You are not logged in.

#1 2005-04-28 03:34:18

lunchbox
Member
Registered: 2005-03-14
Posts: 25

Configuring framebuffer

I've been searching all day for the option that allows you to set the horizontal and vertical frequencies (refresh rate) in the standard kernel framebuffer (/dev/fb/1).  The only page I've come accross that addresses this told me to install SVGAlib.  I'd rather just use the built in framebuffer if I have the choice.  Any ideas?

Offline

#2 2005-04-28 05:51:51

shadowhand
Member
From: MN, USA
Registered: 2004-02-19
Posts: 1,142
Website

Re: Configuring framebuffer

As far as I can tell, the refresh rate is automatically set with the standard framebuffer. You could use the -tng framebuffer, but that requires patching the kernel. (CKO is a good patchest with -tng, if you want to try that.)


·¬»· i am shadowhand, powered by webfaction

Offline

#3 2005-04-28 15:01:52

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Configuring framebuffer

you shouldn't need to set the frequencies with the framebuffers - they use standard vga modes, which are documented and supported by just about everything - you can't do obscure things with the framebuffer (1900x200@72Hz) - only standard modes...

Offline

#4 2005-04-28 15:55:41

i3839
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 1,185

Re: Configuring framebuffer

I use the following:

video=aty128fb:1024x768-16@70

The 'vga' option is for standard VESA, if you want to use a framebuffer device then use the 'video' option. No patching required...

Offline

#5 2005-04-29 04:34:03

lunchbox
Member
Registered: 2005-03-14
Posts: 25

Re: Configuring framebuffer

I use the following:
Code:
video=aty128fb:1024x768-16@70

The 'vga' option is for standard VESA, if you want to use a framebuffer device then use the 'video' option. No patching required...

Am I correct in saying that this will only work with an ati rage 128 card (aty128 is the ati rage 128 driver, right?)  As when I tried it, it simply booted into a normal vc1 console.  If so, what is the driver for an nvidia geforce 3 ti200 (my card)?

Offline

#6 2005-04-29 05:04:09

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Configuring framebuffer

use vesafb instead of aty128fb

Offline

#7 2005-04-29 11:19:34

i3839
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 1,185

Re: Configuring framebuffer

Yes, my line is only for ati rage 128 cards. The newest kernel has a new nvidia framebuffer driver (previously there was only rivafb, which works with all nvidia cards).

So you'd use "nvidiafb" or "rivafb", if you wouldn't use the binary drivers from nvidia... At least rivafb won't work well with those, no idea about the nvidiafb driver, but won't count on it. So yes, vesafb is probably what you must use, assuming that you prefer fast 3D above a fast console.

Offline

#8 2005-04-29 12:17:33

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Configuring framebuffer

the regular vesafb or vesafb-tng pretty much work with everythin too.,

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB