You are not logged in.

#1 2005-04-17 05:07:15

polarrr
Member
Registered: 2004-09-12
Posts: 91

MoreAmp

Hey guys. Has anyone tried this audio player?

http://freshmeat.net/projects/moreamp/

I was trying for hours to get it compiled from source but every time it gave me some funky errors and I gave it up...for now. I downloaded the Windows version and took it out for a test run. You see the massive 31 band EQ? That thing is a monster! Looks like a fairly new project but looks really promising. Interface is kind of cluttered with bunch of buttons and switches, this thing is pretty serious audio player. Hey maybe you guys have better chance getting this to compile (hell, maybe machine is a bit wonker  big_smile ). If you somehow manage to get it up and running, let me know how it's like on linux.

p.s. in case if you are wondering, I've tried xmms-eq before. I would be using it if it didn't have that bug that makes xmms to crash on startup. Why is that linux audio players usually don't come with EQ?  sad

Offline

#2 2005-04-17 06:34:34

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: MoreAmp

I'll try my luck at compiling it.

Offline

#3 2005-04-18 19:26:01

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: MoreAmp

Update: I got it to compile and was able to start it from the build directory. big_smile
It wasn't pretty.  I had to patch the sources (still need to figure out what my patch does) and I even  found a bug in faad2.  There is still work to do.  I'll post the PKGBUILD once done (sometime next week or earlier if I have time).

Offline

#4 2005-04-18 20:39:26

polarrr
Member
Registered: 2004-09-12
Posts: 91

Re: MoreAmp

Yay! That's a good news!!! Thanks for all the effort smile

Offline

#5 2005-04-20 08:19:33

polarrr
Member
Registered: 2004-09-12
Posts: 91

Re: MoreAmp

Little heads up. There seems to be a bug in this app which eats up 100% CPU. The dev guy said he'll fix it in the next release (0.1.12), but if not, patching it up will do for now.

http://sourceforge.net/forum/forum.php? … _id=414679
More work to do eh?  smile

Offline

#6 2005-04-20 17:00:32

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: MoreAmp

Thanks for the info.  It will need extra patching because currently  it creates the user's settings in the same directory as the executable (instead of his home).  I will probably post on the moreamp forum/bugtracker as the dev seems to be responsive.

Offline

#7 2005-04-22 17:22:32

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: MoreAmp

Update: I posted on the moreamp forum: http://sourceforge.net/forum/forum.php? … _id=414679

I'll wait a bit and if there is no answer, I'll try Arch's Programming forum.

Offline

#8 2005-04-28 20:06:49

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: MoreAmp

Done and submitted to AUR. big_smile More details here: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=12019

Offline

#9 2005-04-28 20:29:10

polarrr
Member
Registered: 2004-09-12
Posts: 91

Re: MoreAmp

Good gawd! You did it big_smile I'm gonna take it out for a test drive wink Thank you so much!!!

P.S. That's some massive patch!

Offline

#10 2005-04-28 20:58:26

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: MoreAmp

polarrr wrote:

P.S. That's some massive patch!

Yes. There's the "100% CPU" patch you posted about plus the patch to handle the user's settings.  The moreamp dev is quite active.  I posted on the forum and two days later he had responded with a patch. I think I spent more time to try to get the depends working (faad2, mpeg4ip) than moreamp itself.  roll

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB