You are not logged in.

#1 2005-04-23 18:50:37

firedance
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2005-04-18
Posts: 131

modules

Well, i tried, i tried to make my kernel work by editing the config.
but i did something wrong
coz now the computer starts but when i do lsmod i get nothing exept the
"modules used by" etc
So i tried to compile a new, but it wont find root..
i had /dev/drives/drive0/part6 on the other one so i tried the same, didnt work
then i tried LABEL=ARCH , didnt work. Now I have no idea how to do.

Offline

#2 2005-04-23 19:00:28

vacant
Member
From: downstairs
Registered: 2004-11-05
Posts: 797

Re: modules

A bit difficult to work out what you're doing but:

1) "i tried to make my kernel work by editing the config"

What wasn't working?

2) You can make a new kernel, which route are you following in:

http://wiki2.archlinux.org/index.php/Kernel

Offline

#3 2005-04-23 19:07:39

firedance
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2005-04-18
Posts: 131

Re: modules

It didnt load any modules, so i thought it was the kernel...

make menuconfig
make -s clean bzImage modules modules_install install
But what i think is weird is that the kernel seems to work but it wont find the root partition.

Offline

#4 2005-04-23 19:24:33

i3839
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 1,185

Re: modules

Automatic module loading is done by hotplug. To enable it add "hotplug" to DAEMONS in rc.conf.

Offline

#5 2005-04-23 19:26:41

firedance
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2005-04-18
Posts: 131

Re: modules

i know i know i know! I have added ndiswrapper to manually loaded modules!
it worked fine before i started messing with the kernel

Offline

#6 2005-04-23 19:30:16

vacant
Member
From: downstairs
Registered: 2004-11-05
Posts: 797

Re: modules

OK, have you got a separate /boot partition? If you compiled the file system for the root partition as a module, change it to be compiled as part of the kernel.

Offline

#7 2005-04-23 19:32:13

firedance
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2005-04-18
Posts: 131

Re: modules

well i got it working now.

started with the arch cd, mounted / to mnt/root and did chroot then i did pacman -fS kernel26

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB