all times
    #level 0x1=highest, level 0x2=med, level 0x3=lowest
    #AC settings:
    #Enabling overclocking
    #Option "Coolbits" "1"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "Quadro FX 1600M"
    Option         "RenderAccel" "True"
    #Overriding monitor detection
    Option         "TripleBuffer" "True"
    Option         "BackingStore" "True"
    #Option "DamageEvents" "True"
    Option         "RegistryDwords" "PowerMizerLevelAC=0x3"
    #Battery settings:
    Option         "RandRRotation" "True"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "1"
    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
    Option         "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +1920+0, DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
    Option         "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

The problem is the same of some months ago (I apologize, during this time I did not have arch).
With this configuration everything seems work fine, but I would like to have my second monitor on the left (not on the right).

But,
1) if I try to set "LeftOf" in second monitor setting, the result is that it's became the primary monitor (I don't want this), even if I check laptop's as primary monitor.
2) if I try to manually change +1920 in -1920 (samsung's position), then I can't save my changes (GIU don't let me do this).

What can I do?

Last edited by zero-giulio (2010-09-19 15:55:31)

Offline

#6 2010-09-19 19:58:20

codycarey
Member
Registered: 2009-08-21
Posts: 154

Re: Xorg for Dual Monitor, problem with left/right

I'm not an Nvidia user (technically I am however I use nouveau), but does Nvidia use an internal RandR extension? I'd think the better and maybe easier way to do this would be with xrandr if possible.

Offline

#7 2010-09-19 22:46:51

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 7,356

Re: Xorg for Dual Monitor, problem with left/right

nvidia is still using xrandr 1.1. Configuration should be done with nvidia-settings if possible. TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder is the one which determines which is the primary screen.


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#8 2010-09-20 04:34:46

BurntSushi
Member
From: Massachusetts
Registered: 2009-06-28
Posts: 362
Website

Re: Xorg for Dual Monitor, problem with left/right

You might also want to check out disper. It's a utility to manage heads connected to nVidia cards. It's in the AUR.


Education is favorable to liberty. Freedom can exist only in a society of knowledge. Without learning, men are incapable of knowing their rights, and where learning is confined to a few people, liberty can be neither equal nor universal.

Tu ne cede malis sed contra audentior ito

Offline

#9 2010-09-20 07:42:31

zero-giulio
Member
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 70

Re: Xorg for Dual Monitor, problem with left/right

nvidia-settings doesn't work well for me.
I need to try something else.

I'll try disper (this is the first time I hear about this program).

And, what's about xrandr. Where can I found guide about dual monitor configuration using it?

Thanks

Offline

#10 2010-09-20 08:42:15

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 7,356

Re: Xorg for Dual Monitor, problem with left/right

Google, please. Questions that sound like "what is X, what does it do?" have almost no place on the Arch forums.


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#11 2010-09-24 15:39:42

jdarnold
Member
From: Medford MA USA
Registered: 2009-12-15
Posts: 485
Website

Re: Xorg for Dual Monitor, problem with left/right

What do you mean "nvidia-settings does't work well for me"? One trick is to make sure you run it as root, esp. via sudo.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB