You are not logged in.

#1 2005-04-16 02:37:56

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Archie - Arch Live CD ver. 0.4.1 is ready!

I am  glad to announce the first public release of Archie (ver. 0.4.1).
Archie - Arch Live project has replaced AL-AMLUG Live CD. The former live CD of Arch had the look but not the speed of native Arch Linux, so Archie is developed on a completely different technology. Also with new appearance. Faster than in HD (check the poll)?

Read more:
http://user-contributions.org/home/index.php

Offline

#2 2005-04-16 15:17:08

pwe
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2005-02-15
Posts: 41

Re: Archie - Arch Live CD ver. 0.4.1 is ready!

i've got it and its reeeeeeeealy faasttt smile

Offline

#3 2005-04-17 18:32:50

ozar
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 1,681

Re: Archie - Arch Live CD ver. 0.4.1 is ready!

I've tried lots of live-CDs in the past and Archie seems to boot faster than any I've tried.  Good job!   8)


oz

Offline

#4 2005-04-17 22:22:11

z4ziggy
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2004-03-29
Posts: 573
Website

Re: Archie - Arch Live CD ver. 0.4.1 is ready!

appreciated smile

Offline

#5 2005-04-17 22:51:23

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Archie - Arch Live CD ver. 0.4.1 is ready!

ok, I think it's finally time for me to try this out - I haven't yet because... well, I have arch on all my machines... 8)

Offline

#6 2005-04-20 23:24:36

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: Archie - Arch Live CD ver. 0.4.1 is ready!

nice work guys,
i saw some screenshots of it at osdir and the logo looks pretty cool,


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#7 2005-04-20 23:45:35

shadowhand
Member
From: MN, USA
Registered: 2004-02-19
Posts: 1,142
Website

Re: Archie - Arch Live CD ver. 0.4.1 is ready!

xerxes2 wrote:

nice work guys,
i saw some screenshots of it at osdir and the logo looks pretty cool,

Why thank you. (I'm the Archie artwork guy.... At least, I think that's the official title).


·¬»· i am shadowhand, powered by webfaction

Offline

#8 2005-04-20 23:53:00

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: Archie - Arch Live CD ver. 0.4.1 is ready!

yeah, it looks really cool, nice pr for Arch also,

it looks much better than other "proffessional" distros with hats, lizards or stars as logos,   8)


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#9 2005-04-21 08:33:47

murkus
Member
From: Europe/Helsinki
Registered: 2004-03-19
Posts: 254

Re: Archie - Arch Live CD ver. 0.4.1 is ready!

I tried it yesterday. It's fast and working fine. Thanks!

I'm thinking about installing it into MPIO HD300 with 20G drive (mp3/ogg -player). Is it doable, has anybody tried it?

[edit]
okay, so I found this thread explaining that I have to wait for next release.
And propably update my comp to be able to boot from usb.. wink
[/edit]

cheers,

.murkus

Offline

#10 2005-04-21 19:23:40

shadowhand
Member
From: MN, USA
Registered: 2004-02-19
Posts: 1,142
Website

Re: Archie - Arch Live CD ver. 0.4.1 is ready!

Murkus: technically, you can use dirsync and install it yourself, but there won't be an installer until 0.5.


·¬»· i am shadowhand, powered by webfaction

Offline

#11 2005-04-21 23:04:03

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Archie - Arch Live CD ver. 0.4.1 is ready!

cjkeller wrote:

My questions is as follows:  if I want to duplicate Archie (look, feel, pacakges, etc) onto the hard-disk of this laptop from this point, do I simply add the packages from the Archie package list using pacman?

Thanks for the assistance and I apologize if this should have been posted elsewhere.

That would work if you have an existing install already - however, I think Archie has the ability to "cut the middle man" and has an option to basically copy the CD to your hard drive.... I dunno though... ziggy would be able to better answer that.

Offline

#12 2005-04-21 23:15:36

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: Archie - Arch Live CD ver. 0.4.1 is ready!

maybe it's best if some mod could split cjkellers question to it's own thread,

cjkeller wrote:

if I want to duplicate Archie (look, feel, pacakges, etc) onto the hard-disk of this laptop from this point, do I simply add the packages from the Archie package list using pacman?

after you have installed arch base system you reboot and fix your network and pacman configuration(put your local mirror first!)
and after that you update your system with "pacman -Syu"
and after that you install xorg and xfce4, that is also described in detail in the wiki,
good luck!


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#13 2005-04-21 23:44:11

z4ziggy
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2004-03-29
Posts: 573
Website

Re: Archie - Arch Live CD ver. 0.4.1 is ready!

currently Archie provides a buggy hd-install script so u better not use it atm, instead, as Shadowhand suggested, u can simply "dump" Archie cd contents into your hd using dirsync/rsync/cp/etc to have Archie on your hd. obviously, youll need to update your grub/lilo to load the new kernel and add approp entry for your new installation.

hth

Offline

#14 2005-04-22 01:56:48

fetreney2000
Member
From: Malaysia
Registered: 2005-02-01
Posts: 81

Re: Archie - Arch Live CD ver. 0.4.1 is ready!

@cjkeller

After pacman -Syu type

pacman -Sy xorg hwd xfce4 xfce4-goodies firefox

after that reboot your computer an then type

nano ~/.xinitrc

. Add # in front of the

exec wmaker

line and add

startxfce4

at the bottom and press ctrl+o then press enter then press ctrl+x.

After that type

hwd -xa

and answer y to the question. Then type

nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf

and delete the line

Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"

and press ctrl+o then press enter then press ctrl+x.

After all that hard work simply type

startx

and enjoy your xfce4 environment tongue
Phewww doing a handholding job is so tiresome tongue but I have too much free time today lol

PS : You can launch firefox by right clicking anywhere on the desktop and select it from the menu. After that you can view the rest of the wiki. smile

Offline

#15 2005-05-06 21:32:12

Arielext
Member
From: Amersfoort, the Netherlands
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 362
Website

Re: Archie - Arch Live CD ver. 0.4.1 is ready!

Archie is my default live-cd show test thingy for now smile
great stuff!!


apt-get install arch

Offline

#16 2005-05-19 18:24:03

pjezek
Member
From: Praha - CZ
Registered: 2005-05-19
Posts: 77

Re: Archie - Arch Live CD ver. 0.4.1 is ready!

Thanks a lot, rasat! Pretty good job in lightning-speed loading. In comparison with another LiveLinux CDs, Archie unfortunately fails in reading existing partitions on HD (/ and /home). Am I wrong or is this a job for future?


Our tomcat for your mice! Archlinux for your comps! Alfa Romeo for your roads! Faster running guaranted!

Offline

#17 2005-05-19 19:09:25

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Archie - Arch Live CD ver. 0.4.1 is ready!

pjezek wrote:

Thanks a lot, rasat! Pretty good job in lightning-speed loading. In comparison with another LiveLinux CDs, Archie unfortunately fails in reading existing partitions on HD (/ and /home). Am I wrong or is this a job for future?

the /etc/fstab file is the only place that stored mount point <-> partition mapping...
how is a CD going to get /etc/fstab without knowing what partition /etc is on in the first place?

Offline

#18 2005-05-20 02:45:22

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: Archie - Arch Live CD ver. 0.4.1 is ready!

pjezek wrote:

Thanks a lot, rasat! Pretty good job in lightning-speed loading.

The thanks goes to z4ziggy, the engineer of Archie. Also to few other developers who have joined in the work. I am a supporter of Archie only and try accommodating other interesting ideas/projects in Usercb. smile
http://user-contributions.org/forums/userproject/
http://user-contributions.org/

Offline

#19 2005-07-12 08:35:17

yoshi314
Member
From: PL
Registered: 2005-07-12
Posts: 18
Website

Re: Archie - Arch Live CD ver. 0.4.1 is ready!

i'v been trying to put out a custom arch livecd and i had trouble with KDE. the livecd was also made on customized linux-live.org scripts.

xfce and fluxbox ran nicely, apache, proftpd, php etc ran nice.

the problem was somewhere within hal i guess. it didn't feel like running off unionfs ramdisk (but when i ran it off HD it worked just fine). can anyone share the same experience? i'd like some help on this one :]


arch linux - fast but messy.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB