You are not logged in.

#1 2005-04-26 13:00:19

mic64
Member
Registered: 2005-03-03
Posts: 173

mplayer 1.0pre7 buggy?

Hi

I´ve been using the new mplayer / mencoder version since days.
Before it was available in repo.

But...every encode with mencoder is not synced. Audio drifts always away.
Only ac3s which are just copied are ok.

The same encodes with the same settings with version 1.0pre6a are perfect.

Anyone experienced the same ?

mic

Offline

#2 2005-04-26 15:45:05

eric
Member
From: under heaven
Registered: 2004-02-11
Posts: 110

Re: mplayer 1.0pre7 buggy?

I haven't tried mencoder yet, so I can't confirm that.
But I've found out that after using the 1.0pre7 version the tv display of kdetv is gone. The tv display stays away even after restarting kdetv. I don't know if this also happens with other tv applications like xawtv, maybe someone can try?
Now I've downgraded to the previous version of mplayer and everything works fine again.

Offline

#3 2005-04-27 09:12:36

mico
Member
From: Slovenia
Registered: 2004-02-08
Posts: 239

Re: mplayer 1.0pre7 buggy?

I didn't notice any sync issues, but capture with v4l is broken, I have to use v4l2. On some options given it segfaults. If it can't find the video device, it also segfaults.

If I set everything right, it does work. A/V is synced but I didn't capture any long videos yet.

This is what I use:

mencoder -tv driver=v4l2:width=768:height=576:device=/dev/video0 -vf crop=760:568,pp=lb -ovc lavc -lavcopts vcodec=mpeg4:vqscale=6.1 -oac mp3lame -lameopts abr:br=80 -o output.avi tv://

eric: I use tvtime, no problems at all

Offline

#4 2005-04-27 16:53:24

eric
Member
From: under heaven
Registered: 2004-02-11
Posts: 110

Re: mplayer 1.0pre7 buggy?

I've tested mplayer-1.0pre7 with different tv applications.

kdetv and xawtv:
After using "mplayer -vo xv test.avi" the tv display disappears. Restarting the tv app doesn't bring the tv display back. But playing the same movie with the 1.0pre6a version of mplayer somehow brings the tv display back. So now I keep the 1.0pre6a executable (just the executable) for resetting the tv display after watching a movie with the new mplayer :-P

tvtime:
"Mplayer -vo xv test.avi" doesn't work at all. Tvtime uses a different method than xawtv and kdetv to show tv, it also uses 10% of my CPU while xawtv and kdetv use just 0% (according to top).

"Mplayer -vo x11 test.avi" doesn't create any problem with all these 3 tv apps, but it uses more cpu and has issues with fullscreen scaling, so I prefer "-vo xv" instead.

I don't know if others have the same problem, because I've compiled a lot of apps myself.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB