You are not logged in.

#1 2010-11-15 16:19:54

Soumyadeep
Member
From: kolkata,India
Registered: 2009-09-09
Posts: 218

Cron fails to execute script:exit status 1

I'm having pixmap cache issues with kde, I have to issue a "nvidia-settings -a PixmapCache=0" every now and then, and then a PixmapCache=1 to get my desktop lag free. So I created a crontab entry like this

sudo cat /var/spool/cron/babai 
Password: 
*/15 * * * * /home/babai/pixmapflush.sh

and this is the pixmapflush script:

#!/bin/bash
nvidia-settings -a PixmapCache=0
sleep 10
nvidia-settings -a PixmapCache=1

But every 15 mins the crond.log is like this:

Nov 15 21:30:01 localhost crond[3015]: FILE /var/spool/cron/babai USER babai PID 4115 /home/babai/pixmapflush.sh
Nov 15 21:30:11 localhost crond[3015]: exit status 1 from user babai /home/babai/pixmapflush.sh

my daemons array(ya I know its a bit crowded):

cat /etc/rc.conf | tail -1
DAEMONS=(syslog-ng @dbus slim !cpufreq !networkmanager !netfs @crond !@openntpd @cpupowerd @alsa @hal @bluetooth !mysqld @samba !@smbnetfs)

If I restart crond manually

/etc/rc.d/crond restart

, after that the script executes fine.
What is that I'm doing wrong here?

Offline

#2 2010-11-15 16:57:56

brisbin33
Member
From: boston, ma
Registered: 2008-07-24
Posts: 1,796
Website

Re: Cron fails to execute script:exit status 1

I've heard a few "if I restart cron manually it works fine..." threads. I'd say, try fcron.

Offline

#3 2010-11-16 11:00:39

Soumyadeep
Member
From: kolkata,India
Registered: 2009-09-09
Posts: 218

Re: Cron fails to execute script:exit status 1

K, will give fcron a try today

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB