You are not logged in.

#101 2010-11-03 21:04:31

dauerbaustelle
Member
Registered: 2010-02-07
Posts: 62

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

Unfortunately I cannot change brightness with kernel-netbook. Maybe you removed some important drivers? I have a Acer Aspire One 532h which has an Intel GMA 3150 graphics chip. Brightness settings used to be changable in /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video0/brightness.

Offline

#102 2010-11-04 09:12:28

bazmonkey
Member
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 21

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

sugardeath wrote:

I can get suspend to ram working with uswsusp (on lid-close, even!), but I can't get suspend to disk working.

Zom wrote:

I did give the package a try, but only briefly since I ran into issues with suspend (Using uswsusp with pm-utils).

Same, uswsusp via pm-utils.  The improvement this kernel gives over the vanilla one is obvious (Toshiba NB-205) though, so I really wanted to keep it...

The documentation I've found on uswsusp either says it requries an initrd image or that it's a pain without one.  Luckily, that's all kernel-netbook appears to be missing.

I installed the package from source with yaourt, and when presented with menuconfig, I enabled initrd support and entered my default resume device under the ACPI menu.  Afterwards I built a new initrd image with mkinitcpio -g /boot/kernel-netbook.img.

Add an initrd line to your grub and it should be good to go!  I really can't see any performance difference between the original kernel-netbook and one with initrd support compiled in.  The image is a cool 3MB (EDIT: 2MB with autodetect hook) vs. about 10MB for the vanilla image.  Boot-up time is the same from what I can tell.  I'm new to a lot of this, perhaps someone can explain the big advantage of not having one.  Uswsusp support is certainly a big advantage of having one, however...

Last edited by bazmonkey (2010-11-04 20:45:00)

Offline

#103 2010-11-04 09:26:41

Meyithi
Member
From: Wirral, UK
Registered: 2009-06-21
Posts: 550
Website

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

dauerbaustelle wrote:

Unfortunately I cannot change brightness with kernel-netbook. Maybe you removed some important drivers? I have a Acer Aspire One 532h which has an Intel GMA 3150 graphics chip. Brightness settings used to be changable in /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video0/brightness.

Could you change brightness using arch stock kernel?  It's never worked in Arch (or any other distro) with my Samsung N220 with Atom N450/GMA 3150, so I use setpci method - https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Sa … #Backlight


The mind roams more freely in empty rooms.
dwm - colours - ncmpcpp - system
irc://irc.freenode.net:meyithi

Offline

#104 2010-11-04 10:00:24

Zom
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-10-27
Posts: 406

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

bazmonkey wrote:

The documentation I've found on uswsusp either says it requries an initrd image or that it's a pain without one.  Luckily, that's all kernel-netbook appears to be missing.

Gah? I thought this was only needed for the resume hook if you wanted suspend to disk.

Well, I might give it a go later. Thanks! big_smile

Offline

#105 2010-11-04 10:13:04

bazmonkey
Member
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 21

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

Zom wrote:
bazmonkey wrote:

The documentation I've found on uswsusp either says it requries an initrd image or that it's a pain without one.  Luckily, that's all kernel-netbook appears to be missing.

Gah? I thought this was only needed for the resume hook if you wanted suspend to disk.

Oh, I thought you could suspend but not suspend-to-disk like sugardeath.  Suspend worked to begin with for me; I think you're right in that good-ol' suspend has nothing to do with initrd.

Offline

#106 2010-11-04 11:13:27

dauerbaustelle
Member
Registered: 2010-02-07
Posts: 62

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

Meyithi wrote:
dauerbaustelle wrote:

Unfortunately I cannot change brightness with kernel-netbook. Maybe you removed some important drivers? I have a Acer Aspire One 532h which has an Intel GMA 3150 graphics chip. Brightness settings used to be changable in /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video0/brightness.

Could you change brightness using arch stock kernel?  It's never worked in Arch (or any other distro) with my Samsung N220 with Atom N450/GMA 3150, so I use setpci method - https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Sa … #Backlight

Yes I could.

Offline

#107 2010-11-04 16:43:10

sugardeath
Member
Registered: 2010-03-02
Posts: 82

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

bazmonkey wrote:
sugardeath wrote:

I can get suspend to ram working with uswsusp (on lid-close, even!), but I can't get suspend to disk working.

Zom wrote:

I did give the package a try, but only briefly since I ran into issues with suspend (Using uswsusp with pm-utils).

Same, uswsusp via pm-utils.  The improvement this kernel gives over the vanilla one is obvious (Toshiba NB-205) though, so I really wanted to keep it...

The documentation I've found on uswsusp either says it requries an initrd image or that it's a pain without one.  Luckily, that's all kernel-netbook appears to be missing.

I installed the package from source with yaourt, and when presented with menuconfig, I enabled initrd support and entered my default resume device under the ACPI menu.  Afterwards I built a new initrd image with mkinitcpio -g /boot/kernel-netbook.img.

Add an initrd line to your grub and it should be good to go!  I really can't see any performance difference between the original kernel-netbook and one with initrd support compiled in.  The image is a cool 3MB vs. about 10MB for the vanilla image.  Boot-up time is the same from what I can tell.  I'm new to a lot of this, perhaps someone can explain the big advantage of not having one.  Uswsusp support is certainly a big advantage of having one, however...

Alright, I'll give this a shot.  Thanks a lot! 

I'm just not looking forward to compiling the kernel on my netbook again =P

Edit:  Alright, I recompiled the kernel with initrd suport and entered my default resume device under the ACPI menu.  Got the initrd image generated and updated my /boot/grub/menu.lst.  However, it still doesn't resume from the device.  I disabled quiet boot, but the messages scroll far too fast on this tiny screen for me to read if there's any problem.  I know I'm looking for something about the uresume hook, since I had trouble with it way back on my desktop, but I can't get the thing to quit scrolling in time...

Last edited by sugardeath (2010-11-04 18:32:17)

Offline

#108 2010-11-04 20:34:27

bazmonkey
Member
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 21

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

sugardeath wrote:

Edit:  Alright, I recompiled the kernel with initrd suport and entered my default resume device under the ACPI menu.  Got the initrd image generated and updated my /boot/grub/menu.lst.  However, it still doesn't resume from the device.

What does /var/log/pm-suspend.log say after an unsuccessful hibernate?  There's a line that contains "Running hooks for hibernate." that marks the beginning of a hibernate operation.

Was uswsusp working before this for you?  Coming from uswsusp working with the vanilla kernel to this one, that's all I had to do to get it working again.

Offline

#109 2010-11-04 23:30:12

sugardeath
Member
Registered: 2010-03-02
Posts: 82

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

bazmonkey wrote:

What does /var/log/pm-suspend.log say after an unsuccessful hibernate?  There's a line that contains "Running hooks for hibernate." that marks the beginning of a hibernate operation.

That log does not exist.  None of the other logs contain anything other than lines referencing me constantly using s2ram (grepped for 'hibernate', 'suspend', and 'resume').

bazmonkey wrote:

Was uswsusp working before this for you?  Coming from uswsusp working with the vanilla kernel to this one, that's all I had to do to get it working again.

I had uswsusp already installed when I went to try it recently.  Suspend to ram works fine.  I can't remember, but I want to say that I did get suspend to disk working sometime a year or so ago on this machine, but abandoned it because I didn't think it was worth it at the time.

I'm recompiling the kernel right now just in case I accidentally missed something.  Am I supposed to leave the "initramfs source files" field blank?

Thanks.

Offline

#110 2010-11-04 23:55:00

bazmonkey
Member
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 21

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

I left it blank.

It might be easier to get uswsusp working with the vanilla kernel, and then go from there.

Offline

#111 2010-11-05 01:25:54

sugardeath
Member
Registered: 2010-03-02
Posts: 82

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

bazmonkey wrote:

I left it blank.

It might be easier to get uswsusp working with the vanilla kernel, and then go from there.

Bleh, I guess this is a project for the weekend then.

Thanks for the help, though.

Offline

#112 2010-11-05 02:35:06

bazmonkey
Member
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 21

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

I mean, you don't have to. Just saying that if you're in my boat, not fully knowledgeable about how it's working, it'd be easier to get it working with a default setup where you know you're not accidentally causing your own problems, and them getting it to work with a new kernel knowing it should work otherwise.

Offline

#113 2010-11-05 04:07:43

sugardeath
Member
Registered: 2010-03-02
Posts: 82

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

Yeah, I understand whatcha meant, don't worry.  I'm just gonna need more time than between class to play with it is what I meant with it being a weekend project =P

Offline

#114 2010-11-05 13:32:56

Votan
Member
Registered: 2010-11-05
Posts: 26

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

Using the kernel-netbook, is it still reccommended to isntall the laptop-mode-tools in order to get most out of your battery ?

Offline

#115 2010-11-06 00:52:04

cylverbak
Member
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 60

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

Edit: Never mind! Too many re-installs. I've got both / and /home setup as ext4.
I'll reset those and try again.

I'm having problems with your kernel-netbook-2.6.36-2-i686.pkg.tar.xz on my eeePC1000 . . .latest BIOS 1003
I followed instructions at http://code.google.com/p/kernel-netbook/w/list

What's showing on the screen before it freezes is:

Two roughly blue triangles
8b18 ro quiet
[Linux-bxImage, setup=0x3000, size=ox295f90]

[2.027313] Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0)
[2.027630] Pid: 1, comm: swapper Not tainted 2.6.36-netbook #1
[2.027847] Call Trace:
[2.027960] [<813c1644>] ? panic+0x4d/0x12c
[2.028168] [<81595a8a>] ? mount_block_root+0x1d6/0x1eb
[2.028384] [<81595ad8>] ? mount_root+0x39/0x4d
[2.028564] [<81595bf1>] ? prepare_namespace+0x105/0x135
[2.028768] [<81595815>] ? kernel_init+0x192/0x19d
[2.028955] [<81595683>] ? kernel_init+0x0/0x19d
[2.029174] [<81002af6>] ? kernel_thread_helper+0x6/0x10
[2.029398] panic occurred, switching back to text console

. . . . at this point the machine appears frozen and I need to hold the power-off button for a bit.
Any idea what's going on?

The installed Arch kernel boots up fine.
I've got three partions, boot, root and home.
This machine has two SSD's, the 8G one which I've got Arch installed on and the 32G one that's not yet hooked into the system.
I'm brand new to Arch. Did three or four installs onto an old desktop machine I've got before trying the netbook install.
So far so good. Still need to work on the wifi (Atheros RT2860?), the ElanTech touchpad and the webcam.
I've got kdebase-workspace installed on it and am gradually filling it out for a working system.

Last edited by cylverbak (2010-11-06 02:08:06)

Offline

#116 2010-11-06 14:25:38

dieghen89
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 134

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

@Votan
i haven't ever tried laptop-mode-tools, but every test is well accepted smile

@cylverbak
i haven't understood by your edit if you have solved or not...


XPS 13 DE 2015 + K*5
"Machines are so stupid that if you tell them to do something perfect, they'll do it"

Offline

#117 2010-11-06 16:59:08

cylverbak
Member
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 60

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

Thanks dieghen, sorry I hasn't clearer with my edit. I make some of my best mistakes after 11pm. I plead lack of sleep smile

Yes, I did get the your kernel working - with hiccups!

I did a complete re-install figuring the practice wouldn't hurt. Now, considering I'm a complete noob at arch . . .

The install set me up as follows:

sda1  /boot   ext2
sda2 /swap
sda3 /           ext2
sda4 /home ext2

I've never used a /boot partition before. Anyway, I'm mostly still in the copy./paste phase with arch and so  . . . following the installation instructions I modified menu.lst by inserting

title  Kernel-netbook
root   (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-netbook root=/dev/sda1 ro quiet

which immediately generated a file not found error and quit when I tried booting the kernel.

As a sort of shot-in-the-dark I tried modifying the "kernel /boot/vmlinuz" line by removing /boot to match the working arch kernel like so . . .

kernel /vmlinuz-netbook root=/dev/sda1 ro quiet

which DID start to load and then panic'ed a fair way into the boot process. I was ready to write off your kernel as not working with the eeePC1000 when I heard you whispering over my shoulder " . . . change sda1 to sda3 . . ."

Bingo! and Thank You!

Installed wicd and wifi is working. Now if someone reading this thread can point me at controlling my ElanTech touchpad I'll have it made big_smile

Actually, just being able to unhook myself from the wall and move around the house with the netbook is the winner. Anything else is gravy.

Offline

#118 2010-11-07 00:19:35

Zom
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-10-27
Posts: 406

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

Since root (hd0,0) is your boot partition, the correct path to the kernel is just /vmlinuz-netbook. The root variable is the path to your root partition, which as you now have put as sda3. That's probably also why it didn't work before. The kernel handles an ext4 root just fine.

I'm just making this clear so you don't run into the same issue later down the road. smile

Offline

#119 2010-11-07 13:26:27

cylverbak
Member
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 60

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

Thanks Zom, I must admit there was an "AHA" moment there when it finally occurred to me what I needed to do. I won't (probably) make that mistake again big_smile

Offline

#120 2010-11-08 06:22:56

Votan
Member
Registered: 2010-11-05
Posts: 26

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

@dieghen89

laptop-mode-tools work fine with he kernel, no interference so far as far as I can tell.

Offline

#121 2010-11-08 20:43:14

guisacouto
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2009-06-27
Posts: 107

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

I have to sai I've noticed improvements in performance since 2.6.36 version went out.

Dont know what were the real changes inside the kernel, or intel drivers, but I feel my 1000h a lot more snappier(both in 800mhz and 1600mhz).

best regards, and btw, nice work:)

Offline

#122 2010-11-15 16:28:07

cylverbak
Member
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 60

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

I've been using the netbook-kernel on my eeePC1000 now for about a week. I'm very happy with it.  All of the hardware is working. I've installed eee-control from AUR to give me control of things and that has improved the experience a lot. I wish synaptiks worked to allow me to turn off tapping on the touchpad but that's not a big point anymore.

I do have an error message generated when I'm booting. Doesn't seem to be significant as far as using the machine goes but thought I'd report it anyway.

When booting reaches

:: Restoring Alsa Levels

the following message shows up

Unknown hardware: "HDA-Intel" "Realtek ALC269" "HDA:10ed0269,1043834a,00100004" "0x1043" "0x834a"
Hardware is initialized using a guess method
/etc/sbin/alsactl: set_control:1255: failed to obtain info for control #8 (No such file or directory)
/etc/sbin/alsactl: set_control:1255: failed to obtain info for control #9 (No such file or directory)

Thank you very much for your work on this kernel. I'm using KDE and the speed is certainly accepable. Had been running aptosid. Arch is faster big_smile

Last edited by cylverbak (2010-11-15 16:30:00)

Offline

#123 2010-11-15 18:27:43

dieghen89
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-06-24
Posts: 134

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

I think that this is an error in alsa configuration or similar and is not connected to the kernel...

@all
since 2.6.36-2 i have some random freeze and i don't understand why...if you have the same problem don't worry, i'll try to fix it with the next release...


XPS 13 DE 2015 + K*5
"Machines are so stupid that if you tell them to do something perfect, they'll do it"

Offline

#124 2010-11-15 21:16:00

twix
Member
Registered: 2010-10-07
Posts: 63

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

Hmm I don't get any freeze here.

I have an Toshiba NB100 netbook with atom N270, 1GB DDR2-667, GMA 950, Realtek card reader, chicony ??? webcam, AR5001 wlan adapter, RTL8101E/02E ethernet controller.
I use an openbox-only session, with laptop-mode optimisations, and suspend work perfectely (better than previous versions).

Just have a really few problems with network adapters being "disconnected", but not recently

Offline

#125 2010-11-15 21:29:59

skunktrader
Member
From: Brisbane, Australia
Registered: 2010-02-14
Posts: 1,320

Re: [Project] kernel-netbook

@cylverbak

Try deleting (or renaming to get it out of the way) /etc/asound.state and try again

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB