You are not logged in.

#26 2010-11-25 13:05:29

ChemBro
Member
Registered: 2008-10-22
Posts: 675

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

wonder wrote:
Vermillion wrote:

Does someone have any expirience using wayland with catalyst (10.10)? I'll propably try wayland over the weekend but just wondering if i should take care of something


for 9999999999 time, wayland works only on drivers that uses KMS and some page-flipping stuff that only Intel has at this moment. catalyst and nvidia doesn't support KMS therefor wayland would not work

I know, that is not nice, because it is an old post, but the Wayland-devs did something, so you can use the Framebuffer instead of KMS and co. But you need at least 4 GB of RAM. :-D So, yes, it is unusable, but not impossible.

Offline

#27 2010-11-26 00:51:40

bzhb
Member
Registered: 2010-11-17
Posts: 32

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

I compiled wayland from AUR, but I get those error when trying to run wayland-system-compositor :
failed to create context
failed to initialize egl             (this line only if launched from tty / not if launched from a console on top of X)
failed to create compositor

Is it possible to fix that ?

Last edited by bzhb (2010-11-26 01:05:00)

Offline

#28 2010-11-26 01:06:14

luciferin
Member
Registered: 2007-05-10
Posts: 144

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Mesa 7.9 was just pushed to the Extra repository today.  Try running a 'pacman -Syu' to pull it down and your EGL requirements should be met.

Edit: Nevermind, the arch devs have specifically disabled EGL in mesa 7.9.  You'll have to recompile mesa to enable it.

Last edited by luciferin (2010-11-26 01:26:45)

Offline

#29 2010-11-26 02:03:00

bzhb
Member
Registered: 2010-11-17
Posts: 32

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

I have wayland-mesa-git from AUR installed, so EGL should be enabled. From the PKGBUILD:
  ./autogen.sh \
    --prefix=/usr \
    --with-dri-driverdir=/usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri \
    --with-dri-drivers=swrast,radeon,r200,r300,r600,i810,i915,i965,unichrome,mach64,mga,r128,savage,sis,tdfx \
    --enable-glx-tls \
    --with-driver=dri \
    --enable-xcb \
    --disable-glut \
    --disable-gallium \
    --enable-egl \
    --enable-gles2

Offline

#30 2010-11-26 13:56:37

sergeykish
Member
Registered: 2010-07-18
Posts: 14

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Today I've tried to build Wayland once again.
I've used current mesa and cairo, just enable flags.

~/abs$ diff -u mesa/PKGBUILD{~,}
--- mesa/PKGBUILD~  2010-11-26 07:06:45.000000000 +0200
+++ mesa/PKGBUILD 2010-11-26 15:03:13.263729106 +0200
@@ -28,14 +28,13 @@
   cd "${srcdir}/Mesa-${pkgver}"
   ./configure --prefix=/usr \
     --with-dri-driverdir=/usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri \
-    --disable-egl \
-    --enable-gallium-radeon \
-    --enable-gallium-nouveau \
-    --enable-glx-tls \
     --with-driver=dri \
     --enable-xcb \
-    --with-state-trackers=dri,glx \
-    --disable-glut
+    --disable-glut \
+    --enable-glx-tls \
+    --disable-gallium \
+    --enable-egl \
+    --enable-gles2
   make

   cd "${srcdir}/gl-manpages-1.0.1"
~/abs$
~/abs$ diff -u cairo/PKGBUILD{~,}
--- cairo/PKGBUILD~ 2010-11-26 07:05:16.000000000 +0200
+++ cairo/PKGBUILD  2010-11-26 15:10:54.193602026 +0200
@@ -21,7 +21,8 @@
   cd "${srcdir}/${pkgname}-${pkgver}"
   patch -Np1 -i "${srcdir}/cairo-1.10.0-buggy_gradients.patch"
   ./configure --prefix=/usr --sysconfdir=/etc \
-    --localstatedir=/var --disable-static
+    --localstatedir=/var --disable-static \
+    --enable-gl
   make
   make DESTDIR="${pkgdir}" install
 }
~/abs$ cd mesa
~/abs/mesa$ makepkg --pkg mesa
~/abs/mesa$ makepkg --pkg libgl
~/abs/mesa$ makepkg --pkg intel-dri
~/abs/mesa$ sudo pacman -U intel-dri-7.9-1-i686.pkg.tar.xz libgl-7.9-1-i686.pkg.tar.xz mesa-7.9-1-i686.pkg.tar.xz
~/abs/mesa$ cd ../cairo
~/abs/cairo$ makepkg -si

It works ok under X but shows garbage when started under VT.

~$ lspci | grep VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
~$ lsmod | grep ^drm
drm_kms_helper         23055  1 i915
drm                   142903  3 i915,drm_kms_helper

Does it work for you?

Offline

#31 2010-11-26 16:54:50

sergeykish
Member
Registered: 2010-07-18
Posts: 14

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

The problem was caused by dual monitors (connected via dsub and dvi).
I've unpluged dvi monitor and now wayland started from tty works well.

Now I'm going to check is it working with dvi only monitor.

Offline

#32 2010-11-26 17:21:26

sergeykish
Member
Registered: 2010-07-18
Posts: 14

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Ok,

There was a problem with staring application on wayland started in VT.

To run clients, switch to a different VT and run the client from there.

But for some reason I've got error.

'sent request to invalid object'

To run application you should be on compositor VT. In other words run

$ sleep 5; terminal

And switch to the compositor VT

Offline

#33 2010-11-26 22:40:08

luciferin
Member
Registered: 2007-05-10
Posts: 144

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Hi sergeykish,
What commands are you running to start Wayland?  I've tried "export DISPLAY=1.0" then "wayland-system-compositor" but it fails out with 'failed to create compositor".  This happens from both tty and a terminal in an X server.  Am I missing a command?

Offline

#34 2010-11-27 08:48:45

saline
Member
Registered: 2010-02-20
Posts: 86

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Does the OS radeon driver work with wayland?  I get a DRI2 error when trying to start inside of X and a libEGL error related to DRI2 when trying to start from a VT.

Offline

#35 2010-11-27 12:09:50

ChemBro
Member
Registered: 2008-10-22
Posts: 675

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Radeon-git should work with Wayland, I guess.

Offline

#36 2010-11-29 15:54:46

sergeykish
Member
Registered: 2010-07-18
Posts: 14

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

luciferin, I've got some problem on first attempt.
I've installed `wayland-mesa-git` and all its dependencies (weyland-mesa-git, cairo-git, libgl-git etc). And was unable to start wayland.

So I've
* removed all the *-git packages
* installed back original
* recompiled mesa and cairo as described above
* changed wayland dependencies a bit

-depends=('libxkbcommon' 'wayland-mesa-git' 'cairo-gl-git' 'poppler-glib')
+depends=('libxkbcommon' 'mesa' 'cairo' 'poppler-glib')

Thats all.
I've posted patched PKGBUILDS https://gist.github.com/720093
I can post them in AUR as wayland-mesa, wayland-cairo (and mark all other packages .

Offline

#37 2010-12-08 05:30:06

bzhb
Member
Registered: 2010-11-17
Posts: 32

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Thanks sergeykish!
I've finally been able to run wayland using your PKGBUILDS from github (I've ony been able to set the background image for now)...

Just a few comments. Two files are needed to build :
for cairo:

wget http://aur.archlinux.org/packages/cairo-git/cairo-git/cairo-1.10.0-buggy_gradients.patch

for mesa:

wget http://aur.archlinux.org/packages/mesa-git/mesa-git/LICENSE

For cairo this flag is needed :

--enable-egl

Otherwise I get an error like "cairo_gl_surface_create" doesn't exist.

Also for mesa I added a few flags to ./configure :

--enable-gles2 --with-dri-drivers=i915,(your dri-driver) --enable-driglx-direct --with-egl-displays="x11 drm"

They come from this thread : http://comments.gmane.org/gmane.comp.vi … evel/51319
I'm not sure it is needed or useful because I changed the version of libgl at the same time (from libgl-git to the version of your mesa-PKGBUILD).
A line like :

conflicts=('libgl' 'libgl-git' 'mesa' 'mesa-git' ...)

could be useful to avoid that king of mistakes.

Also I have a question :
how do you build only some package when you have a PKGBUILD with multiple package target like mesa-PKGBUILD ? I commented what is not necessary for me, but there must be a more efficient way of doing it, isn't it ?

Anyway I think it is a good idea to put it in AUR.


Now it is time to try to run some program in wayland :-)

Last edited by bzhb (2010-12-08 06:03:26)

Offline

#38 2010-12-08 13:39:31

sergeykish
Member
Registered: 2010-07-18
Posts: 14

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

You can use current cairo. No need in cairo-git and its patch (maybe same about --enable-egl flag)
There was no problem in building mesa. Have no idea how LICENSE file can help smile

I think it is much more safe to use stable versions.
I've build several pkgs from one PKGBUILD as described above.

~/abs$ cd mesa
~/abs/mesa$ makepkg --pkg mesa
~/abs/mesa$ makepkg --pkg libgl
~/abs/mesa$ makepkg --pkg intel-dri
~/abs/mesa$ sudo pacman -U intel-dri-7.9-1-i686.pkg.tar.xz libgl-7.9-1-i686.pkg.tar.xz mesa-7.9-1-i686.pkg.tar.xz

I don't want to clutter the AUR. The owner already notified with comment and private mail.

Good luck!

Offline

#39 2010-12-08 17:12:21

bzhb
Member
Registered: 2010-11-17
Posts: 32

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

yes I did use the stable versions following your guidelines, but it is the PKGBUILB you put on github that requires the patch and the licence (presumably because you adapted them from AUR's mesa-git and cairo-git). So I took those files from the git versions in AUR rather than bother changing the PKGBUILDs.

Offline

#40 2010-12-09 08:58:03

sergeykish
Member
Registered: 2010-07-18
Posts: 14

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Yep, you are right - these files required.
I've checked stable PKGBUILDs which I used to create own. Take a look

$ yaourt -SG mesa
==> Download mesa sources
receiving file list ... done
./
LICENSE
PKGBUILD
nouveau_class.h
$ yaourt -SG cairo
==> Download cairo sources
receiving file list ... done
./
PKGBUILD
cairo-1.10.0-buggy_gradients.patch

Offline

#41 2010-12-09 19:47:42

bzhb
Member
Registered: 2010-11-17
Posts: 32

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

I started a wiki page on Wayland :
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wayland

It is still just an ugly dump of information from this thread. Don't hesitate to improve !

Offline

#42 2011-02-17 10:13:24

Viper_Scull
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2011-01-15
Posts: 152

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Looks like we can use wayland with radeon without patches with kernel 2.6.38. Nouveau still needs to be patched for page-flipping support.

How is your experience with Wayland going? I'm waiting for a complete qt port to try it.


Athlon II X4 620 + Gigabyte 785GPM-UD2H + 4GB DDR3 + SSD OCZ Vertex2 60GB

Archlinux x86_64 + Openbox

Offline

#43 2011-02-17 10:36:21

W.F.Cody
Member
From: Ghent
Registered: 2010-11-18
Posts: 125

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Has anyone tried to run a rootless X server on top of Wayland or is it too early for that yet?

It would be cool to try this, but since I am on nouveau, I guess I will have to wait a bit until the driver matures.


My AUR packages
Any package of mine is up for grabs. If you think you could mantain it better - just contact me!

Offline

#44 2011-02-17 19:28:20

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 996

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

can someone post a screen shot of gnome 3 on wayland? does it work?


DELL XPS 1640 with ATI Mobility Radeon  HD 3670. Arch Linux KDE Minimal Install

Offline

#45 2011-02-17 20:56:07

Giselher
Member
From: Austria
Registered: 2010-02-02
Posts: 150
Website

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

venky80 wrote:

can someone post a screen shot of gnome 3 on wayland? does it work?

gtk3 works and rootless X in Wayland too, but gnome 3 needs more work, because it relies on X in various parts, like the panel.

I have a screenshot for you, but only with the wayland-demos inside X.
http://i.imgur.com/jPBqL.png

Offline

#46 2011-02-17 23:03:09

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 996

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Giselher wrote:
venky80 wrote:

can someone post a screen shot of gnome 3 on wayland? does it work?

gtk3 works and rootless X in Wayland too, but gnome 3 needs more work, because it relies on X in various parts, like the panel.

I have a screenshot for you, but only with the wayland-demos inside X.
http://i.imgur.com/jPBqL.png

Oh ..so can people who use other DE like openbox, fluxbox etc use just wayland and ditch X?

does kde 4.6 work with wayland?


DELL XPS 1640 with ATI Mobility Radeon  HD 3670. Arch Linux KDE Minimal Install

Offline

#47 2011-02-17 23:19:42

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,450

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

venky80 wrote:

Oh ..so can people who use other DE like openbox, fluxbox etc use just wayland and ditch X?

does kde 4.6 work with wayland?

No, and no. All toolkits and WMs need to be ported to Wayland. And I'm not sure how exactly WMs will actually work in Wayland, window management will be more integrated than it is in X, where the WM is pretty mcuh just another X client. Also Wayland itself is still far from being usable, basic stuff is only being discussed right now, stuff like input protocol and how to handle multiple screens and such. But, it's possible to have X as just another Wayland client, for backwards compatibility.

Offline

#48 2011-03-09 22:38:04

Demon
Member
From: Republic of Srpska, BA
Registered: 2008-03-02
Posts: 222

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Hello everyone!
I keep getting this error message:

$ wayland-system-compositor
libEGL warning: EGL-DRI2: could not create udev device for fd 5
failed to initialize display
no drm device found
failed to create compositor

Anyone knows what is this about? Latest mesa and wayland from git, and I'm using latest 2.6.38 kernel snapshot from here.

Offline

#49 2011-03-22 00:06:05

eribol
Member
Registered: 2006-12-20
Posts: 8

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

I use yaourt for wayland-git and i got this error:

In file included from ../../../../src/egl/main/egldisplay.h:5:0,
                 from wayland-drm.h:4,
                 from wayland-drm.c:35:
../../../../src/egl/main/egltypedefs.h:6:21: fatal error: EGL/egl.h: No such file or directory

I installed freeglut.

Offline

#50 2011-03-22 06:04:26

Giselher
Member
From: Austria
Registered: 2010-02-02
Posts: 150
Website

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

eribol wrote:

I use yaourt for wayland-git and i got this error:

In file included from ../../../../src/egl/main/egldisplay.h:5:0,
                 from wayland-drm.h:4,
                 from wayland-drm.c:35:
../../../../src/egl/main/egltypedefs.h:6:21: fatal error: EGL/egl.h: No such file or directory

I installed freeglut.

You have to build wayland first, then build mesa with --egl-platforms=wayland and last build wayland-demos.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB