You are not logged in.

#1 2005-04-29 06:14:45

allanon
Member
From: Enschede, The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-02-10
Posts: 52

Adblock in Konqueror

It seems like we finally are getting adblocking in Konqueror. Ivor Hewitt has posted a plugin at the bottom of this thread. Woho smile

Offline

#2 2005-04-29 06:41:21

campylobacter
Member
From: Austria
Registered: 2004-04-12
Posts: 60
Website

Re: Adblock in Konqueror

I am using Privoxy, but I don`t know if you want install an web proxy.
http://www.privoxy.org/

Would this patch work?

Offline

#3 2005-04-29 16:26:10

allanon
Member
From: Enschede, The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-02-10
Posts: 52

Re: Adblock in Konqueror

I was going to look into Privoxy, but as I didn't find a working PKGBUILD, I put it on ice. Right-clicking a banner to block it would be nice, though.

Offline

#4 2005-04-29 16:59:22

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: Adblock in Konqueror

allanon wrote:

It seems like we finally are getting adblocking in Konqueror. Ivor Hewitt has posted a plugin at the bottom of this thread. Woho smile

this shows, that new features take 5 years to get accepted ;-)


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#5 2005-04-29 19:06:49

IceRAM
Member
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2004-03-04
Posts: 772
Website

Re: Adblock in Konqueror

As a side note: http://www.kdedevelopers.org/node/view/1001

Click 'Refresh' in your browser after you open the link. There's a weird problem with the server (I think it checks the HTTP referer on request since it's a generated page).

Offline

#6 2005-04-30 15:05:53

fetreney2000
Member
From: Malaysia
Registered: 2005-02-01
Posts: 81

Re: Adblock in Konqueror

If the only thing I want to block is ad then I just use host file ad blocking but the adblock plugin can block something more so maybe this is a good decision.

Offline

#7 2005-04-30 16:28:21

allanon
Member
From: Enschede, The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-02-10
Posts: 52

Re: Adblock in Konqueror

IceRAM: Link is "forbidden", also when I tried yesterday.

fetreney2000: hosts files can be ok, but needs to be entered manually for each banner provider you meet, and does not work if content and ads are on the same server.

Adblock for Firefox is really The Best Thing Ever, and I hope Ivor's patch develop into something similar.

Offline

#8 2005-04-30 19:13:18

IceRAM
Member
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2004-03-04
Posts: 772
Website

Re: Adblock in Konqueror

Added a comment on my previous post.
The site works when you don't open the link from inside another page. HTTP referer should probably be null and this is checked within the script generation page. A pretty annoying thing. I've seen sites filtering by HTTP Referer because they didn't want their pictures linked from other sites (thus denying other sites the use of the pictures which consumes their bandwidth).

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB